SILVER LINING #24 (Part 2 of 3)

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

This is a complementary series for the Steemit-exclusive, original novel A Day in the Clouds. Be sure to check out the final chapter before you read this post to avoid spoilers.


<< #24 (Part 1 of 3)

chapter_24_2

Cloud Image Source

Now, let's put on our data analyst hat for a bit and look at the stats. I won't dive deep with the specifics, so I'll brush on the By The Numbers. As you may recall, I give all the earnings divided to @zeppelin and my chosen charity. Speaking of which, here is the proof of my donation:


receipt

Since I'm not able to draw out my Steem Power for that, I took money from my own pocket to give to them. With a wedding coming up, no full-time job, and no prospects (if anybody needs a writer, tester, coder or whatever hit me up ;) wink wink), that was all I could spare. My bank account is hemmorhaging, but I promised to give back and I chose Autism Speaks as a charity. I have made $0 from this entire experience and have gained only 2 reputation since I started. Suffice to say, this whole story was a labor of love.


ecard

I kept a detailed record to keep track of the earnings, but I made sure to transfer it after every payout so I won't forget. For those people who think this is some sort of scam, I have no control over the @zeppelin account and it was created by Zepp's father. The only times I had access to its finances was when I paid out to @verbal-d, @ryivhnn and @randowhale for the work that they did for this project. If you want to check all of the transaction, please feel free to do so, for transparency.

The Breakdown

VotesViewsEarningsTrue Comments
Chapter 07769226
Chapter 11736126.168
Chapter 23035720.55
Chapter 3134491.5920
Chapter 4384476.2210
Chapter 5 (Part 1)334496.366
Chapter 5 (Part 2)185251.416
Chapter 6 (Part 1)1722311.178
Chapter 6 (Part 2)2403518.1812
Chapter 7 (Part 1)149477.8511
Chapter 7 (Part 2)146356.636
Chapter 8136403.4115
Chapter 93814311.4111
Chapter 1095322.038
Chapter 11142345.2425
Chapter 121373312.8813
Chapter 13 (Part 1)95650.6116
Chapter 13 (Part 2)68260.745
Chapter 14 (Part 1)135375.3812
Chapter 14 (Part 2)133623.0513
Chapter 15115505.3210
Chapter 1679223.8310
Chapter 1758423.8717
Chapter 181343516.9114
Chapter 1999362019
Chapter 20913750.4314
Chapter 21 (Part 1)1242651.5118
Chapter 21 (Part 2)783779.2215
Chapter 22 (Part 1)10937123.0812
Chapter 22 (Part 2)1025693.2825
Chapter 2310666121.1731
Chapter 2410529162.318

As of writing, the story averaged $24.92 per chapter, with Chapter 24 having the highest payout, because of the HF19 spike and Chapter 22 (Part 1) having the second-highest payout, thanks in large part to generous votes by users like @canadian-coconut, @ausbitbank, @engagement, @trafalgar and @lukestokes. I appreciate all of the voters who put in their votes of course, I just don't have the space to name them all so I namedropped the top 5 that really pushed it over the top. Coincidentally, Chapter 21 and Chapter 22 are my favorite chapters of the series.

The average length of the chapters is 2253.375 and the difference between my NaNoWriMo count and the edited version with @verbal-d was a gross addition of 596 words (or 24.833 words per chapter). Chapter 5 is the longest with 4517 words, and Chapter 1 is the shortest with 1290.

VotesViewsEarningsTrue Comments
#01524014.128
#11593017.549
#279261.924
#32112625.52
#4104254.296
#5164202.764
#61492125
#76394513.2719
#8157365.3715
#9152216.5120
#10123404.9813
#11100272.887
#1253660.3911
#1377321.199
#14134446.618
#1583301.7418
#1680334.2415
#17912816.818
#18793424.1420
#19683313.115
#20914354.0610
#21574350.5620
#221024458.926
#23843356.3410
#238643167.115
#24322746.398

As for the complementary series, SILVER LINING, it averaged $16.22 which was surprising to me because I felt like I received more interaction there than the story itself. In truth, the comments they received were mostly the same. Since I reply to all comments, the number of true comments could be derived by taking the half of the number of comments. The average of the comments the story received compared to its complementary series was 12.94 versus 12.17. In the middle of the 6-month life of the series, the SILVER LININGs felt more lively, mostly because it was shorter and easier to digest. When I started though, its initial intention was to just add to the total number of earnings and to provide additional information for the chapters, that's why I didn't think it would earn much.

