A Day in the Clouds (Chapter 21) - The Hours Between 0100 and 0200 (Part 1 of 2)

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

This is a continuation of the Steemit-exclusive, original novel A Day in the Clouds. Be sure to check out the previous chapters to catch up with the story. Enjoy!


<< Chapter 20


cover

The multi-talented @verbal-d (who, by the way, edited this chapter) has bestowed a wonderful gift for this story. Known for his lyrical rhymes, he's also a master when it comes to mixing melodious beats. To enhance the reading experience, play this on loop in the background as you read this chapter. Take a deep breath, and allow yourself to be consumed by the entire experience. Please be sure to follow and donate to @verbal-d! You can also follow his work on SoundCloud.

Life has a way of bringing you where you need to be. That was the last thought that crossed my mind as I plummeted off the highest point of the Andes. Clouds were the only view afforded to me during my descent. And, when you're perpendicular to the ground at this level, the only direction for you to go is south.

I closed my eyes, and held my breath. Feeling the fierce winds strike against my skin, I curled up into a ball. I clutched my legs close to my chest. When it felt right, I flipped forward, turning my body upside down until it was parallel to the ground. I slid my hands to my side, then put my feet together. The loose strings in my ropa and boots flitted in the air, so I fastened them to my wrist and ankles. With one swift motion, I lifted both my arms, as if I was urging the ground beneath me to an embrace, and spread my legs apart. The sides of my clothes and the insides of my pants unfolded. They revealed the fabric wings stitched between the seams.

I stopped falling as soon as the clouds parted to reveal the ground below. It was an exhilarating feeling not knowing if the jump would be my last. The wind resistance could've easily ripped my wings off from my ropa. It was always a gamble whenever I jumped off a towering height. There were no backup measures to ensure that I would fall safely if my equipment failed. It's not that my people were dim-witted that they haven't thought about contingencies. We were just raised to be brave and to entrust our whole being to Bathala.

The wings functioned more like sails, which allowed me to glide through the air with ease. In conjunction with my viento, I could simulate flight by adjusting how the wind hit my fabric wings. The patterns painted on them make it seem like I was invisible whenever I float above forests. From below I looked like a flying squirrel with its patagium outstretched.

    "Nice form," Prito complimented, as he came up behind me. "Your new duds are holding up quite well."

    "Thanks! With Bathala by my side, there's nothing I can't do."

    "If that's the case, then they should've named you Adarna instead!" Lumpia teased, as she glided wobbly on my other side. "Squawk! Squawk!"

    "Oh please don't sing," Adobo pleaded from behind me. "I don't want to fall to certain death!"

I went along with the joke and hummed the tune that my mother sang to lull me to sleep. In the stories, there was a magical bird named Adarna. It had the magical power to make anyone who listened to her singing fall into a deep slumber. The bird never wants this, of course. Whenever people fell asleep in the middle of its serenade, it seeks revenge. It perches above them and, out of frustration, defecates on them, turning them to stone.

While no one had ever seen the legendary bird in person, the village elders swore that the stories were real. They train us to resist falling asleep. Some go as far as to cut themselves and douse the wound with lime juice. Personally, I prefer to shake myself awake rather than permanently scarring my arm.

Prito retracted his wings and pretended to faint. We all laughed in response, and he eventually caught up with us after a few seconds.

This was a common practice among the youth of our village. They urged us to practice our flight technique, and so we did. Granted, we're on the outer edge of being young, but it was still a productive pastime to engage in. After all, flying was my people's main means of transportation.

We did flips, and loops, and other acrobatic maneuvers to prove our mastery. Nobody else saw our display, and it was perfectly alright. Considering everyone else knew how to fly the same way, our display would impress anyone.

    "Quit fooling around," Kinilaw remarked, as he zoomed past us. He didn't care that he almost hit Adobo. If the collision did happen, he would dismiss it as Adobo's fault for not avoiding him. Among our age group, people considered Kinilaw as the best flyer. But, he had no close friends because of his brash nature.

    "Hey! Watch it!" Lumpia chided. "This isn't a race, you know?"

