SILVER LINING #24 (Part 3 of 3)

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

This is a complementary series for the Steemit-exclusive, original novel A Day in the Clouds. Be sure to check out the final chapter before you read this post to avoid spoilers.


<< #23 (Part 2 of 3)

chapter_24_3

First of all, let me just apologize for the delay in posting this. I have been without internet for more than 3 days now, and I'm only able to post this because I'm currently leeching off @randomli's internet. I hope this doesn't take away from the emotional momentum I had built up. Do let me know if it does in the comments section. I'll get back to replying and commenting full-time when my internet is restored.

The Experience

This was such a rollercoaster ride! I never expected any less. It was a rough going at the start. There were times when I wanted to just stop. No one would know since nobody was reading. Then came the awesome people who lent their time to lift my spirits up. There were a lot of highs, and a lot of lows. But, I wouldn't trade it for anything else.

When it comes down to it, success on Steemit is all about fortitude. Having the strength to persevere despite every set back is the factor that separates those who will experience long-term success and those who flame out. Now, I'm in no position to give out advice, as I'm just a lowly minnow. I'm still a minnow, while most of the other users I interacted with when I begun have since went on to become dolphins and whales. I've been here for almost a year, and my meager reputation and measly wallet is all I have to show for. That's what many might think...

Admittedly, that's what I used to think as well. @lukestokes had a hand in setting my expectations straight. These days, if you ask me what I have to show for, I would immediately direct you to the comments section, and the comments section of all the people I support. When I say that I leave heartfelt comments, I really mean it. And I'm glad that even though I have nothing to show for in my wallet, I have built a reputation of being a genuine commenter, who seeks to uplift and encourage others. Will that translate to success in STEEM, time, as they say, will tell.

I've written this series for NaNoWriMo last year, but I've been editing this story for almost half a year. I've been writing SILVER LININGs to keep people entertained, and I've sacrificed 6 months, and God only knows how many dollars just to fulfill a promise I made when I started this journey. Even though only a few heeded my call to donate, I rest easy knowing that I devoted half a year to help a young, differently abled boy live a better life.

It used to be that you'll see me complain about the love not being spread around, but those days are behind me. If the STEEM flows in other directions and other charities, then so be it. It's their prerogative, and I'm just happy for the trickle that comes my advocacy's way.

The Road Ahead

I haven't written anything past this, which is new for me since I have three to five posts lined up at any given time. It's exciting and scary at the same time.

Ledd's journey may have ended, but Zepp's journey still continues. If you have spare STEEM that you care to share with him, feel free to send some @zeppelin's way. I won't have any access to that account, so please don't send it to me to forward to them. This is the last post whose earnings I will send their way.

From here on in, I'm going to be a bit selfish with what I earn. I feel burnt out, but a different kind of exhaustion from the one that forced me to a hiatus months back. I feel fulfilled. I feel a sense of accomplishment knowing that I didn't ask for alms just for nothing. All the money donated to Zepp's cause was borne out of a labor of love. There was no huge community surge behind this, just the support of some magnificent people who comment and resteem my posts. There were no whales who actively campaigned for this, and I worked hard for all the money sent Zepp's way. There was no sob story, just an empowering tale about an innocent child who seems powerless, but, in reality, has power beyond measure.

This is not a knock on anybody else, this is just me shedding my self-deprecating nature and lifting myself up for the hard work that I have done for half a year. If I won't ever produce another hit, I will rest easy knowing that this was the legacy I left. All the time, sweat and tears I poured into this passion piece was dedicated to help improve Zepp's life. He might never fully appreciate the gesture, but I don't care. As long as he lives a better life, and this labor of love helped him achieve it, then I would die a happy man.



Voting for witnesses is free, but your one vote could dictate the course of this platform.


Vote for @lukestokes' witness lukestokes.mhth to help Steemit stop the Replicant threat



From the bottom of my heart and soul, thank you for reading!


