SILVER LINING #18

in #writing7 years ago

This is a complementary series for the Steemit-exclusive, original novel A Day in the Clouds. Be sure to check out the latest chapter before you read this post to avoid spoilers.


<< #17

chapter_1837c57.png

Cloud Image Source

Hey Cloudheads :D This chapter broke the chain of below-100 vote posts that I recently had to endure. But, more importantly you guys returned after that Diego reveal!! Woohoo! Really though, the reads and comments are more important to me that the votes. I know that most of the votes are just automatic anyway. Just an advance apology, this SILVER LINING is a bit thin, partly because I didn't think people would come back after the Diego reveal haha!

Sucks about still not being able to edit after payout. That removed my coming next week warning for the remainder of the series. I just hope it gets restored, even temporarily, so I can modify a past one that has lapsed. Kind of destroyed the flow of the next button haha! Moving on...

Yeeeeaaaahhhh... You know what it is :/ This is another rounding out/partial chiasmus chapter that hearkens back to one of my favorite chapters that I've ever written. This time it's Mamie's turn to give a bath. If you could recall, Ledd mentioned before that he enjoyed Mamie's water treatment torture more because she was gentler. Well, Ledd, that was before you decided it was alright to run away!!

Seriously though, this was my attempt at scripting a melancholic bath time, which was the complete opposite of Chapter 3. Ledd's new strategy provided me with a new approach at handling the giants. Instead of openly defying them, Ledd is working behind the scenes to defeat them from within. I found it very intriguing, and this was influenced by the way Zepp looks. It's like he's always hiding something beneath his quietness.

When I read the SILVER LINING of that chapter (I'm not going to link it, not my proudest moment), I find it interesting to see how much my approach to Steemit has changed. I was so angry when I wrote it. Admittedly, the thing I ranted about still persists, but I don't feel the same way at all. I attribute it to the learning (and growing) I received under @lukestokes' tutelage. Now, I just laugh about all the rants that I've written before. Steemit's the same, I'm the one who's changed, and I've never been happier about it.

Since I wasn't able to discuss it further the last time, I wanted to reminisce about bath times when I was younger. I loved taking a bath. So much so that I spent countless hours in the shower. Wait a minute, that's wrong. I still love taking baths. I've heard quite a few complaints about how long I spend in the shower. Frankly, I don't care :D

I imagined whole worlds while I bathed. We didn't have a bath tub until I was in the sixth grade, so I was a shower guy growing up. I flooded the area by filling a timba (a large pail or bucket) and plugging it on top of the drain.


timba
Image Source

My mother always scolded me whenever I sat down on the pool. She threatened that worms and bacteria that were floating in the water would crawl up my asshole. So, I didn't sit, and instead swam in that one foot pool. Good times!

Eventually, my love for water translated in a swimming career, but that's a story I already told in a different post ;)

I really miss showering with my mother and father. I remember loving how the water flowed down their skin and into mine while I hugged them. I remember running and slipping on the tiled floors. I remember being fascinated at my pruned skin caused by prolonged exposure to water. What was your favorite memory growing up? Does it have anything to do with the water? Leave them in the comments! :D

I'm off to take a shower now!



Thanks for reading! Follow me, @jedau, if you want to live.


Leave this post a feedback, and I'll be sure to return the favor!

divider

Sort:  

Did you really just write "crawl up my asshole" ? Hahahaha!!!! You are already the master of imagery, but that image my friend, will haunt me LOL!!

I'm so glad you're outlook has changed, and if @lukestokes contributed to that, then to him I say "Awesome, and thank you!"

I can't believe that I still have not had the time to sit and read your book! It figures that there were several months of leisurely time for me, and right when I could use some my world has become ridiculously hectic. My birthday and friends crashing for weeks, and now mother's day and my brother's birthday, whew! But next week should prove to have calmed down. I will be going on some outtings for my new dreemit's world series, but other than that, especially evenings should be leisurely again. In no way did the reveal of Diego hinder my desire to read the rest, and I'm sure it won't for anyone else either.
Love the book, love the silver linings, and love you my friend :)

Did you really just write "crawl up my asshole" ? Hahahaha!!!! You are already the master of imagery, but that image my friend, will haunt me LOL!!

That I did, and the imagery is a gift that will keep on giving. Trust me ;)

I can't believe that I still have not had the time to sit and read your book!

A part of me is glad hahaha! I wonder how your comments to the chapters will change after you've read the entire thing haha Surprisingly, the ending had mixed reviews, which is something that I didn't quite expect.

Mixed reviews in what way, and by whom?

By a few people who have read until the end. I don't want to name names. But, the ending isn't generally well received. I still stick by it though, as it was deliberate and not something that I just whipped out because I felt people would enjoy it.

