The 7 Secret to Steemit fundraising plus bonus tip - Fck Cancer

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

The 7 Secrets to Steemit fundraising plus bonus tip - Fck Cancer

So you have an important cause that your trying to raise funds for lets face it some times its a real challenge to write a post that will get people's attention and keep it long enough for them to give to the cause so here are some pointers that may be useful.

1 Have a good cause, and explain its importance.

You can easily head over to gofund me and find a crazy stupid causes that don't really deserve a free up-vote let alone any fiat.

So the cause is vital. Mine is raising funds for the Leukaemia Foundation through The Worlds Greatest Shave.

We all know cancer sucks it these days I think nearly everyone at least knows someone that has suffered from cancer however this particular type is the most common childhood cancer.

Funds raised for this particular group are spent in multiple ways, funding research, provision of counselling services, and providing housing for family near the hospital during treatments. Its these kinds of things that make for a valid charity.

https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Pediatric_patients_receiving_chemotherapy.jpg

2 Remind the community giving is free.

Ok so this one is a bit of a no brainer giving an upvote is free and the most a resteem might cost is a little bandwidth and there in no harm in reminding people of this fact, no harm in reminding the community that rather than going to sleep with 100% Vp why not share some of it for a worthy cause.

3 Make it personal.

Why not share with people why your cause is important to you in my case I have a lot of experience with cancer having lost both my Grandparents and my uncle on my mother side and recently learning my father had been diagnosed with prostate cancer and recently had a scare with a lump on my wife's breast.

I have watched the effects of chemo and lived the stress of seeing a loved one struggle through treatments so as you can guess raising funds to help others in that situation is personal for me.

4 What your Giving.

No I'm not suggesting that you brag about making a $2000 donation to the cause if you have the money what I'm talking about is what your giving of yourself or the effort your applying to raise awareness.

As you saw I'm raising funds for Leukaemia through the Worlds Greatest Shave which as you can guess ends with me having my 5 years worth of hair shaved off and I'm pretty sure the image below is an accurate projection.

Additionally all SBD generated by any post of mine with FCK cancer in the title will be donated in this communities name.

5 More than one way to skin a cat.

That one always sounded a little dark but in this sense it mean giving people options in how to give example lets say some one has given their up-vote but feels your cause deserves more, in this case they need to have options to for extra giving.

What I used as my strategy was to provide a link to the traditional FUNDRAISING PAGE

In addition to the old school I also provided an option for people to send me steem or sbd direct making sure to include fck cancer in the meno to ensure that the donation was recorded on the blockchain and its intent could not be in dispute.

6 Share the Goal.

Ever tried to get somewhere with out having a goal? Its pretty hard.

People should know what your working towards set your target and hope they will help you smash it.

In my case I am trying to raise $2500 Aud for my cause pretty smashable right.

7 Keeping them posted and Friendly Competition.

This one is a cheap trick Steem and its platforms are amazing and Facebook sucks.

You have a goal people need to know how its progressing but there is also no harm in creating friendly competitionlet me give you a demonstration.

Bonus : Camouflage.

How the hell do you use camouflage in Fundraising I hear you ask, well I am sure that by now you have realised this post isn't really about giving you secrets of fund raising but is instead a post regarding the fundraising I'm working on right now.

Remember an Up-vote is free, A resteem is just bandwidth.

So press those buttons and give to a worth cause.

Sort:  

I am happy to up vote these beautiful causes. Thank you!

Wish you well in your fundraising quest.

Life would have to be more comfortable without the hair would be my guess, at least in the hot months. Great cause you have hear happy to upvote it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by shai-hulud from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I’m always happy to support charitable causes with an upvote. Maybe @bitrocker2020 will do the same as he’s a supporter of good causes, too.

Thanks for the help.

I really appreciate you tagging someone that might help

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54506.20
ETH 2881.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03