I'm taking a short break, but I will reply to every comment when I get back!

divider

Sort:  

Well, I don't care. I'm just gonna come out and say it. "DON'T GO, MAN!" I keep getting the impression that you're gonna up and leave for good. But you've got too much talent and creativity to offer us, your loyal fans. Add to that the fact that Steemit is just getting started (after HF19) and I'm sure the actual "steem" will come pouring in.

You've been an inspiration to me since I read your first post "Prodigal". An all round awesome and genuine guy. I've got no problem in saying I'd miss you like crazy if you left.

I understand if you want to take some time out. After writing an entire novel with such staunch regularity, I can fully understand that. But consider posting more of your great work in the near future. It'd be a blessing for this platform and we'd all be waiting for you with open arms...

Have a good break and hope to see you posting here again real soon, my brother. :)

As much as I want to take a good long break from Steemit, there are tons of comments to reply to and wonderful content to comment on haha! My internet woes prevent me from even having some time away. It's like some sick joke by the universe, ridding me of internet immediately after I posted the last chapter. Made me delay the post of Part 3 though, so yeah.

I like how you regard "Prodigal" as my first post, brother. In a way, it kind of is, with a new attitude towards everything Steemit. I apologize if I'm dangling that possibility of leaving haha! Just because you demanded nicely, of course I won't :D

You may not have advanced much in terms of SP compared to others who've been here the same amount of tine, but you have gained respect and followers. Be proud of what you've done, and now let it be time for you.

I appreciate you saying that, my friend :') Nowadays, I don't mind being left behind by everyone. As long as I do what I feel is right and not step on anyone else's toes, I'm happy with whatever progress I make.

That's a beautiful attitude. There are many different markers of success, and the right attitude is the best start.

I'm glad that I'm headed in the right direction! I must say, I really didn't start out this way, so it really took hard work to shift my mentality.

You know how I felt about this spectacular book and the Silver Lining, but I'll say it again anyway. So well done, and it's only whet my appetite for anything you do in the future. I know you have more masterpiece's in you my friend.

I hope you get the internet issue resolved soon (selfishly because I miss you ;) But actually I've been insanely busy the past several days with out of town company and graduations, then I wore myself down to being completely sick today. Just now feeling a bit better and not so weak.

Also, what @kiwideb said :)
Talk soon.

I was just typing away at a new post I hope to finish today, and up popped a notification that you're talking about me ;-) Sorry to hear you've been off colour, hope you're feeling better soon, x

:) Thanks hon, I am feeling better this morning. Quick question, how long does it take to read a chapter of mine? Would between thirty seconds and a minute be pushing it? hahaha, well someone thought it was great and started following me in that amount of time. Come on guys, a little common sense, lol.

I'm a very fast reader and even I can't read a chapter in under a minute.
There are so many options for dealing with those posts (of which there are so many more now!) - polite but meaningless one word response; sarcastic reply about how quick they can read; a lesson in Steemit etiquette; or ignoring them. I'm inclining towards ignoring them and upvoting everyone else's comments but not theirs.

Oh hey now, maybe some of the new members are just really fast readers. Like 1000 words per second fast. We'll never know!

That's true that we can never know.

Or, I'm just being too optimistic, and they're just a bunch of awful people wanting to receive without giving haha!

That's why you're the number one cloudhead :'D It's a good thing my internet issue reared it's ugly head when it did (if it's really unavoidable ugh), exactly when you're super busy yourself and right after I posted the last chapter. It delayed part 3 of the last SILVER LINING though.

I'm trying to catch up with everything even with the limited internet time that I have. Tons to reply to, tons of posts to read. Rest up, and everyone needs you back to 100% strength! I hope you feel better soon, sister!

Ah you will have another hit mate, I can guarantee it! You have the touch. Its apparent in your writing, seen easily in your engagement posts. The creativity is there bubbling away and you won't be able to stop it pumping out!!