Here's a look at the per chapter stats:


graph_blimp

As you can see, the number of votes at the beginning were quite high, mainly because it was padded by curation trails like @curie and @steemtrail. The sharp drop-offs was caused by my disqualification from being voted on. The earnings didn't really coincide with them, so that suggests to me that there might be something wrong with how the trails are going about with their business. I don't mean to sound ungrateful though, because I'm very appreciative of all the help that it has done while it lasted. @naquoya was an awesome curator who almost always nominated my work, so I am very grateful to what he has done for the series. The earnings took hits during the great Flag War of 2017, so yeah..

Based on the graph alone, it supports that the best earnings was on Chapter 24, since the earnings were higher than the votes, followed closely by Chapter 22 (Part 1) and Chapter 23. The worst performer was both parts of Chapter 13 since you can see that it's almost zero. The steady increase of earnings made me quite optimistic. Chapter 20 saw the start of the trend, perhaps spurred on by the timing of the post.

Here's a look at the SILVER LINING stats:


graph_silver

The massive spike in #7 was caused by the combination of @j3dy's nomination in @steemvoter (thanks for that again!), @steemtrail and @curie. It still stands as my highest voted post, but the earnings just don't reflect. Again, this is another example of why the strategy of the curation trails should be reconsidered. #12 was the worst for the entire series (even considering the story itself), in all aspects. It had the most views out of all the SILVER LININGs, but it had the lowest earnings and votes. Looking at it, it's a bit confusing as to what contributed to that. The post itself was average in length, and the comments had the fourth most number at the time. Perhaps it was in the timing of the post.

I prefer not to divulge the exact reader stats, but I did thank my best supporters (based on the interaction in the comments section) previously.

The Takeaway

The difference between the number of views as opposed to the number of votes suggest a massive surge in autovoters. Now, I'm not saying that autovoters are wrong, but its main purpose of bringing in real readers isn't being fully realized. That is, at least in my case. I'm sure there are others who will attest to this.

The later chapters saw the optimal graph in terms of earnings and votes. Those two variables should at least be close to each other, or better yet, have the earnings greater than the votes. Chapter 0 was the closest I got to votes and views being equal. That would mean that almost all of the viewers actually read the post. Or, it could be that some people just return to the post to re-read it.

The steady increase in view, earnings and votes are what really make me optimistic about everything. Even though there were dips, everything retraced and normalized in the end. Hopefully, this is only the beginning, and even though this story has come to and end, I could use the momentum generated by this to propel myself further.

Now that we're done with the objective analysis, stay tuned for my emotional recap of the entire journey tomorrow :'(



Voting for witnesses is free, but your one vote could dictate the course of this platform.


Vote for @lukestokes' witness lukestokes.mhth to help Steemit stop the Replicant threat



From the bottom of my heart and soul, thank you for reading!


Leave this post a feedback, and I'll be sure to return the favor!

divider

Sort:  

I hope no one thinks you to be running a scam. I need no explanation or reassurance, but I know I can't speak for others. You have my vote of trust, as well as my respect for your creative endeavours.

And I am glad I could help out in my own little way along the road. But ultimately good work gets noticed, I believe. And yours is good work.

And one other thing, your comments sections are some of the best I see on Steemit, and it has a lot to do with your attitude towards interacting with people who comment on your posts. That's well played on your part, in my humble opinion.

And finally, your support for this cause is noteworthy.

Yeah, I hope no one does too. I'm just covering my bases to be sure. You currently hold the distinction of being the top donor for A Day in the Clouds so the whole family sends their deepest appreciation for your gesture. Especially since you gave STEEM, if I remember correctly, when it was below a dollar. Now that the price has shot up, the value has quadrupled.

Aww mate, that's so nice of you to say :') I really worked hard trying to filter the awesome people here, so I'm glad the hard work bore fruit. You're part of those people, so thank you for contributing to that exceptional comments section. It has only just begun, and I'm planning to ramp up my effort in the coming months :D

I had a lot more Steem back in those days, so I am glad I gave some then. Would give some more if I could, or perhaps when I can. We'll see what successes the future brings. LI look forward to see what you have in store for us in the future also. You have my best wishes for your creative success.

Yeah, you were really on a successful streak. I have no doubt that you will make up what you lost and so much more, mate! Don't feel like you need to give more than what you're comfortable to lose. It's perfectly alright to save all your earnings for your health. We're just all thankful for the support you're already given :D

Thanks, the two way flow of support is the key here. Thant's what brought me back. The money was given with love, and energy has return to me in its own form. I know that. I think it is important to allow energy (of which money is just one form) to move freely. Words and encouragement are also energy :)

YES! Man, I can't stress that enough. Two-way support. Many people here feel like when they comment one short thought and say they started following you, that they're entitled for continued support and a follow back. That's why I've been wary recently, and only continuing to support people who really do continue supporting, and not just leaving a one-off comment. It's very rare to stumble upon like-minded individuals, so I'm very glad I stumbled upon you when I did :D

And yes, I do believe that money is just one form of energy, and that transference could take up different forms.

