FINAL ROUND: Paradise or Gillian's Island? Death no longer an option...

in #writing6 years ago

sea-1804591__480.jpg

I would give you a rundown of round one to three but as awesome as they are there appears to be no need for them. To understand this, I’ll leave it to the curveball king himself as to why this is true.

One by one the survivors woke up from their dream state and started to gather around the campfire @erodedthoughts had built. They each realized that they were also alone, they had imagined that they had survived with a selected group of friends and supplies. They realized that including @erodedthoughts the entire Earths population was only 8 survivors.

WTF @erodedthoughts A.K.A. Dr Who!

We had such a good thing going on there, where all things sci-fi collide. But no you had to let Jesus have a gun and shoot you, leaving you no option but to blow away paradise and leave me husbandless and on Gillian's Island! I mean really no other options out there, a time loop per say? One where non-compliant survivors somehow had personality changes in the process, removing any paranoia leading to homicidal tendencies.

That said, let’s move on to the final round.

From Gilligan's Island which Character are you and WHY?

The Professor
Mr. Howell
Ginger
Mrs. Howell
the Skipper
Mary Ann
Gilligan
or their vessel "The Minnow"


I found this round more challenging than others, mainly due to the fact that I have never seen an episode of Gillian’s island so to choose a character was a challenge in itself. My initial instinct was Ginger, just because I liked that she was redhead. A total assumption because of her name as again, I still hadn’t seen an episode. In all honesty, I still haven’t and won’t prior to writing this as time has run out and here I am.

In saying that, I did research all the characters and weigh up the possibility of choosing ‘Lovely’ Howell but all that scheming even if it was for love, wasn’t me. So actress Ginger Grant it was, I mean what little girl didn’t want to go up into a famous actress? Well probably many of us but that’s not this story.

While I never watched a full episode I did find this winner on YouTube. I quickly realised that Ginger knew how to use what her momma gave her, she was a master of seduction and wasn’t afraid to use it, while sometimes misguided, often for the good of the island.

Story Time - Interesting times ahead...

Waking up from that coma was the worst experience of my life, I had dreamed I had married the man of my dreams and made quite an interesting paradise for myself with brief cameos from random sci-fi/fantasy and cartoon movie characters. To awaken to only eight survivors, all of which had some sort of moderate to extreme personality disorder, was disturbing to say the least.

Panic threatened to push through my carefully constructed barriers as @erodedthoughts told his tale of forewarnings, banishment and re-entry. I was trying to recall the last thing I could remember before waking up. However, distinguishing between reality and what was part of the preceding dream was more difficult than I had expected. Also, his story wasn’t adding up, only eight survivors and they all happened to be within walking distance of a campfire that was created by an outlaw that just crash landed to Earth...

I remembered the refrigerator dropping from the sky with no occupant to be found. I know we all had our assumptions about what happened next but what if none of that occurred, what happened if that was the beginning of this nightmare. Then something else occurred to me, why was I in an evening gown sitting around a campfire? I didn’t have long to ponder this before @erodedthougts asked me a direct question, bringing me out of my thoughts.

Ginger, why are you, you?

This seemed like an odd question coming from anyone let alone a stranger, I looked around the group and everyone seemed deep in thought pondering the same question. The Professor who clearly had been thinking about this question himself asked if I minded him responding first. As I listened to his response, I again felt a sense that this was the dream and that I didn’t belong in it.

fantasy-3197934__480.jpg

The more I focused on the inconsistencies the more things seemed to shift before my eyes, one minute I saw and felt as though I was indeed Ginger Grant from Gilligan’s Island and the next I was in a laboratory. What was most curious was that it looked as though the laboratory walls were playing Gilligan's Island re-runs on a loop.

I started to unhook myself and wriggled free of the cocoon that had been artificially sustaining my life. As I turned I found six other translucent sacks hanging from the ceiling. Within these, everyone looked as though they were sleeping peacefully, but when I took a step closer I could see their bodies were in a constant flux between what I knew them as in the dream versus reality.

These were the other survivors...

I was about to start tearing them all free when something flashed in the corner of my eye, it was the lights on @erodedthoughts stasis pod, he was with them, posing as one of us. I decided to leave them all hoping they would keep him distracted enough so I could explore the rest of the building and maybe find help. Let’s just hope he thinks Ginger is as blank as that shell I left back on the Island.