By the time she had finished talking, Kinilaw was already far away. I could've sworn that he replied something like "If this was, you all would've already lost." Though, I could never be quite certain.

    "Never mind him," I consoled. "It's always cold in the mountaintop where he pitches his tent."

I closed my eyes, and focused on the sound the winds made against my ear and clothing. The rhythm of the undulation was soothing and next to none. It was cold where we were, as wisps of snow sneaked in the orifices of our garbs.

    "I wish we could stay like this forever," I mused. "Like stay up here, floating, not needing to land."

    "I know what you mean," Prito followed. "It's peaceful up here. No lectures, no responsibilities."

    "Easy for you to say," Adobo interrupted. "You fellows fly like your wings are attached to your bodies. For me, my shoulders ache while trying to maintain a straight trajectory!"

The three of us couldn't help but laugh upon hearing Adobo's complaint. She was a skilled armas wielder, but her balance was wanting. Often the butt of jokes, Adobo was one of the most compassionate people in the whole village. She was very good-natured, and she always took things lightly. Her face wrinkled, trying to portray annoyance, but chuckled along with us in the end.

    "Let's head on back," Lumpia suggested. "I could feel the sun setting, and it's hard to navigate at night."

As soon as we neared our village, the sun did slowly descend. Lumpia had always been the serious one among our group. Others have often commented that she was tightly wound. But, we knew that she was just always lost in her thoughts and couldn't be bothered with trivial things. Beneath the surface, she had a variety of unexpected interests and skills.

We performed acrobatic stunts right before arrived in our village. At the entrance of the village, there stood a burly figure waving at us, welcoming our return.

    "Menudo!" Prito greeted. "Where were you?"

    "Yeah, what gives?" I followed. "We waited for you for hours before we jumped!"

    "I'm sorry, friends," Menudo excused. "My left wing had a tear, and I had to get it patched up."

    "Was it serious?" Adobo inquired. "Was it easily fixed?"

    "No, nothing to be worried about," Menudo assured us. "It's still torn though, so it might be a while before I'll be able to fly with you guys."

Ever since he was assigned to the village construction committee, Menudo had spent less and less time with us. Being older, he finished his training earlier than us. He was held back because he was a sickly child, that's why he worked hard to strengthen his body. Nobody told him to stop, that's why he kept working out. He ended up having a physique the strongest men of the village were envious of.

    "What? But, why?" Prito asked. "I thought you spent the whole day having it patched up?"

    "I did," Menudo replied, scratching his head. "Well, I would've if the queue to the repair hut wasn't as long as it was."

    "Couldn't you just have left your *ropa *there?" Lumpia queried. "I mean, I'm sure it would've been finished by now."

    "Yeah, well, that's the thing though," Menudo answered. "I haven't worn this in a while, and when I stretched it out it got ripped. I hurried to the repair hut, and I forgot to bring a change of clothing. There were two other people in front of me then. So, I raced back to the house and brought with me some spare clothes. When I got back, there were already six people in the line!"

Prito and I sat on the ground. Based on the way he was narrating his tale, we figured that this was going to be a while.

    "My mother called me to run an errand, and when I returned there were already ten. So, I ate instead, waiting for the queue to whittle down, but it never did."

    "Oh, wait," Prito interrupted. "Was that it? Couldn't you have just asked someone to hold your spot?"

    "I would have," Menudo replied. "But, I was too embarrassed."

    "Classic Menudo," Lumpia concluded. "We'll fly some other day then."

We all laughed, as we sat on the edge of the village. No one wanted to say it, but we all knew that Menudo was nervous to fly. Since his job didn't require him to routinely soar the skies, he didn't have enough practice. Compared to him, Adobo would look like Kinilaw in his prime, if they ever flew side by side. We didn't care if Menudo couldn't keep up with us, we just wanted to spend a day with our friend. However, Menudo didn't want to slow us down, but was too embarrassed to say it out loud.