Hey buddy!

Your book was a labour of love and you giving the proceeds to the Autism Charity is a noble gesture indeed. People like yourself are a rarity these days. Humbling to be in such esteemed company.

Aside form the money though, you've gained the respect and admiration of many users on this platform. We are truly your loyal fans and are privileged for the work you produce for our literary enjoyment. No dollar value can create that. It comes from a place deep within where real talent, dedication and perseverance reside.

Well done on your achievements here. No help from others, no support structure except the one you built for yourself. It's all you, my bro! And that's great!

Here's to many more awesome creations from you here on Steemit. Keep on pushing, my bro! :)

Thank you, brother! As I said previously, even though I did it by myself, I wasn't alone. Fortunate enough to have you awesome people as my support system. I couldn't have done it without all of your wonderful encouragement :D I'm just so excited to a future where we continually mutually support one another. That's a future where I want to live in :D

Hiya. I left yesterday's post open in my browser to come back and comment, and now there is part 2! I've been voting at a lower % since yesterday to share the love a bit further, but I put it back up to 100% for this post. It's quite exciting to be top vote, though hopefully over time I will be relegated back down the list :-)

Thanks for your insights yesterday into your process, and for the accountability you've shown today.I hope Zepp one day comes to understand what you've done for him here. But even if not, I know his parents get it.

You no doubt will have wedding things on your mind for a while now. But I look forward to seeing what comes out of your fertile imagination next. x

Oh yeah, I totally understand. You know that I'm all for sharing the good vibes around. I appreciate the 100% vote, my friend! Trust that I will always charge up and give all your posts a 100% as well :)

It's quite exhilarating being at the top of the list, isn't it? Gives you a temporary whale-like feeling even for a brief moment. Right now, the number of votes seemed to dip, but I hope it normalizes soon.

You're right, wedding things occupy my mind these days so some creative time needs to take a back seat. Is my imagination fertile enough to cultivate a garden? We shall see :D

Exclente post dear friend @jedau, ignored that you donated part of your work, congratulations for your action dear friend, besides an excellent writer you are very orderly with your statistics, thank you very much dear friend for sharing with us that information
Have a great day

Hey, my friend! Check out part 1 of this post, I gave you a brief shoutout ;) I'm a computer scientist first before a writer, so my first love would always be 1s and 0s :) I haven't been earning anything for the past 6 months, so I need to catch up with everyone :D

Hey man! It looks like you won my WORST STEEMIT CONTEST :) You managed to lay low and only got 6 votes. You just said: "Nice post" but acording to rules it definitely qualifies as a "worst joke" and I actually think it was a nice strategy on your side (correct me if I'm wrong). I will create a post and announce winners tomorrow after payout and I will also send you your prize! Congrats!

Ahaha! Oh man, I've been waiting for this! It's a shame that my internet was out for the past 3 days or else I would've replied sooner. Makes me want to create a post about that haha! Maybe I'll hold off until my internet is fully restored. Right now, I'm just leeching off my fiancees'.

It was indeed my strategy, and I'm a bit torn about its success haha! I decided on "Nice post" because I thought about it on a meta-level, ridiculing the post itself. I did not think it was a nice post, so that's the joke there ... I thought it was great! :D Such an innovative contest, and one that I thoroughly enjoyed. No one really lost, as everyone's post earned. I voted 100% on a lot of the other comments, and I wasted until the last minute to comment so that there won't be too much votes.

On one hand, I'm glad that I emerged victorious, but on the other, I feel a bit sad. This same thing happens to my posts--being largely ignored. For a contest where your advantage against your competitors would be voting on their post, I thought I would've received more votes than I did. So, it was a great social experiment, which introduced glaring holes in the social aspect of the platform. That I think would be the main focus of my post, and expect to be credited there :D

Yeah! I saw the irony in your comment. I think the main reason for winning was posting late and not looking like an entry. Congrats again!

Writing up the post about your contest now. I'll make sure to tag you there when I get around to posting it :) I hope it nets tons of participants for the second iteration of the contest!

Thanks! Looking forward to seeing your article!

