Paradise or Death - Round TWO - Epic fail to be decided

in #writing7 years ago

Decisions Decisions, never an easy one to take!

Rehash Round ONE

So anyone who missed out on my awesome decisions that will be the basis for this story please check them out HERE. These will play a big role in Round TWO. In a nutshell, we had to pick a location, people and supplies for the end of days. Might I point out that at this point the limitations put on us were few.

For example: Pick a location anywhere in the galaxy... Tricky Tricky @erodedthoughts

Round TWO Guidelines

Write a story about the first month after the annihilation of man. It's important to note that this happened on 1st Feb 2028, this was an unknown factor in round one.

Additional grenades were thrown in for good measure:

  • All man-made items on earth were vaporized so you will have to make anything you need using just the supplies that you brought that survived.
    Good thing I brought five houses...
  • Zero electronics survived the EMP.
    There goes the replicator, maybe I should have used my additional eight slots...

At this stage I'm thinking that's cool I'm not on earth, if you read Round ONE, you would have seen I had transcended my human body and I had been exploring the galaxy for my paradise as a trans-human with my trans-human husband @shai-hulud and four others, a farmer, an engineer, a doctor and a philosopher as there was also no time frame.

Two problems I see with this is that this occurs a mere 10 years from now, so how far we have developed in the transhumanism area would be questionable and the bigger issue is that there were devastating consequences in choosing to leave Earth.

If you tried to leave earth your ship crashed resulting in 2 passengers dying on impact.

Well, that wasn't cool @erodedthoughts, not only take my replicator, my paradise but my comrades too... Now to the decisions that must be made...

Tell us who died in your group. Why did you pick them?

For me, this may have been an easier task than for those who named there traveling companions, so long as my husband @shai-hulud was with me then I had little concern about the individuality of the companions as they were chosen for their skills. So naturally, sense went out the window with the philosopher. As although s/he will be thoroughly missed in the future years the practicalities of there chosen field can be fulfilled by the other members, myself and shai included, he's pretty pragmatic and a source of unlimited knowledge.

My second choice required solely due to my first choice to bail on planet EARTH was a much more difficult one to make as living somewhere that has just been annihilated would require all three. I'm ASSUMING that given two are dead the rest of us are healthy so it is with great regret that I must inform you we lost our doctor in the crash landing, given we didn't have a chance to replicate his medical kit prior to the EMP taking out all electronic devices we will just have to make do with the First Aid skills acquired prior to the end of the world as we know it...

does anyone else break into song when they hear that line? R.E.M Fans anyone? Come on don't leave me hanging...
It's the end of the world as we know it
It's the end of the world as we know it
It's the end of the world as we know it and I feel fine

What impact has that had on your first month?

Well the first month has not been as rosy as we had hoped already losing not only an entire planet of humans but two of our own party leaving us a little deflated and what's worse is that we didn't even make it off planet Earth! Although take it from me, our Earth wiped clean of man-made items is a sight to be seen and the silence is deafening, especially where the city used to dwell.

We moved on from the cities pretty fast with our dune buggy which happens to run on solar power to where natural resources lay abundant for the knowing to take and utilise. Having both a farmer and an engineer was very handy, both were pivotal in choosing the sites for our homes to be placed along with our remaining supplies, some that will have a future purpose in this place I like to call Paradise, others that just live in the memory of frivolous times.

All in all, we are surviving and getting along well enough, we have food, yes the first week was a bit tough living on Orange Twirls and cow alone, my two abundance foods. However, Lucy our farmer who prefers to be called a horticulturalist although this still only highlights a limited range of the useful knowledge she possesses, soon had us foraging with great success.

Mike our engineer, who was sweet on Lucy prior to our unfortunate landing is also a wonder with his hands. His brain is no small feat either as he astounds me with new inventive things he constantly comes up with to aid our small community and lucky for him Lucy has taken a liking to him so the future is bright indeed. But we are only four weeks in so let's not get too far ahead of ourselves.

To turn into Round Three, and find out when we need to use the genie up my sleeve literally, follow me @insideoutlet and/or @erodedthoughts and checkout #lifesfacade

Want some inspiration? CHECK out these posts, all brought to you by @insideoutlet and #dolphinschool, if you haven't heard of #dolphinschool yet check it out!

Love isn’t always shit free.
How I got flipped Inside Out... For REAL!
5 things I learned from posting daily in 5 minutes!
EXTRA EXTRA! Read me ASAP!
Kenny the koala gets ripped! - a good laugh - only a couple of min's read.
My OFFER to YOU! TWO Months a STEEMIAN! - Great tip in here!

My hubby is also a great steemian worth a follow, check him out @shai-hulud. Below are some of his:

The 7 Secret to Steemit fundraising plus bonus tip - Fck Cancer
FCK Cancer

Don't forget to follow us so you don't miss a thing!

Did YOU know that your upvote needs time to recharge? If not check out this post below, if you like it please consider upvoting a more recent post as this one has now paid out.
Steem & Voting Power, how not to waste it!


asapers 1.png

One last thing! @asapers is new curation team that will be starting profit-sharing post promotion, follow @asapers to find out more as it develops!

The STEEM Engine

Team Australia Banner - @insideoutlet.png

Upvote follow resteem.png

Page Dividers by @odrau, Team Australia Banner @bearone, First Image courtesy of @rubencress, all others from Pixabay

Sort:  

Great entry! It's interesting to see how every person who's participating in this tries a different take of the story, and I love the variety of them.

It is fun to see how we approach the challenges thrown our way.

Well done, this is becoming very entertaining.

Haha that's good cause I was thinking it was just me that cracked myself up. Lamo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by insideoutlet from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59159.44
ETH 2522.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47