Are you sure? I'm holding you to it, broseph! If I don't get another hit, expect me to fly over to Glasgow and give you a stern talking to (or, in Glaswegian speak, a fine hello haha!) I'm going to ask my brain foreman to release the dam doors and let all of those creative juices flow. Time to flood my page!

Let the flooding commence!!!!

Opening floodgates ... NOW!! Here we go! Here we go! ZOMG :O
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 * drip *
 
 
 
Hmm ... Well, that's ... embarrassing. Performance issues, I guess :/

Haaaaahaaahahahaaaaaa!! Ah that made me giggle :0)

I'm saving my little blue pill for when I really need it, so I'm hoping I could get this done as naturally as possible. After all, my legions of fans are hanging on every word. I can't let them down. Yes, literally and figuratively.

Literally and figuratively

I agree here absolutely

:0D

I really don't know why I dug myself in a hole that's so hard to get out of :/

Makes you feel good to be generous!

Oh for sure! Though, I didn't really do it for the recognition. The reception has been nice, and it served to even out the exhaustion of the whole process. I hope you get the chance to read the story when you find the time :)

You will produce another hit. Many more, I am sure. You have the talent. But as we know (and of this I am talking from first hand experience) you also need the drive. You spoke of the feeling of burn out. I went through that recently. and it was made worse through health issues - they reinforced each other.

Time out, or being more self centred, is not a bad thing, in it's rightful place. Besides you have the runs on the board already - many months of writing to support a worthy cause.

I've still to complete your story, but I am working through from where I left off. As I become more active here again you can count on my continued support.

Oh man, if that came from one of the writers I most admire here, then I better brace myself. Stumble blocks are inevitable, it's how we recover that defines us. If you made it back with flying colors, then I'll strive to do the same. I'm going to power through and produce another hit. One track mind to succeed!

I did lose a lot of the joy of writing, which I think just added fuel to the whole experience of late. I think that's why I had to stop it all for some time. That has changed back now though, so perhaps I chose the right way to handle it all in the end.

I needed some time out, for the more obvious issues, such as health, but also to reassess why I wanted to write and be a writer. What was my 'why?'.

I've loaded up all your recent posts and will try to catch up with them today. It's great that your recharge strategy worked. I wish STEEM could fix you back to 100% health, but maybe the positivity here could help improve it even a bit. The whole community should be grateful that you found your "why", I know I surely am. I'm just glad you're back in Steemit full time, mate! You have been missed :D

Sorry I had a writing spurt just as your internet went out. So now it's my time to tell you to take your time, but having said that, any thoughts or comments are always appreciated.

Yes, glad to be back. Happy to be writing and reconnecting with the muse. And thank you for telling me that, it's appreciated.

Haha! No trouble at all! :D I've been trying to catch up with everything, but your posts are refreshing to read, mate. It's my pleasure to comment on them :D

If he did, would you know about it? :) Either way, his parents definitely would have, and everything helps out both short and long term.

Gah unfortunate about the internet situation D: hope that resolves sooner rather than later. No momentum lost but I only know what momentum is when it hits me (or more usually when I hit something because inertia always favours the other thing) so perhaps I'm the worst person to ask XD

You did an awesome thing. You should feel well proud of yourself. And if you want to keep going well it's only the beginning. Awesomeness takes time, we know, we can wait ;D

Enjoy your break :D

This was an unforced break, but I'll try to take advantage of this unplugged vacation haha! They projected the fix to be 1 week, so yeah, I feel grounded. I'm just so glad I stumbled upon spectacular Steemians like yourself that would be there no matter what! I rest easy knowing that I will receive support (and happily support others) when I get back :D

Excellent work dear friend @jedau, that you have a happy rest, it is always good to seek the balance between body and soul and that better with a few days of rest.
I send you a hug.

Thank you, my friend! I accept your hug, and send you a tighter one in return :) The rest I've been having is not the one I expected. Having no internet provided me a way to unwind, for sure, but it also made me very unproductive these past days. I can't wait to get back online full-time :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59529.60
ETH 2657.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41