Why I Still Write on Steemit

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

So okay, I didn't do any intro post so I am writing this now. Not that this is one, well maybe it kinda is, but I just feel like it's time to finally do this. I've finally decided to tell you all about why or what I write here. This is so you will know why I post what I post in case anyone's wondering.

Transparency is the word.

Let's start!

1. I write to earn money for a living (for the meantime) without having to leave home to save money.

This is my main reason for being here. Saves me fare money and time to do everything I want at home. This is why I stayed in this site up to now even though I hated it (at first?) only because Curie appreciated some of my quality posts, with SteemSTEM second. (And of course there's sndbox, ocd and the rest of the Philippine curating teams/people that have appreciated my posts + @surpassinggoogle and other big fishes too.) Otherwise I won't be posting anything of quality here at all, I'd rather post it in Bitlanders if I will just earn cents and don't earn much from my quality posts here. It's where I found out about this site thanks to @pinay.

It is the big curators/fishes that mainly keep me from leaving this place, that's the truth. If they weren't here, why would we even post anything on Steemit? :D

image.png

(source)

Here's an edited comment I made on @justtryme90's post on why scientists blog, who's the audience and how can Steemit play a role. Even if I am not a scientist, I try my best to post helpful scientific related posts.

I like to bridge the gap between science blogs and the general audience. Which is why when I write any science related post here on Steemit I try to make it as relatable to the general public as possible and not bore people with too much data and words that are too scientific. I try to make it fun or funny sometimes.

I try my best because I am not a scientist. There are a lot of important things out there that we all need to know and some of them can only be read in science blogs/articles. The general public will not read science blogs unless it is interesting and easy to understand. I only wish I could get that Masters in a science field I'm eyeing but still haven't found a way up to now so maybe I'll keep writing for the meantime. :)

SteemSTEM is great because it encourages people to write about science and bring out the scientist in us that we've forgotten just to share our knowledge (or what we've found out in research) plus we get upvotes for it. It makes Steemit and the posts in here valuable. Some people will not do research and write quality posts about science subjects if not for this curation group. This is why I like SteemSTEM second to Curie, they bring the best articles out of us that can help other people too. :) That for me is a WIN-WIN situation for a lot of people.


No I will not always write about science stuff, only when I feel it is something important for the world to know. Heck I even found myself commenting on a viral Facebook post about avocado. I shared that the seeds can be an ingredient for bioplastics in the hopes that someone big and with enough knowledge or resources will see it and make more bioplastics from lots of wasted avocado seeds. If you don't like the seed as a "superfood" ingredient then might as well turn it into something wonderful like a piece of art or useful like bioplastics. Who would have known I would be doing such if not for the avocado seed and my research/cooking experiment on it?

(Or maybe I should write it in Spanish because Mexico produces the most avocadoes? Like I can write in perfect Spanish. Hahaha I wish.)

Ah thank God I finally I have more time to do more of the things I like.

If you like seeing my quality posts then I hope you'd support my smattering of long/gem posts when you see them otherwise I will post more of whatever else short posts I like here. I also do not have Discord and will not be signing up to it so if you would like to curate my posts and submit it over in Discord channels, feel free to do so and God bless you. :) If you have a Telegram channel though, do let me know and I'll check on it. I'm also on Steem.Chat.

2. I also write to share knowledge/info that are important to me and can or may be important to others too.

Since a lot of us are mostly here for the money (count the red fishes and minnows please, and why was Steemit created again?), it's easier to share information and make others aware of certain issues that needs to be addressed in the world that people wouldn't even be reading if not for Steemit. Yes we are not all here for the money but it is mainly why most of the people are here.

I don't really care about Steemit/world politics, you can deal with that if you want but do not involve me in it or I will rant depending on how you say it and "call me out" on it. If anyone has any issues with me or what I post or do here in Steemit, do discuss it with me directly and privately so we can talk about it properly, in a civilized way. This is the best way to resolve your issues. I'm pretty easy to contact but do not spam. Karma is a b*tch.

Ehem. So far I have written about the following important things:

image.png

• Helping preserve a national heritage, the oldest bamboo organ in the world, which is in Las Piñas, Philippines + Pet control. Here's a review of the repeat gala I went to in Feb.
The Avocado and it's controversial seed
Eating a Penis fish instead of Sea Cucumbers that are going extinct!!! Or what else you could do to save said sea creatures if there's no Penis fish near you and if you don't eat any of the two, lol.
• The latest one I wrote 2 days ago is about a big issue we should all look into: Mental Health and what we can do to get better at it.

