Irving Williams and the Lighthouse Ghost--Part 23--The Voice Come Back--Original Steemit fiction

in #writing8 years ago

 

My experiment continues, but is getting close to the end.

I passed 10,000 words for the entire story with this post which would make for a decent size chapter book for elementary students.I am working on a new book, while also writing this story.  This is going to be a chapter book for elementary students, think Goosebumps.

I am writing this story without an outline and putting up the story as I finish each part.  I am enjoying getting to know these characters and setting. I am also doing this to prove to myself that a story can be written quickly and without an outline.

Click here for part 1, part 2,  part 3,part 4, part 5, part 6, part 7, part 8, part 9, part 10, part 11,part 12, part 13, part 14 , part 15 ,part 16,  part 17, part 18, part 19 , part 20, part 21, part 22

In part 21, Irving's grandfather described the ghost experience he had before the boys came for a visit.

Part 23

 After looking at the footage for several more minutes Irving, Alec, and Mr. Williams gave up and left for the kitchen to find some ice cream.  

“So, what do we do now? Do we try again?” Alec asked. 

“We leave in a couple of days,” replied Irving. “I don’t know if we’ll have time. Mom and dad like to go to a special restaurant while we’re here. I think that is tomorrow night.”

 Mr. Williams stirred the bottom of his glass. “I’m not sure right now if we should go back. Someone is clearly following us. I don’t want to do that again, if I think someone is going to purposely mess with us.” 

“Are you disappointed, Grandpa?” Irving asked. 

Mr. Williams shrugged his shoulders, “Sure I am. I am more disappointed that you guys didn’t get a chance to see it.” 

Irving laughed, “We certainly didn’t act like we would have done well if we actually saw a ghost.” 

“Oh, please, I did fine!” Alec replied. 

Mr. Williams and Irving roared with laughter. “Should we go to the tape?” Mr. Williams smiled.

 “Okay! Okay!” Alec put his hand in the air. 

“Okay, boys I am going to bed. Do I need to get you anything Alec?” Mr. Williams put away his glass. 

“No sir. Thank you. I think Irving will help me if I need anything.” Mr. Williams put his hand out to shake Alec’s hand, “Thank you for coming and helping me. I am sorry we didn’t get to see the ghost.” 

“It’s okay, Mr. Williams, we tried. Thank you for inviting me.”  

Mr. Williams headed for bed. 

Irving’s mother walked into the kitchen. “Hey, boys, did you have fun tonight?”

 “Yeah, we did,” Irving replied. “I know your grandpa has really enjoyed having come and work on his adventure with him,” she replied. “Make sure you leave the kitchen clean before you two go to bed.” 

“Okay,” Irving and replied. Mrs. Williams went to bed. 

Irving and Alec headed upstairs and got ready for bed. Alec laid on the follow and stared at the ceiling. “So, who do you think it was that was messing with us?”

 Irving shrugged his shoulders. “How am I supposed to know?”

 “Your grandfather seemed to have a good idea when you asked him. But he didn’t give a hint,” said Alec. “Maybe it was someone at his work,” Irving wondered. 

“I’m just disappointed that we didn’t get to see the ghost,” Alec said. 

“Alec you would have peed in your pants,” Irving replied.

 Alec laughed. 

The boys watched TV for a while and ate popcorn. Irving feeling sleepy Irving turned out the lights. “Irving, do you want to see me now?” said a voice. 

Irving jumped. 

“Alec, why would you say that?” Irving asked. 

Alec sat up from his sleeping bag, “I didn’t say that.”

 “Oh, come on!” Irving replied. 

“Well, Irving do you want to see me?” said the voice. 

Irving and Alec jumped up and screamed.         

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60857.34
ETH 2383.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68