What is love? Let me count the ways @shai-hulud!

in #love6 years ago

What is love?

Today is Valentine's Day, the official day of LOVE!

Another day officially brought to you by Christianity. Something I had no clue about until I decided to expand this post past how many ways my unromantic yet very romantic husband @shai-hulud surprises on days that never start with Valentine's. Don't worry that is still to come for those quirky yet hopeless romantics.

Valentine's Day, also known as The Feast of Saint Valentine or Saint Valentine's Day as history has it is, was so named after a saint Valentinus, who if you can believe everything you read was actually not only sent to prison but executed for performing unsanctioned wedding ceremonies for soldiers. It wasn’t until the 14th century that it became associated with romance and the 18th century before it was connected with gifts, most notably flowers, greeting cards and confectionary.

It is interesting to note that while it does hold a significant cultural and religious, not to mention commercial value to many countries around the world, no country has a public holiday to celebrate it. It’s up to each individual to celebrate or not in their own way.

Yes that is a stick figure declaring love to me with a raging boner, he even signed it so I would know who loved me lol... He does get more romantic I promise lol...

This brings me to my awesome sauce husband @shai-hulud, he is not the romantic type and hates when people buy him gifts, most of all his family and close friends. Weird, I know right?. He will not acknowledge today as something to celebrate and there is a 99% chance Never say never! I will not receive anything different today then I would any other day. But any other day there is a chance I will receive something more than I would today, generally at random and almost never for a particular reason, other than it was there and he thought of me.

He only recently in the last year started to thinking of saving gifts for future events like Christmas & birthdays. My birthday is four days after Christmas so it’s a busy time of year for someone that hates gifts for specific occasions. I think years of combined gifts and forgotten birthdays left me a bit jaded, and I have become a little more demanding in my age about separate gifts not that I expect colossal gifts, it really is the thought that counts.

As a trade-off for him putting in an effort for my birthday, I am to put in very little, none if he got his complete way, for his birthday and Christmas gifts. So he gets what he wants and I get what I want, by doing the opposite of what we would have normally done for each other. It only took a few years of communication to work this out. That and The Five Love Languages, a great book I highly recommend everyone read to help maintain healthy relationships, as the way people feel loved is not always the way you do which can put you at odds, this goes for all relationship types, not just romantic.

Below are just some of the ways I know I am loved and don’t need to rely on the traditional means of flowers and cards. If you are interested in how we met, I can't promise you won't laugh and/or cry check out this post:
Love isn’t always shit free.


This is just one of the many cards he has repurposed for himself, if he has indeed brought a card, it had never had the original sentiment untarnished.
But in all honestly who wants to ROCK someone's boat when they can FLOAT it.


These are examples of his homemade "CARDS", sometimes given for an occasion like the one for an anniversary (left) or just because (below), this one took him hours and he had to repeat the process a number of times before he got it right as one wrong move with the razor and it fell apart.

Awesome Husband is Awesome!

When I came home from an interstate conference he was waiting at the terminal gate with this sign. It was so cute my colleagues were super impressed with him, even if it was written of the side of a box he tore out of the bin on the way out the door.



This is a mural we did together, I love the tree of life, so he surprised me by researching how to project one onto our bedroom wall so we could trace and paint it, and if that wasn't cute enough he then engraved our initials into our tree. The rope in the right top corner is from our hand fasting event, more images can be found HERE

EG 4 PG = Easy Peasy (translation - very cruisy relationship)


Notes to Self

This is one cute note he wrote himself to remind me how beautiful, amazing, sexy and smart I am.

Cute hearts he has made for me out of random things, melting ice above and confetti while he was cleaning up after a NYE event, I came out to pick up rubbish and instead I find most of it gone and the floor swept into a heart.

Grow my own luck - what more could a woman want!

I have a thing for four leave clovers and we have been unable to find one in our local area so the internet to the rescue, so far I haven't had much luck as I killed this lot, but he brought me two boxes just in case that happened so we will wait until its not 40 degrees Celsius outside haha...

Adopregnant

This one still brings a tear to my eye, it took just over a year to get approved for adoption, the next day he presented me with this. We have been waiting just over two years now and have approx. another two to wait. Its like a double elephant pregnancy.

Last but not least the painting he painted (above) is a representation of a short animation (below) he made me back when we were still dating. Talented and loving, what more could a girl want!

That's my amazing hubby @shai-hulud in his most romantic yet unromantic way. He still tells me daily how beautiful and sexy I am even after five years of marriage. I truly hope you're having a amazing day, Valentines or not, no matter where in the world you are! Remember while love like this is possible and it doesn't always happen on Valentine's day, it took me years to find and drying twice to find it, so don’t give up, you will find your match in due course.

I hope I have entertained you, made you laugh and possibly cry. If so an upvote and some engagement would be appreciated, if your VP is low then some engagement will be taken as love.

Happy Valentines Day!

Want some inspiration? CHECK out these posts, all brought to you by @insideoutlet and #dolphinschool, if you haven't heard of #dolphinschool yet check it out!

Paradise or Death - Round TWO
Love isn’t always shit free.
How I got flipped Inside Out... For REAL!
5 things I learned from posting daily in 5 minutes!

My hubby is also a great steemian worth a follow, check him out @shai-hulud. Below are some of his:

The 7 Secret to Steemit fundraising plus bonus tip - Fck Cancer
FCK Cancer

Don't forget to follow us so you don't miss a thing!

Did YOU know that your upvote needs time to recharge? If not check out this post below, if you like it please consider upvoting a more recent post as this one has now paid out.
Steem & Voting Power, how not to waste it!


asapers 1.png

One last thing! @asapers is new curation team that will be starting profit-sharing post promotion, follow @asapers to find out more as it develops!

The STEEM Engine

Why am I on Steemit?

I recently started a blog called Insideout Ostomy Life to raise awareness around chronic illness and ostomy’s, it won WEGO Health’s Rookie of the Year Award in 2017. @insideoutlet gives me opportunity to reach more readers while exploring all aspects of my creativity.

What’s special about steemit?

Steemit is a platform that you can earn cryptocurrency from when you engage with it. One Steem is now worth approx. 4USD, and can be earned easily by:
• Creating original content (articles, blog posts, podcasts, videos, photos)
• Upvote (Like) other people contents. sounds a bit like something I know.
• Comment on other people's posts, etc. Again, I think you may already be doing this.
Sign up now for a free Steemit account, and you too can start exploring for yourself!

Team Australia Banner - @insideoutlet.png

Upvote follow resteem.png

Page Dividers by @odrau, Team Australia Banner @bearone, First Image courtesy of @rubencress, all others from Pixabay
The Five Love Languages By Gary Chapman Source

Sort:  

You guys seem like an awesome couple! ... Congrats to @shai-hulud for being a creative gift-giver... The improvised ones especially, hehe.

That grow-your-own-luck box is so cool! I gotta get me one.

I'm ashamed to admit that after 3 years of marriage and 6 years together, I don't (actually, we don't) do as many cute little things like this for each other as we used to. I think it's high time I get down my love box and take photos of all the things I've saved from my wife, and make a post of it, like this one =) ... Oohh, and I just remembered, I painted her something once too! ...

Watch this space ;)
@mandelsage

I would love to see that, I'm sure she would love to be reminded of all the cute things she did and it may inspire you to do more. 😊💜😁

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by shai-hulud from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 54953.89
ETH 2913.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03