Only four posts for now because it all depends on my mood but it will increase of course as long as I have long/quality post supporters. I will write random stuff everyday because I like it. Hahaha. If you'd like to learn a variety of things then upvote and resteem my posts and follow me. :)

As for my first Curied post, well it was more of an entertainment and pop culture post. :)

3. I post my art here to know what reaction I get from my artwork and because I like to show them off too.

What artist doesn't like showing off their work? Showing it off doesn't always mean it can be used for free by other people. We are artists for a reason and our work are meant to be seen and it's always nice when any gets bought or if we get hired/commissioned. We show the world visual things - how we interpret what we all see and feel and experience and let people know our opinion, beliefs, likes etc etc.

Here's one I rarely do, a sweet angel of a little girl. I almost never do sweet stuff art. Cute maybe but not sweet, nope, na ah.

image.png

(From this post)


4. I post random stuff because I am a person with a variety of interests and I like to have fun.

My interests revolve mainly around Art, Fantasy and Sci-fi first, Esoteric and Metaphysics second, Music and Entertainment next.

This doesn't mean I don't like to write about other stuff because I will do so whenever it fancies me. I write some posts that other people need to take with a grain of salt. Heck I can also write psychological or philosophical stuff if I feel like it, like this one about turning the other cheek.

image.png

(source)

I do niche in my art IG acct but I won't do it here. You can do niche, I will do random on Steemit. Thank you very much if you like or love and appreciate what I write and post here.

As for contests, I love cats so the first three contests I held were all pet/animal related. The third one was superhero related. If you post about cats, I will probably upvote it if I like it. You will probably see my comment too. Hmmm... I think I know what posts I will curate.

My most recent contest is not pet/animal related at all. It's just a random Villain artwork related contest for anyone to win some SBD. Hey I like to give away some SBDs because I can do so now. Haha! Plus I did a bit of "experiment" on it. If you want to join before midnight of today, Monday Manila time, then go here.

5. What else? I write because some Steemit contests bring out the right amount of inspiration.

I wouldn't be writing about art, stuff I like, science, shows I watch and all the things I write about if not for Steemit. It even made me write some short fantasy fiction, how about that? It's mostly in Filipino though but still I have made progress in my fantasy fiction writing skills! Booyeah!

image.png

(source)

I have fun writing here sometimes because some of my online friends make it enjoyable to interact and write around here.

This is the Filipino fantasy one, second part of the story. Sorry but the other parts still have not been translated to English.
This one is the one above translated in English.
• This is the very first one I wrote in Filipino, about a gay person looking for his missing bf. Of course it's got a touch of magic in it otherwise I wouldn't have written anything. Haha.
• This one, well it's the first time I combined art with superhero fiction! How'd you like that huh? I used to do comics in my teens but alas I am only good for one shot and short story stuff so I have stopped out of frustration.

The rest of my written work are in a box gathering dust, still unfinished. I mean, I try to finish them but they just won't get finished. Tsk. I think it is meant for something else but that's me getting ahead of myself.

Anyway, that's all for now. Hope you like what you read.

Or maybe I will just go kaput on Steemit one day. Who knows?

You can join @dyinkinfinity's contest with this topic if you'd like to win some SBD too. Or @dragosroua for full upvotes if he likes it.

What about you? Why are you still on Steemit?

XOXO,
@artgirl

Remember, random villain art guessing contest to join here for SBDs.


For my art, writings and other posts, feel free to check my blog page.


IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg

WARNING:
Spam comments will be FLAGGED / DOWNVOTED if it is not revised upon warning.

All rights reserved.
Written by @artgirl for Steemit.
© Art x Stephanie Rue

@artgirl is a freelance artist and also a sales person. Currently an agent for resort-type condo communities in Metro Manila.
For any art or property inquiries, you can chat me up on steem.chat or send me a Facebook message. Link in my bio.


IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg


image.png

my-Bitlanders-banner2.gif



Like it?
Upvote, Follow and Resteem for appreciation.

♥ Thanks! ♥

Sort:  

geez @artgirl I find two common points between us:

  1. Like science-related stuffs
  2. Very random

lol, nice to meet you

Oh hello, that's good to know. :D Welcome to my posts then. :D

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Ibaaaa! May nanalo na hahahhaha

Tlga ba? Asan n ang jacket? Hahahaha.

Teka papadala ko yung jacket at cd hahhahaha kukunin ko pa kay kuya wil

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

yoko na sumali may nanalo na eh.hehe

Luh. 😂😂😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62877.62
ETH 3140.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89