Irving Williams and the Lighthouse Ghost--Part 8--Original fiction for Steemit

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

I am continuing my experiment.

I am working on a new book, while also writing this story.  I am writing this story without an outline and putting up the story as I finish each part.  I am enjoying getting to know these characters and setting.Click here for part 1, part 2,  part 3, part 4, part 5, part 6, part 7 

Note: There is an actual lighthouse called the Currituck Lighthouse, the name of the first keeper in this story, though is completely made up by me.

Irving step back from the window. He looked at the wall, the clock showed 9:30 pm.  His parents were downstairs watching a movie. 

Alec was waiting outside in his grandfather’s backyard hoping Irving would leave to go hunt the ghost at the lighthouse. 

He went back and opened the window. “My parents are downstairs there is no way I can get out of here.” He whispered shouted at Alec. 

Alec pointed at the large tree that reached to Irving’s window. “I ain’t jumping on that! I’ll fall forty feet!” 

Alec rolled his eyes. He got on his bike and rode around the side of the house towards the front. One minute later, the doorbell rang. 

Irving’s stomach sank. 

He bolted out of his bedroom and door the stairs. Somehow not knocking over any of the maritime antiques.

 “Who could that be at this time of the night?” Irving’s grandfather asked as he walked to the door. Irving ran right past him. 

“I got it!” 

“You got it?” his grandfather replied. 

“Irving!?” shouted his dad walking around the corner. 

Irving froze. He let his grandfather open the door. 

“Alec?” his grandfather replied. 

Seeing Alec, Irving’s father stepped forward, “Alec it’s a little late to be out isn’t it?”  

“I’m sorry Mr. Williams, my parents said it was okay. My bedtime is 10:30 during the summer,” Alec replied. Irving stood red face in the corner. 

Irving’s dad shrugged his shoulders, “Well you might as well come it. It’s too dark to do anything outside right now.” Alec laid his bike down on the ground and walked in. 

Irving’s grandfather patted Alec on his back, “Do you want some water, or Gatorade?”  

“No, thank you sir. I just came to show Irving something.” Irving clenched his jaw, wondering what Alec had brought. 

“As long as you are quite you can look at it in your room. Remember that Lucas is a sleep.” 

“Okay dad!” Irving grabbed Alec by the elbow and dragged him upstairs to his room.  The boys headed got into the room. 

“What the heck were you thinking?” Alec pleaded. 

“I was thinking we go and sneak out and see the ghost in the lighthouse.” Alec pulled out his iPad. “You told me that he was seeing the original light keeper, so I looked him up.” He showed Irving an old 18th century black and white photograph. “If this is what your grandfather is seeing, his name was Lawrence Jackson. He was 22 years old when he first got the job. But he passed away a few years later in an accident.” 

Irving took the iPad from Alec and began reading the information. “People over the years have claimed to see Lawrence in the window. Soon after seeing him, the light goes out and it takes a while to get the light working again.” Irving handed the iPad back to Alec. “It sounds like he’s a trouble causing ghost.”     

Sort:  

What a cute story for the night. Thank you!

Thanks! I hope to put this out as a chapter book for kids when it is finished.

great idea!Bravo.

Wow in NC, how cool is this! http://www.currituckbeachlight.com/

It's actually the lighthouse in the photograph.
It's easier for me to write the story quickly if I am familiar with the area.
But as I mentioned the lightkeeper character is completely made up by me.

Nice story, keep going!

This is really cool, and actually kind of inspirational.
I'm hoping to re-write a script I was working on for a short film, which I'm having trouble converting to novel format because of how my narration was supposed to work on film. It wouldn't translate well. But this afternoon I think I thought of a clever way to do it, and seeing your series gives me some motivation, so I'm hoping to have some writings to offer up soon as well.

Thanks man! Writing this warms up my brain for working on my larger book. And hopefully I'm showing others you can write a story without needing an outline in advance.

For sure, it's impressive.
I tend to write using the Robert Rodriguez "El Mariachi" method. Write each main "scene" on a note card - just a quick, short paragraph, and on the flip side of the card give the scene a name.
Don't number the cards. This way you can shuffle them around a bit to find an ideal sequence.

Yes! I remember reading about that! I love his approach to filmmaking. I was more into filmmaking in my 20s and then just as life happened I change into more of a photographer and writer.

Boy that sounds familiar. I went college for video production/filmmaking in the late 90's, got all gung-ho about being a director, then landed a job in a camera store, which led me straight into the deep rabbit hole that is photography.

I certainly have not read all the stories of other authors on STEEMIT. But this is the first story that make me read all the previous parts of it.

That's awesome! Thank you!