Statue Series - What's The Story: Terry Fox

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Terry Fox is my 7 yo son's idol. Whenever it's Terry Fox Day, he would run a lot to fundraise some $ (the school would celebrate Terry Fox Day by having a fundraiser through running/marathon at school), and he would proudly come home sharing his day, of doing his "part" for the Cancer Society.

Terry Fox was a Canadian athlete who run from East to West Canada, with one leg amputated, to raise cancer awareness and money for cancer research. He did it for 143 days and it was called Marathon of Hope.

This statue is located in Ottawa, the capital city of Canada.

Again, as you can see, my dear husband has a great timing in taking picture 😂 or it could be the sun blinding my eyes, or perhaps I was shy of the onlookers 😌 I should start posting eyes wide shut series for all my pictures next, I guess 😂

Thanks For Looking!



I'm with #teamcanada, #teamaustralia, and alpha syndicate of #thealliance


Previous Statues On This Series

Franz Liszt, Hungary

People's Monument, Indonesia

Maurice Richard, Canada

World's Largest Beaver, Canada

The Fighting Rams, Canada

The Falcon, Canada

The River Man, Canada

Echo, Hungary

Sort:  

wow great photos, god gifted talent in photography i must say.. keep it up and keep sharing such fabulous pictures.

You are leaving the exact same comments to other people's blogs. Don't be lazy.

ahhh sorry for that... i will take care of this.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=thekitchenfairy
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=statue-series-what-s-the-story-terry-fox


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Terry Fox was an inspiration. A hero. I remember when he ran through our area on his way to Thunderbay. It is something you don't forget. I was also around for when Rich Hanson rolled through too. Another inspiration and hero. Yes, I am that old.

Love your work! I will be receiving a payout for my post titled "DEAR ASSHOLE:" in under an hour. Upvote it and I'll give you a follow, as well as more upvotes! Thanks!

Stop spamming people with the same comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69266.11
ETH 3871.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72