The sun set just beyond the horizon, and it painted the sky a rusty orange. We bid our farewells, as we each went home to where our families were staying. There were no permanent homes in our village. But, families slept in the same place, wherever they find themselves in.


chap21
Cloud Image Source


viento
The extremely passionate @ryivhnn has created this magnificent viento-inspired artwork for this story. Close your eyes and picture this masterpiece, as you imagine Ledd soaring to new heights. Please be sure to check out @ryivhnn's wonderful artwork and in-depth logs of her experiences with homeschooling her children. You can also become a patron of hers on Patreon so that you can support her regularly.

mandala40400.png


<< Chapter 20


Thanks for reading! Follow me, @jedau, if you want to live.


Leave this post a feedback, and I'll be sure to return the favor!

divider

Sort:  

hot damn, how have you kept so much interest in your story? Teach me your ways please XD I've just returned and started reposting my story but it looks like the hiatus has killed any audience :'(

Welcome back then! You know, I went on a hiatus myself, but I've discovered that the audience never really disappears. My main advice is to interact with people on their posts (like you're doing here with me). With the length of your Red Doll series, unfortunately I don't have the time to catch up on that, but I'll be reading your Amethyst one for sure.

Just from browsing the Red Doll, I noticed that it's eerily similar to my good buddy @ezzy's The Symbiotic Protocol series. Talking about the theme, of course. @ezzy has far more success in keeping interest in his work high, and I am but an apprentice next to him. It all traces back to engaging other people though.

In a platform that's full of people shouting "look at me!" be someone who says "hey I admire your work, if you have time to check out mine that'll be awesome, but if not, then that's okay" :D

Wow thanks for taking the time to respond, I've just checkout ezzy's series and it is awesome to see someone else on a similar bent as my own on here XD

I'll definitely be taking on board what you've said! Also, hope you'll be enjoying Amethyst then ;) It's a bit of slow starter but when it gets going... oh the fireworks ;P

I've just left a lengthy comment on your post. Check it out, dude :D I hope it helps. It's my hope that the fiction community here on Steemit becomes thriving and vibrant. Nice to have you back to add flavor to it. I really see great promise in yours stories :D

I have already told you how much I love each chapter an the entire book as a whole, but with that said bro, the edited photos with Ledd's outlined cloud body is probably some of the coolest imagery that adds depth and beauty to this already amazing story. Hope you are doing great bro since the sweet proposal :)

I really put a lot of thought even to those images. The clouds are set at the exact time, and the images are dutifully picked out. I imagine it's much like you choosing the GIFs you use to convey your work more effectively. Thank you for the kind words, brother! I appreciate you carving out some time to leave a comment :D

Congratulations @jedau! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Oh wow! That's great! I've been seeing these comments all over, and I kept wondering when my turn would be. Great initiative, guys! :D

I have fucked up my ear recently and have to give it a brake. I had a sneak peek and have to say that I can tell that the music would help me to dive into the story even more. I actually listen to music all the time while reading so I have few years of practice in that too:P By the way yesterday I have open the registration for the DnD like game for Steemit I’ve been working on and I’m seeking all the talented authors and lovers of storytelling. I would be honoured if you joined :).

Sorry to hear about your ear, but yeah, I strongly believe that music adds to the experience. I'll check your link out in a bit, as I'm currently busy with some stuff. Thank you for considering me, it's a huge honor to have even been considered. Also, I appreciate you taking the time to leave a comment on work :D

The spaces are filling quickly. You can still make it to top 3 guys on waiting list though!

I have your post in my queue now and will be reading it in a bit. If it's a time sensitive thing, then I wouldn't be able to commit to it currently as I'm on borrowed time myself. But, it really looks promising. I'll comment on it after reading it.

I feel pleasure to visit your blog, it is magnificent your work, I admire how naturally you write, thank you very much dear friend @jedau for sharing this work
Have a great day.

Thank you, man! It's a huge honor, and I appreciate your kind words. Thanks for stopping by, my friend. I hope you have a great day as well :D

Pure literary poetry, @jedau. Man, I felt the air whistling past the suit, my comrades gliding with an elegant finesse next to me. It's all brilliantly told and the flow... You got it down to a tee!

