Statue Series - What's The Story: The Sad Statue

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

My husband's relatives have a summer house by the famous Lake Balaton in Zamardi, Hungary, where you can find this one sad statue, literally a sad statue.

1515175600076.jpg

This statue is called Hungarian Pain and was donated to the village of Zamardi in 1930s. What's sad is not just how the statue is posing, a sad pose thinking of a sad era of the Trianon country - on his boat, in stormy weather, a symbol of sorrow, loneliness, desperate struggles, much like Hungary's fate at that era, but also sad due to its message, the statue was many times vandalized so it was stored away until 1956.

A new message was added to this statue in 1991 that says "To The Top of The Top".

Thanks For Looking!



I'm with #teamcanada, #teamaustralia, and alpha syndicate of #thealliance


Previous Statues On This Series

Franz Liszt, Hungary
People's Monument, Indonesia
Maurice Richard, Canada
World's Largest Beaver, Canada
The Fighting Rams, Canada
The Falcon, Canada
The River Man, Canada
Echo, Hungary
Terry Fox, Canada
Joy, Canada
Tenderness, Canada
The Frog Prince, Germany
After Babel, Canada
Nicolaus Copernicus, Canada
Stone Statues, Indonesia
Artic Shores, Canada
Soldier, Canada
Moorside Lion, Canada
Norman Bethune, Canada
Spirit Bear, Canada
The Illuminated Crowd, Canada
Gossip, Canada
Twin Hearts, Canada
Simon Bojothy, Hungary
The King and His Wife, Hungary
John of Nepomuk, Hungary
Saint Joseph, Canada

Sort:  

Seriously who vandalised statues.

Though seriously I don't understand how people can have such an utter dearth of imagination that the only "fun" thing they can think of to do is traipse around breaking stuff and thinking they're so cool for doing so. They must have really pathetic lives. Which ties back in to the poor sad statue XD

goatsig

I wonder too sometimes. Not just on statues, any public arts, or even playgrounds

Where I live, idiots (teens most likely) like to write blowjobs on school walls 😥 so you know, little kids who are just learning to read, would definitely ask. Many times also penises drawing on the slides and whatnot. So stupid

Pusing pala Berbie, kalau seandainya dia bisa ngomong.. Good Morning Mbak..

😁 butuh bodrex kalau pusing 😂

Dah siang disini Bos, terimakasih dah berkunjung

That's interesting. I once took a trip to Paris Texas and they have a miniature Eiffel Tower. Wants even cooler is at a cemetery they have a statue of Jesus in cowboy boots. Love your post keep sharing. Thanks.

Arts are wonderful for sure, although can be weird as well

Jesus in boots sounds interesting to check!

Thanks lady 😊

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=thekitchenfairy
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=statue-series-what-s-the-story-the-sad-statue


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Hi! I liked your post :) It would be nice if you could check out my post about traveling to Norway! :)

Please don't flood comment people blogs with the exact comments of copy paste. That's rude.

I don't flood peoples blogs. I read peoples posts and if I like them I upvote them and leave a comment, and only one.Not asking for upvotes, just letting people know that I exist on here so that they can check my blog since I'm new here. And 99% of the times, people think its fine, and I'm just happy when people upvote my post even if they have commented the same comment on 10 other blogs ;)

I see that you are new here

Good that you read and comment, but don't copy paste exact comments, that is seen rude. There are whales that would flag you big time and that would hurt your reputation, if that happens, you won't be able to make any $ on Steemit

Anyhoo, welcome and good luck on Steemit

Thank you and thanks for the advise, won't do it anymore .

I upvoted you’re content I hope you’re going to checkout my profile that would make my day !!
Keep up the good work.

Engagement is nice, spamming ppl to check your profile with the same comments is really not nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62300.84
ETH 2421.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56