Irving Williams and the Lighthouse Ghost--part 3--Original to Steemit fiction

in #writing8 years ago

I'm experimenting and putting up a new story, and I am trying to do it everyday.  I haven't outlined anything.  I am enjoying getting to know these characters.

Click here for part 1 and here for part 2.

 

“I wish you would stay still and stop wiggling!” declared Mrs. Williams. 

“You need to have sunscreen on in order to go to the beach. If you don’t put on sunscreen, you don’t go to the beach Lucas.” 

Lucas stopped fidgeting and let his mother cover his face in 50 SPF water-proof sunscreen. 

Upstairs, while the wrestling match over sunscreen was happening, Irving put on his Atlanta Braves ball cap, his Darth Vader t-shirt, his Virginia Tech sandals and his Hawaii print swim trunks.  His sunglasses finished the ensemble. 

He walked down the stairs and met the rest of the family by the front door, where they were gathering their things for their first trip to the beach. 

“You look dorky,” stated his sister Carrie. 

“Well, luckily I’m not trying to impress you. I know I’m not Adam!” Irving held the A in the name, held his arms up to his chest, batted his eyes, and pretended to swoon. 

Carrie rolled her eyes. “Maybe he’s here this week and you’ll see him at the beach.” Irving continued to mock his sister. 

“Shut up!” And she punched Irving in the shoulder. Hard. 

“Ow!!!” Their father intervened, “Can you two please stop fighting for one day? One day!?” He held up his index finger, emphasizing the number 1. 

Lucille Williams smiled, put on her sunhat and laughed, “George, I remember you fighting with your brother like that when you were their age.” 

“You don’t live with it every day, mom.” Irving’s father replied. 

“Someday you’ll miss it, son,” she replied in a peaceful manner. 

“Who’s ready for some surf!” yelled Irving’s grandfather. He came around the corner from his bedroom. He walked around a large telescope that was placed on a tripod and face out a window towards the sea. He was dressed in a large floral print shirt, blue swim trucks, and large wicker sun hat on top of his head. 

“I am!” yelled Lucas, as he put his hand into the air. 

“I’m also bringing my rod and reel. Do I have any other fishermen here with me today?” His grin was large. Irving raised his hand, “I'll fish with you.” 

“So will I,” replied Carrie. 

“I will too!” shouted Lucas. 

The family headed out the door and into Irving’s dad’ large SUV. Irving’s grandfather sat in the back row with Irving and Carrie. “Did I mention, Irving and Carrie, that Adam and Alec are here this week? I know they are looking forward to seeing you guys again.” 

“Ohh…Aaaaadam is here!” Irving batted his eyes. Carrie punched him in the shoulder. “Ow!” 

“I swear! Just one day!” pleaded Irving’s dad from the driver’s seat. 

Irving’s grandfather guffawed. “Let’em argue George!” He laughed and laughed and patted his knee. 

The SUV pulled out of the driveway and onto the main road. Going past mounds of sand and tall grass. They passed the lighthouse on the right.  

Irving’s grandfather elbowed him in the side. “Up there! She’s up there!” 

His grandfather’s face was bright with excitement.      

Sort:  

Sweet! Can't wait to read more.

Thanks @mctiller, you're teaching us how to write a story. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51