That Challenging Art Style Sketch-turned-Artwork...

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Well well well, look what someone made me do. Lol.

I have an art client who is looking for gangly little girl illustrations for his children's illustrated story. I've done a few samples for him however we can't seem to agree on what the look will be yet.

My art style is usually not the sweet stuff most people... prefer? I mean hey, I can do cute faces and caricatures... and then I also do skulls and temporary tattoos and some semi-dark stuff but sometimes when I am in the mood I can make some cutesy art when I feel like it.

So here's what I sketched or did for ze client, and for myself because oh guess what, it's almost Holy Week! Ah how time flies.

angel p.png



The Process

Initially I just thought I'd draw a sample for him but then it turned into a full blown sketchy artwork. Haha.

Lookit! I started with this one, which I took a pic of then edited by adding some filters and sent it to him.

IMG_20180310_233132.jpg

And then I felt like it lacked something? So I added wings... There you go.

IMG_20180311_014713.jpg

And then I took a pic of it and tried to color it on a computer but heck it was annoying af so I felt like I should watercolor it. I'm like... OMG I haven't used watercolor for more than a decade!

Seriously and I was never a fan of it too and now I'm suddenly wanting to use watercolor. Holy moly.

IMG_20180311_014807.jpg


Wait back up a bit, you missed me doing the sparkly hair. Check out my short vid of it. 😉

Okay so now that you've seen that, let's go back to my process. Actually the client wants watercolored art for his illustrated story so maybe I'm on the right track here. 😂

IMG_20180311_014826.jpg

Oh look, messy paint and such... Thank God for art material sponsors because I do not buy unless I will be doing any big project. It's handy having art gifts. Heehee.

IMG_20180311_051101_20180311051350806.jpg

Anyway, am not going to color it entirely.

IMG_20180311_014853.jpg

After finishing most of the colors by watercolor, I took a pic of it and then returned to my computer.

I did the background earlier before I watercolored so i just added the pic I took onto the background and edited all of that plus colored the skin and fixed the rest of it so it all comes down to this. Voila!

angel p.png

I am actually reminded of Skuld from the anime Ah! My Goddess, although it looks nothing like that character. Guess I should finish that next because for heaven's sake I should finally know the ending of that series! And then I still haven't finished a lot of other anime I used to watch when I was younger.

Oh and this is also my entry to @kommienezuspadt's "Colors" contest.

Hope you enjoyed the "show". 😂

XOXO,


IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg

WARNING:
Spam comments will be FLAGGED / DOWNVOTED if it is not revised upon warning.

All images are mine.

All rights reserved.
Written by @artgirl for Steemit.
© Art x Stephanie Rue

@artgirl is a freelance artist and also a real estate agent for resort-type condo communities in Metro Manila.
For any art or property inquiries, you can chat me up on steem.chat or send me a Facebook message. Link in my bio.

IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg



For more of my latest posts still within the 7 day period since posting this, do check below:










For my art, writings and other posts, feel free to check my blog page.


Like it?
Upvote, Follow and Resteem for appreciation.

♥ Thanks! ♥

Sort:  

Good luck with that! If only I could have a tiny bit of your talent :) Nuff said. Go enjoy watching your animes lol!

Ehehehe. Thank you. 😊

Greetings @artgirl! Your post was chosen at random and was resteemed as part of Shareables' campaign. Enjoy your free resteem!

@Shareables, we resteem anything we find shareable. That means good quality content. Go on express and harness your blogging potential!

By upvoting this notification, you're supporting our campaign in Steemit. For more information about our campaign, click here!

God bless from us @Shareables!

Hurray! Thanks.

You got a 100.00% upvote and resteem from @singing.beauty courtesy of @artgirl. Thank you for using the @singing.beauty UPVOTE and RESTEEM bot.

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @singing.beauty by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting bot's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the bot's SP pool at the end of EACH voting round! That is over 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

Another great post. I love how you put your own style on it in the end. Has the client seen it? What do they think about it? I think it is perfect for a children's book.

Thank you. :)

Yes they saw it already and said it's getting close to what they like. Lol.

this is such a cool post! I love how you walk us all through your creative process with both the artwork and the descriptions!

Have you heard there's an artist's market place coming to Steemit? It's a place where artists of all types can showcase their work to sell or offer their creative services to be paid out in SBD/STEEM. If this is something you want to learn more about check out this post for a brief outline. I think you would be a wonderful addition ! :-D

Thank you! Yeah i saw it on your blog page earlier. I think it's cool there's a lot of marketplaces to post on. I posted on steemgigs.org too. :)

So cute my friend

Thank you! :)

It turned out amazing!
Loved how you showed everything in detail.
I'm also not a fan of watercolors. They don't like me back either!
Goodluck with the client and the color contest! :D

Hehe thank you. 😁

haha! Sometimes what comes to mind isn't what will be the outcome. That's how creative we all can be!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55693.62
ETH 2494.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31