The Woman Who Moved | Part 6 (Round-robin Story Collaboration)

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

The Woman Who Moved | Part 6

Women with the power to stop time are the heroes of this story!

I’m co-writing this round-robin style challenge with two friends on Steemit, @mandelsage and @lilyraabe, the only real rule is we are not to consult with each other between rounds, which throws some challenges of its own. Lucky @lilyraabe jumped in to save the day and swapped parts with me. The story should end with @mandeldage in Part 7, but you never know, we haven't been all that good at following the rules... lol... I hope you enjoy it!




Catch up on the first 5 parts first!



Part One by @Mandelsage
Part Two by @Insideoutlet
Part Three by @Lilyraabe
Part Four by @Mandelsage
Part Five by @Lilyraabe.


Although no one could explain why I had aged two years in what seemed like an instant to them, I knew, I had lived those two years in between those moments in time, the first few months scared, bored and depressed before growing adventurous and then getting bored again. That’s when I bumped into the red woman, Ygrid.

Finally I had someone who I could talk to that could possibly explain some of what was happening, but soon after she arrived, she disappeared again leaving an unimaginable scene before me with no way to rectify it, or so I thought. Ygrid had another option which started to shed some light on the purpose to this whole adventure. You see Ygrid had the option to take someone’s time, to weave in and out of moments in time and take time from individuals as she deemed necessary.

A responsibility I was only just starting to grasp the enormity of soon after making that first decision to take that man’s time. Ygrid was waiting for me outside looking impatient, as soon as I exited the house she walked off not even looking back to see if I was following her. I was of course as I hadn’t seen another breathing soul in months, I had so many questions I didn’t know where to start and every time I went to speak I seemed lost for words.

We walked in silence for what felt like hours but given the sun never moved it was always hard to tell just how much time had passed, I tended to follow my stomach and right now it was telling me I was hungry, so imagine my surprise when I walked straight into Ygrid, who had stopped outside a shop I had never seen before, it had an exquisitely carved set of doors that took up the whole shop front.

The closer I looked the more captivated I became, there was movement, as I went to touch it, it changed to a solid and Ygrid was at my side shaking her head. She pressed her palm to a cog and the door swung open to reveal a humble abode set up for one. Ygrid laid out some food and set about making a pot of tea, it was only when the kettle boiled that I realised time no longer stood still.

In my excitement I jumped up from my chair and burst out the door only to find everything silent and still frozen in time. When I turned back to face the shop, it no longer existed. I was left standing in the street to wonder if I had finally lost the plot and imagined everything.

Want to know the rest now? Check the first five episodes below!


@Mandelsage - Part One.
@Insideoutlet - Part Two.
@Lilyraabe - Part Three.
@Mandelsage - Part Four.
@Lilyraabe - Part Five



Want to WIN or some inspiration or a maybe a laugh, I'm pretty funny I have been told. CHECK out these posts, all brought to you by @insideoutlet!

Third times a charm – This plankton’s giving back!
Paradise or Death III - Where Sci-Fi Collides
Can't Adult Contest #2 Win and Learn: What's your Steemit No.?
"The Woman Who Moved" - Story Writing Collaboration - Part 2

My hubby is also a great steemian worth a follow, check him out @shai-hulud. Below are some of his:

Steemit Day One #2: Why lock an Empty House
Welcome to Steemit. Day one: Get ready for the learning curve.
Myths of Man... Medusa

Don't forget to follow us so you don't miss a thing!

Shai & I.jpg

What to know more about @shai-hulud and I Check out these posts: If you like it please consider upvoting a more recent post as this one has now paid out.

Butt naked with 2500 other cruise line passengers! Featured in @qurator & @asapers
Love isn’t always shit free. Featured in @thesteemengine and #themagnificentseven from @catweasel & @enchantedspirit
How I got flipped Inside Out... For REAL! Featured in @thesteemengine

Did YOU know that your upvote needs time to recharge? If not check out this post below, if you like it please consider upvoting a more recent post as this one has now paid out.
Steem & Voting Power, how not to waste it!


asapers 1.png

One last thing! @asapers a new curation team has started a profit-sharing curation post promotion, follow @asapers to check it and more out!

The STEEM Engine

Team Australia Banner - @insideoutlet.png

Upvote follow resteem.png

Team Australia Banner @bearone, @asapers by @shai-hulud, Images are all my own or pixabays 1,2.

Sort:  

Oooh, what a way to end the part! ... I'm looking forward to doing the final bit, and I think I've got just the thing we need ^^

Thanks this has been fun 😁. I'm part of a group that's looking at a dungeons and dragons style round robin game. I look forward to reading the final chapter.

It's a good idea to write that summary of what happened so far, (though in-story Fala wrote them herself.)

it was only when the kettle boiled that I realised time no longer stood still.

Fina--

When I turned back to face the shop, it no longer existed. I was left standing in the street to wonder...

--lly... Not agaaaaaaaaaaaaaain!!!


I included this story/post in my Daily Picks, can't wait to see more of it. I don't know if I'm happy or sad that the story is nearing its end.

Nice! And another fun twist at the very end, so interested to see where it goes in summary. One more section, ahhh!!

It has been fun. Thanks heaps for throwing a twist I could follow. It's been great. I think something like this needs to be done again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64