Irving Williams and the Lighthouse Ghost--Part 13--"Is that a foot?" Original Steemit fiction

in #writing8 years ago

I'm back.  I took a few days off as I was on vacation.  I back to real life now.

My little experiment is humming right along.  Thank you for your support.

I am working on a new book, while also writing this story.  This is probably going to be a chapter book for elementary students, think Goosebumps.

I am writing this story without an outline and putting up the story as I finish each part.  I am enjoying getting to know these characters and setting. I am also doing this to prove to myself that a story can be written quickly and without an outline.

Click here for part 1, part 2,  part 3,part 4, part 5, part 6, part 7, part 8, part 9, part 10, part 11, part 12

Each part is roughly 500-750 words.  I write 2-3 pages in Word and then post them here.  

Thank you those that have mentioned they are liking the story.  It means a lot.  

Part 13 "Is that a Foot?"

Alec and Irving gathered around Mr. Williams. Irving took the video camera and went back to the beginning of where he recorded. 

The three stood silent as they watched the video. The video shook as if it was recorded during an earthquake.  “It’s hard to see with all of that shaking,” Irving’s grandfather said matter-of-factly. 

BAM! Came the sound over the video.  “Well that was clear,” said Alec. 

“Yes, but we can’t see what caused it,” said Mr. Williams. Irving stood silent, embarrassed.  “Mr. Jackson, is that you?” said Mr. Williams voice in the video. Followed by the sound of heavy breathing. 

Alec looked at Irving, “Is the rest of the video you breathing as loud as you could?” 

“I don’t know?” he replied, but he knew the answer.  He had been scared the entire time.

The three watched to the end of the video.  Mr. Williams spoke first, “Okay, so we got the sounds coming from the bottom of the stairwell. But obviously we can’t tell from this what was causing those sounds.” 

He paused, he turned to Alec. “Okay, let’s see what pictures you have.” Alec clicked some buttons on the back of his camera, and they flipped through each picture. The first picture showed the back of Irving and Mr. Williams head. The second picture showed the stairwell, the flash lit up the outline of the stairs. 

“There’s nothing there,” Mr. Williams observed. The next several pictures showed just the stairwell. Nothing out of the ordinary appeared. “Well, I don’t see anything on these.” They reached the final picture, the table was turned over and the papers were scattered on the floor. “Shoot, nothing to see here,” Mr. Williams. 

“Wait,” Alec grabbed the camera from Mr. Williams. “I think I see something.”  

Alec clicked on the zoom feature and moved the photo to the lower left. “Is it me or that a foot there?” 

Mr. Williams raised his eyeglasses and looked closer, “It looks like a shadow to me. But it’s hard to tell from the small screen.” 

“Grandpa let me take a look,” Irving took the camera and looked at the image. “It does sort of look like a shoe there, a like someone is running.” 

“He did just flip the table,” replied Alec. 

“We’ll need to get this home and look at it on the computer at home. It’s too small to be certain of what we are looking at,” said Mr. Williams. 

“So what do we do now Grandpa?” Irving asked. 

“I say we hangout a little longer. Our friend may return. In the meantime, let’s clean this up.” He motioned to the table and the papers. They picked up the table and the papers and then began to wait. 

After several false starts of thinking they heard something, Mr. Williams called it an evening. “It looks like our friend is going to leave us alone. Let’s go home and look at that photo on my computer. Plus, I need to get you two home before I have angry parents yelling at me.”     

Sort:  

wow cool post you. i am follow you sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61184.91
ETH 2402.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64