It's funny. The way I approach writing stories usually has the ending in mind, so I know where to go even before I write the beginning :D

Wonderful quick insight bro, you are indeed a water baby. One of my favorite memories as a child is probably swimming atop the shoulders of my older cousin when we had went swimming one time, I wasn't able to swim at all because I was so small but I really felt like I was a bonafide Whale rider, it required absolutely no energy and I could flow from one side of the pool to the next, and when I got to the shallow end I could jump off safely :)

Also I am glad that your perspective has changed, it is a lot easier to cope with our own expectations and certain outcomes with our outlook and how we handle our perceived shortcomings. Stay positive bro

Ha! Cool story, bro! Since I'm one of the older cousins, I never really had that. But, I was the whale for younger cousins haha! I was thrown to the deepend when I was still a baby, that's why I was forced to learn how to swim at a young age :D

Yeah, that story just brought up a bad memory, not your fault though, but yeah tough swimming lessons definitely pushed you to excel at survival.

While I'm sorry to hear that it brought up a bad memory, I hope that being able to say it out loud provided some catharsis, brother.

You and your epic scrabble words, thanks bro, it's all good, it's time to challenge your scrabble skills asap!

Ha! Which word piqued your curiosity, brother? Yes! Scrabble is definitely in our future, what with Words with Friends now integrated in Messenger :D

Don't play dumb with me bro, that's not gonna work when we battle it out in scrabble. Catharsis is not an everyday dialogue kind of word lol I gotta send you an invite on Facebook

HAHAHA!!! It was worth a shot! What?? "Catharisis" isn't utilized in daily discourse? That is a revelation to me, brother hahaha!

Beautiful post my friend! How nice that you share your memories with us.

You particularly made me remember when my mother forgot or lacked money to pay for the gas service and she warmed the water for me to bathe. My childhood is full of those beautiful memories that show how important our parents have been to us. Big hug my friend! Have a beautiful weekend!

Awww bro, that's so heartwarming. It's such a nice story about perseverance. I'm so glad that you guys are in a much better place now. Thanks for sharing it here :D Have a wonderful weekend, my friend!

Nice Write up @jedau

P.S I dropped you a message on Steemit.chat

Replied there. Thanks for the opportunity!

Thank you, Luke :D

Oh man, you and I have something in common there. I absolutely love the feeling of lying in a hot bath and relax whilst clearing the mind of all the day's problems. Unfortunately, we only have a shower where I live so I must admit I do miss that a lot. One day, lol.

So, you're closing in on the finale of your book. Great stuff, buddy. It's one of the most unique reading experiences I've ever had. I can tell you, that is no mean feat considering all the literary works out there.

You obviously have the respect and admiration of many on this platform. If this novel contained such a magnitude of quality and innovation, I can't wait for the next project on the amazing "Jedau's" list.

You've come a long way, my friend, and I'm sure there's still so much more you have to offer. And I, for one, can hardly wait!

Bless you, my brother. :)

Baths are a rarity now for me as well, brother. We're on the same boat still.

Thanks for recognizing its uniqueness, brother! I appreciate the compliment and for you taking the time to leave your thoughts. I really wanted to produce a truly original experience with it. Kinda like Flowers for Algernon. Yeah.. that's what I was going for haha!

I wouldn't say that I have the respect of many, maybe a few sure. And, boy do I have tons of respect for those people! Really though, it's like I have an invisibility cloak to people who have a high SP. Like my comments or posts doesn't matter to them haha!

Do I really have a next project? Will I release the next thing in my list here? Am I really amazing or am I just a one-hit wonder? Do I still have some gas left in the tank? What is with all these questions?? Will I ever revert back to writing normal sentences?

The way I see it, buddy, people will get their due's and the effort and dedication put into your craft will ultimately spread it's wings and fly like it was suppose to. And I firmly believe that will be the case with you.

You're too talented and that is something to be recognised. I hope and pray you remain on Steemit. It would not be the same without you. Add to that the fact that Steemit is just about to lift off into the stars. Stick with it, brother. You do have an avid following and judging by the phenomenal comments, I'm not the only one who thinks so.

Yeah, man. I believe in exactly the same thing. That's why I put my 100% effort into everything, even in the tiniest of details. I really appreciate the encouragement, brother! I do love all the support I've been getting. You guys have really carried me to where I am.

I don't know. Now that my story is ending, I'm making a breakdown of all the stats I accumulated. Don't get me wrong, I'm not in that angry-sad space I was half a year ago. Far from it. It just puzzles me when I think that memes or posts that they have ranked up earn more than posts whose earnings go directly to people in need. Hahaha! Boggles. The. Mind. :D

I loved bathing when I was younger too. It was awesome. I used to stay in the bath until the water was cold and even then I didnt want to come out!

Angry Jed? What the heck, does this warrant more investigation? You seem quite the laid back feller!

Pruned skin for the win!

Yeah.. I'm really a laid back guy, but I do have my moments. It was a SILVER LINING before you came on board, dude. Maybe you missed it when you scrolled through the earlier chapters.

Pruned skin was such a mystery!

Haha, maybe I should go on the investigative jaunt!

I know, right?? I remember questioning if I had aged years after taking a bath for a long time haha!

