Statue Series - What's The Story: Maurice Richard, The Hockey Player

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

At Jacques-Cartier Park in Gatineau (just before Ottawa), not too far from the Museum of Civilization before you make a left turn to the McKenzie Bridge, there is a big statue of Maurice Richard with his hockey stick. Maurice Richard was a very famous hockey player for the Montreal Canadiens hockey team. He was known as The Rocket.

When I first went to this “monument” of Maurice Richard, my husband mistakenly informed me it was Tim Horton’s statue (Tim Horton is also a very famous Canadian hockey player from Toronto back in the ‘60s; he co-founded the famous chain fast food restaurants of Tim Hortons) but when I searched for information regarding this so-called Tim Horton’s statue I could not find any. Later on when we returned to this monument again, that was when I learned that the statue at this monument called Never Give Up! is actually Maurice Richard’s statue not Tim Horton’s.

Maurice Richard passed away in 2000 and a year later they built the monument and put up the bronze statue at Jacques-Cartier Park. If you go straight down from Maurice Richard’ statue, you will be able to go to the Ottawa River dock (the view is very nice from here, lots of boats, you can sit on the benches while looking through Ottawa, buildings surrounding and McKenzie Bridge from across the Ottawa River).

I like taking pictures of statues and also taking pictures of me along with the statues but unfortunately, I am often embarrassed to take picture along the Maurice Richard’s statue whenever I go there as the statue is right next to the main street (intersection) and plenty cars, cyclist and buses, always passing by or stop at the traffic lights and would just look at me, I would end up looking shy on the camera and as a result, most of the pictures of me next to the statue that my husband took are with closed eyes! Ha-ha.

Thanks For Looking!



I'm with #teamcanada, #teamaustralia, and alpha syndicate of #thealliance


Previous Statues On This Series

Franz Liszt, Hungary

People's Monument, Indonesia

Sort:  

Nice content. Thanks for sharing.

Hey @binkgirl ! How's going? Hope you had a wonderful Christmas with the family 😊

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=thekitchenfairy
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=statue-series-what-s-the-story-maurice-richard-the-hockey-player


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53