I hope you liked the brief mention :S More importantly, I hope it brought in at least a few more participants before the deadline. Pretty soon what I wrote would be irrelevant since my days of being the only Worst Steemit Contest winner is nearing an end.

Hey sweetie! I waited until my power recharged so I could wollop this post with my significant vote, lol. Also I was feeling down and out most of the day, so commenting was a bit difficult. Lol to your comment about @randomli being the biggest @jedau fan. Of course she is undoubtedly the biggest Jed fan, but as far as @jedau...okay I'll give it to her grudgingly hahaha!

I'm still feeling pretty weak, so I will save the long comment for the emotional silver lining. Also I will resteem that one :)

Woohoo! You're second only to @ezzy!! That just goes to show how you're already a dolphin, sister! Even though I received only a few votes after HF19, but you guys still carried me through. I'm so lucky to be part of such an awesome fellowship :D Part 3 is up, and that would conclude the SILVER LINING series :'(

Thanks for sharing, i will give all of them a read. Upvoted!

Thank you, man! That is huge! I hope you enjoy reading through the whole story when you find the time. It has been a real labor of love, and I hope it translates well on the page. Thanks for taking the time to express your intent and for commenting :D

Yeh, they are huge, so far it was promising, will definitely recommend my girlfriend, she will love it. You should try publishing them.

Oh wow thanks for that! Yeah, I thought about it, and I'll compile it soon, but I posted the chapters because I wanted to make the story accessible for everyone. All of the earnings are sent to my nephew, so I don't get to keep a single cent.

Thanks for sharing it with everyone. You are a wise man. Keep pushing my brother :)

Thank you, brother! :D As soon as my internet becomes restored, I sweat to catch up on your most recent posts.

I should transfer to @jedau right? Not @AUGonzales.
Noob sending SBD for the first time :D

Yes, you're right. I see you've already transferred it. Great work with this contest, it was so enjoyable! Once my internet is restored, I'll definitely give your profile a look :D

HOW DID I MISS THIS ONE.

I might need to start using esteem.life more unwieldy feed is getting unwieldy

I might also need to blame that bloody video I was working on, it ate a lot of attention XD

I'm only at 70something % atm but I'm going to whack you with 100% vote right now because yes. So there. Better late than never XP

I always thought the majority of autovoters were there to maximise curation rewards for their owners. I know some people use them to make sure they don't miss posts from their favs, my opinion is formulated purely by observation and not number crunching XD

If I wasn't such a cold dead soul your message to Zepp would have made me bawl like an abandoned baby. So sickeningly sweet it was.

Maybe I choked up just a tiny bit. Or a lot

Maybe you got a bit more interaction on Silver Lining because everyone liked finding out more about you and your motivations. Maybe it was easier discussing potential spoilers away from the story where first time readers wouldn't accidentally discover them. We will never know XD

I gotta go catch the other one before it runs off my feed again.

I might also need to blame that bloody video I was working on, it ate a lot of attention XD

Oh man the video doesn't play on my goshdang slow-as-hell laptop! I've already voted on it, but I will comment on it as soon as my internet is restored.

I always thought the majority of autovoters were there to maximise curation rewards for their owners

I'm sure many of them are, and I don't really see the harm in that, to be honest. Everyone benefits, and nobody gets shortchanged. To each their own though.

You're probably right about the reason why the interaction on the SILVER LINING is the way it is. I mean, you probably account for 20% of it any way hahah!

Read Part 3 and tell me if you don't choke up a bit :D

It's cool mate, it's just more of me pretending I know what I'm doing in 3d coat XD I hate net issues, hope they're sorted out sooner rather than later!

I didn't mean to imply that it was bad, I quite literally just thought that's what most of them did :)

ARE YOU SAYING I'M A CHATTERBOX. Well actually I can't argue with that. Although I'm worse in real life because I can't edit and tend to ramble a bit while I'm trying to remember what my initial point was XD All my online interactions are positively concise and succinct in comparison XP

I told you I am a cold dead soul. No choking up happened at any point.

Okay maybe there was a lot of emotion involved

If you take it as a compliment, then yes, I'm saying you're a chatterbox :D If not, then you should take it as a compliment, mate! Haha! The percentage I stated pertains to the number of comments, regardless of length. The more comments I get the better, so it's all good :D

Currently in a war of words with my internet provider. Damn technician thinks overpaying is fine.

Man this is awesome! wish I could give you more money by upvoting, but it's more than 7 days old. :/ I guess you can't resteem it other :/, so I resteemed the post that sent me here!

I appreciate the resteem! You could always donate to the @zeppelin account directly if you want :D Any amount is appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59500.17
ETH 2654.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41