I slipped out into the corridor, I was horrified to see not one but three more rooms all full of cocoons. Each with a different set of re-runs flooding the walls, there was The Brady Bunch, The Beverly Hillbillies and The Munsters. I hurried to the Brady Bunch laboratory with a hunch that if I was to find my husband @shai-hulud anywhere it would be in there. I found him as I had the others and rushed to pull him free, waking him as quickly as I felt safe.

freedom-1886402__480.jpg

Together we freed the remaining rooms and headed back to Gilligan’s Island laboratory, there was now twenty-one of us and I had faith that as powerful as @erodedthoughts believed he was, together we were stronger. All at once we pulled the remaining six survivors from their cocoons and within a minute @erodedthoughts followed, pulling himself from his pod only to be restrained by one of the other survivors.

You have a lot to answer for @erodedthoughs said Ginger A.K.A. @insideoutlet, instead of looking chastised, he just started laughing, after what seemed an inappropriate amount of time to be laughing at your captors he stopped and said “I should have known Ginger wasn’t as dumb as she looked. Touché for being the only one to break the trance, you must have a strong will. I should have given you more credit and tried to talk to you all as equals. I apologise for my the choices made and will consult you if in doubt on future ventures.”

leprechaun-161943_1280.png

While not completely satisfied with his sarcasm, I felt as though I had got to know this disturbed individual and he never meant any real harm. In fact, he intended the opposite but like many of us felt painted into a corner, and did not consider all the options.

What will become of the last survivors of Earth I do not know, but I do know that we are fighters and I plan not only surviving but thriving!

Challenge to @erodedthoughts

I challenge you to finish your own story based on the ending I have given you above. You have said this was not what you initially had in mind so tell me... What became of the last survivors?

Thanks for reading, all the parts of this Paradise or Death Game are below, it’s been super fun, thanks to @erodedthoughts for the initial prompt and all the challenges thrown along the way.

Power Up and Steem ON!



Want some inspiration or a maybe a laugh, I'm pretty funny I have been told. CHECK out these posts, all brought to you by @insideoutlet!

A family Affair - Perth Team Australia Meet Up!
The Woman Who Moved | Part 6
Third times a charm – This plankton’s giving back!

My hubby is also a great steemian worth a follow, check him out @shai-hulud. Below are some of his:

@Grumpycat Flags: Warning Beware of Imitations
Don't get hooked by a Phishing scam. Actual steps you can take to protect yourself.
Steemit Day One #2: Why lock an Empty House
Welcome to Steemit. Day one: Get ready for the learning curve.

Don't forget to follow us so you don't miss a thing!

Shai & I.jpg

What to know more about @shai-hulud and I Check out these posts: If you like it please consider upvoting a more recent post as this one has now paid out.

Butt naked with 2500 other cruise line passengers! Featured in @qurator & @asapers
Love isn’t always shit free. Featured in @thesteemengine and #themagnificentseven from @catweasel & @enchantedspirit
How I got flipped Inside Out... For REAL! Featured in @thesteemengine

Did YOU know that your upvote needs time to recharge? If not check out this post below, if you like it please consider upvoting a more recent post as this one has now paid out.
Steem & Voting Power, how not to waste it!

asapers 2.png

One last thing! @asapers a new curation team has started a profit-sharing curation post promotion, follow @asapers to check it and more out!

The STEEM Engine

Team Australia Banner - @insideoutlet.png

Upvote follow resteem.png

Team Australia Banner @bearone, @asapers by @shai-hulud, Images are all my own or pixabays 1,23,4.

Round
Puppet Master A.K.A. @erodedthoughts
Puppet A.K.A. @insideoutlet
ROUND 1
Paradise or Death ~ Round 1
Paradise or Death – Why so serious?
ROUND 2
Paradise or Death II ~ Tell Your Story
Paradise or Death - Round TWO - Epic fail to be decided
ROUND 3
Death or Paradise III
Paradise or Death III - Where Sci-Fi Collides
ROUND 4
Death or Paradise Final Round
Your reading it

Sort:  

Very fun read. Thanks for sharing

very good and creative @insideoutlet! I have submitted and will let you know when I know something... I like it and love your creativity!

Thanks, I enjoyed writing the story. It kept developing as I wrote. I was a little chuffed when I finished it. Made myself giggle.

There is always a defiant few among a group of children. You and @shai-hulud have not ruined all my plans yet! I liked your final entry a lot. I was shocked that there was not a scooby-doo room.

I will be doing a write up on all four levels of the game in the winners post. I had to adapt as often as you guys did to not exclude any entries that were submitted. Each set of entries either missed some key elements or cut the story short. This was more about progressing each writer to the next level and not knocking out an entry each round. So it was curve ball city in both directions.

Haha Scooby Doo would have been great, hindsight lol. Shai was like, did you find me in thw brady bunch room lol... hmmmm.... lol.. as for defiant children, that happens when you have so many but i like to believe that these defiant children helped you solve a few. I look forward to reading your final saga. 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58270.16
ETH 2600.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39