Leave the past be, brother. It is but a husk of my old self. I have since moved on and evolved into a happier individual. That's what having a power of a god (a crypto god!!) does to someone.

Its all those titles ;O)

Ha! You may be on to something, dude! The more titles I add, the happier I become :D

Least you still have the voting bots? XD I lost all mine over the month I was away :< LoL so I'm back down to what I expected to be when I first joined (a few cents per post XD)

I always fret when I see Silver Linings, I keep forgetting you leave a decent gap between them so I always think I've somehow missed the last chapter XP Checking before I read makes everything make sense. But I still fret for no reason. Anyway XD

Well you know what they say, you always gotta watch the quiet ones ;D There's this coach at the kids' gymnastics and you will never meet a nicer person. She once commented (ironically after telling us a tale about how she had to sort out some rude little teenage brats at a sausage sizzle once) about how surprised she was that some people find her intimidating. I told her it was because she was such an awesome and lovely person but there was this underlying malice in her voice that let people know that if they messed with her they were in for it. She was totally surprised but everyone else listening in agreed with me I think XD

Well now you know if something inexplicable goes on it was probably Zepp. Or the gremlins ;D

Most of my favourite childhood memories involve water in the form of beach trips and trips to the waterfall (there was only one on Christmas Island, and it now has some huge environmental protection because it's a significant formation or something to that effect).

Another memory which amuses me only because it didn't end in tragedy was one time when I was on holiday with my cousins at this water park. I went down a waterslide first and hit the splash zone at the bottom, then waited at the bottom for my younger sister and our same aged cousin to come down so I could swim them to the side (I was standing easily but both of them would have been out of depth, I'm a lot older than them). My sister came down and my cousin came straight after. My sister could swim so I fully expected my cousin to be able to swim as well. They hit the water and started a lot of splashing.

Little did I know that unlike in Australia they don't always do school swimming lessons in Singapore!

After watching the them failing at swimming for a few seconds (which felt like forever to them, anyway our cousin was hanging on to my sister who was trying and failing to swim with a weight), I waded over there, grabbed them both, ripped them above the surface and away from the slide exit, sent my sister swimming the rest of the way to the side (which she did easily as I'd moved closer and she wasn't carrying a weight anymore), looked at my cousin and said "Can't you swim?" Was surprised when she said she couldn't so I towed her to the side. I should find out if she can swim now XD

My sister told me years later that while she'd been drowning she was wondering why I wasn't coming to help and thinking well we didn't get on but I can't have hated her that much could I? XD (we didn't get on til she was about 9) I assured her it was purely my own ignorance and a full expectation t hat both of them could swim that kept me. I have slightly faster reaction times these days XD

No stable voting bots here. I lost the ones that vote for me some months ago as well :( All the votes I have are purely luck. Whatever I gain with my recent posts I don't even get to keep >.< haha! I've been earning almost $0 ever since the start of the year.

I was a quiet one growing up, but I still get that intimidating reputation. Maybe it's just something you can't shake off. To think, I'm usually the friendliest person in a group.

HAHAHA! That's such a funny story! I always enjoy reading your tales here, my friend :) Why did your cousin go to a waterpark if she couldn't swim?? Did she expect the pools to be as deep as puddles? Also haha that must've been traumatic for your sister (even though she won't admit it). Her mind went to that question, that means a lot of things have already raced through her head! That's how sibling rivalries are born for most people haha! I would imagine that you have a faster reaction time now seeing that you have kids to worry about :D

All of us went to the water park, it was a thing to do while we were there XD

I was a know-it-all bratty teenager at the time and fully expected the world to conform to my assumptions about how things worked. The schools here do swimming lessons from pretty early on so we all knew how to swim and I (obviously incorrectly!) assumed that my cousin being the same age as my sister would know how to swim. These days I don't assume anything and if someone looks like they're in serious trouble I save first and ask questions/apologise later XD If it's not serious I'll stand and watch to see if they can get themselves out of it first XP

We don't have a rivalry XD I liked her well enough when she was a baby and a toddler, she hit about 4 and we got on like oil and water til she was 9 and then we were suddenly BFFs.

Haha yeah, I meant for other siblings, that's like the origin story of a rivalry. I went through the same thing with my sister. There was a phase when we were like cats and werwolves.

I'm glad it proved enough of a lesson to make you act first and ask questions later haha! It's not that uncommon to expect that. When I was younger, I thought everyone knew how to swim as well. I was taught at a very young age, so I never knew a time in my life when I didn't know how to swim haha!

Good stuff ! keep it going

Thanks for the encouragement! I hope you enjoyed reading :)

Excellent work dear friend @jedau, thank you very much for the memories of your childhood and the showers with your loved ones, have a beautiful day

Have a wonderful day, my friend! Thanks for stopping by to leave your awesome thoughts :D

Good morning dear friend @jedau, come by and say hello and wish you a good weekend

Hey, my friend! The weekend was alright, I hope you had a nice one as well. Here's to a great week, brother!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59500.17
ETH 2654.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41