You seem to be reading my mind as I'm just finishing up the first chapter in a short novella I'm about to post. The beginning has a very similar feel to the masterpiece above as you'll see but then quickly hardforks and veers off in a separate direction.

The freedom Ledd felt sailing through the skies was translated exceedingly well through your choice of words, my friend! Again, I can't really do justice here by simple praise, the chapter speaks volumes for itself.

Awesome job and cannot wait for Part 2! :)

Thank you for the recognition, brother! It means a lot coming from an author of your caliber. I can't even describe the appreciation I feel.

I have your novella on queue and I'm so stoked to read it. I've been busy running a few wedding errands that's why I've been delayed with my replies. But, I really want to carve out time to read your new novella because I want to give it its due.

Part 2 is up when you find the time, brother! :D Bless you to the edges of the known universe!

Please don't thank me for any recognition. As I mentioned, you deserve more than I could ever put into words. Your works brims with originality and narrative grace.

So you've been quite busy I see. Exactly like myself, bro. My in-laws are over and I get so little precious time to do what I want. Therefore, like you put so succinctly, if I see anything posted from yourself or @dreemit, I refuse to "skim" through it. The effort and creativity that went into it requires an equal amount of respect and undivided attention from me so that's why sometimes I'm slightly delayed in replying.

So, in advance, please accept my apologies if that happens to be the case in future.

The plus side is that I get a great read to look forward to when night falls.

Bless you to the heavens and back, my bro! :)

Completely understandable, brother. Like fine wine, carefully thought out literature needs time to breathe haha! You can't just gulp it when you crack open the bottle. No sir!

Great content keep up the good work.

Woohoo! Thanks for the acknowledgement! I hope you enjoyed reading. Left a comment on your post as well :D

Dreams, I was wondering when this would come. What an amazing way to imagine his night time wanderings. And what a brilliant way to imagine this is what keeps him so connected to his past, that he spends time with them at night and so they continue to feel like his real family, his real life, while the one he's in now is more like a prison world that keeps him from them.
Beautifully done my friend. Flying dreams are my favorite.

Dreams? Who ever said anything about dreams? :/ What if it's real life and every other chapter that came before was the dream :o As you can see, I'm still hanging onto that philosophical chapter I've written previously haha!

I'm glad you like this, my friend! At the critical junction we find ourselves in, I'm more vulnerable than ever in terms of the tiny faults. Your support has been an awesome lifeline, and I'm just so happy that I'm still able to provide some thrills 21 chapters in. Thank you, my friend! Your encouragement is worth more than you realize :D

Splendid dream sequence. From this we can get all that he has lost and also the sleeping where they drop as is the way that kids do. He must be fair old disgruntled waking after such a thing!

Dream?? Why is everyone talking about this like it's a dream!? It's happening as we speak people! Gosh!

I like how you picked up that detail with the drop. I don't know if it's a Filipino thing, but elders well, hmm.. I guess "elders" is the apt description. What do you know!! Haha! Elders say that when you dream that you're falling, in reality you're becoming taller in your sleep haha Is that something being spoken with hush tones where you live?

Thanks for stopping by, dude! The price of STEEM may fluctuate, but your words are worth more than all the cryptos combined at this point! A steady linear ascent, with no peaks or dips :D

Taller in your sleep. I like that a lot! We can't speak in hushed tones here. It seems to be a physical impossibility! Lol.

You know it's always a pleasure to stop by!! By the way I saw PIVX is heading up. Here's hoping you get you money back and more!!

Oh yes, I forgot, I forgot. Whispers around your parts is like shouting around here haha!

I hope your words to be prophetic! Really though, I didn't want to acknowledge it, because whenever I do, the opposite happens haha! It's a gi-... nope, it's just a curse.

Awesome story! Great concept. And fantastically put together post! Already Following you! Keep on Steemin'!

I'm not sure who has the keys to the account now, but it's great that you have resurrected it :D You know, I, well, used to be a curator for fiction-trail and have helped quite a lot as well in my time. It's great that you're able to carry the tradition.

Thanks for stopping by to read and comment on my humble story. It means a lot! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59531.52
ETH 2678.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43