That Harry Potterish Sound of the Oldest Bamboo Organ

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone, last night I went to the 43rd International Bamboo Organ Festival and boy was it a unique experience.

IMG_20180226_035040.jpg

I've been planning to go there since the music festival started on Feb 22 but somehow I always couldn't make it in time. Last night I finally was able to get there, even if I was 30mins late. 😂

Hey I didn't miss much at the beginning because it was mostly singing of the vocal ensemble and opera singers plus the violins and the rest of the musical instruments.

IMG_20180225_203919.jpg

I wondered the whole half hour if that small organ being played in front was THE bamboo organ. 😅 Didn't look like it was so I just sat there patiently watching and waiting.

IMG_20180225_204105.jpg

Let's look at the program again shall we.

bamboo.jpg
(Source)

The repeat program was a 2 hour event. The first hour involved mostly the singers, the second hour was when the Bamboo Organ was played with musical accompaniment and also with and without vocal accompaniment. Oh it was definitely worth the wait. 😁

The first hour, I was wondering why no one was clapping after every piece was performed. Since I was late, I just observed and didn't clap after every performance because who knew if the audience was told to clap only at certain times right? It was my first time to attend such an event and boy was I underdressed too. 😂

The ushers and usherettes were all wearing baro't saya in all their formal and shining glory and there I was in my tshirt and pedal pants. Haha. So sorry to be underdressed but at least there was no issue about it and no discrimination whatsoever. Yay. I wasn't the only one but most of the people who went had dressed for the occasion.

So anyway after the first hour, a ten minute break was given. We were also provided with crispy banana chips and tea as refreshment.

IMG_20180225_210741.jpg

Once the second half of the program began, the clapping started to happen. You could feel the energy and excitement in the audience somehow after each performance. It was the main event after all. The Bamboo Organ is the Star of the Night.

Wanna hear parts of the music played? Here you go!

Doesn't it sound Harry Potterish? The Bamboo Organ is being played at the elevated part in the video. I didn't realize we were inside the parish because it was dark and set up not to look like a place of worship at all! It looked like being inside an enclosed Spanish style old building within the church compound. If you've been to Vigan, Ilocos Sur then you'll know what I mean about the building style.

IMG_20180225_211707.jpg

I can say it was well worth the effort trying to get to the place even if I was late. It's two hours away from where I live in Quezon City if you ride the LRT 1 and 2 + jeepneys.

What do I think about the repeat gala performance? Well, the sopranos and alto singers are amazing. If you listen to classical music like I sometimes do then you would definitely appreciate how powerful their performance was, but only during the second half of the program. Lol. It's like watching Ms. Joanna Ampil in the movie Ang Larawan if you've seen it.

They showcased a powerful performance and I also liked how the bass instrument made it all sound wonderful. Haha. Of course the best part of it was hearing the famed Las Piñas Bamboo Organ.

Sometimes the voices and the violins overpowered the old instrument but I guess that's normal in any concert. I enjoyed the last hour and everyone seemed to enjoy it as well because of all the clapping that happened. 😂

Next time, I will make sure to make it to the Festival Sunday mass so I can hear the bamboo organ in a normal setting.

So what do you think about this?

XOXO,
@artgirl


P. S. As mentioned in a previous post, one can help to preserve this unique musical heritage by becoming a sustaining member or sponsor. Direct bank deposits can still be done to the foundation's local bank acct or thru Give2Asia site if outside the Philippines. The donation/sponsorship will then be used for next year's music festival and the maintenance of this almost 200 year old instrument. Plus you will get free weekly mass intentions every Tuesday. 😇 More details at their website.


IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg

All images are mine except otherwise indicated.

All rights reserved.
Written by @artgirl for Steemit.
© Art x Stephanie Rue



For more of my latest posts still within the 7 day period since posting this, do check below:

Spotlight on Capri Oasis - A Peaceful & Refreshing Resort Condo Community

3 Newbie Tips to Get Rid of That Annoying Bandwidth Limit

World's Oldest Bamboo Organ + Pet Birth Control = Worthy Causes to Donate To

My First Time Working Two Jobs Ever and more! - (MY-NICHE contest entry)

For my art, more Steemit newbie tips and other posts, feel free to check my blog page.

Enjoy!

Like it? Upvote, Follow and Resteem for appreciation. ♥ Thanks! 😊.

Sort:  

Beautiful sound. Sarap pampatulog :) Sa atin kasi hilig natin palakpakan palagi. Kadalasan pag ganyan sa huli ang clapping. There was one musical event I atttended to and the composer didn't like to hear noise. After one certain song may mga nagingay sa audience. Humarap si composer/director sa audience and glared in the direction of the noise. When everyone quieted down, then he resumed. About the formal attire, it's not really required I think but just be decent enough :D

Ayun kaya nag-observe lang muna ako baka mmya bawal clap. Hahaha. Basta nung may nagcclap na ayun clap din ako. 😂

Nung ending haba palakpakan eh.

Ganun pala s mga ganyang concert. Haha. Kawawa nmn ung nag-ingay. Yung katabi ko nga mga matanda nagdadaldalan tas yung isa ingay ng cp nung 2nd half, gusto ko sawayin kung pwede lang.

Ang galing may snacks pang kasama...

Uu sis. Akala ko wla e. Sponsor yun kasi, bignay tea pala yun inumin. Keri lang nmn. 😁

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56