DEK Photography: Top of the MonasterysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

According to legend, there used to be a small Christian church or monastery on this location during the 7th century. After the Ottomans invaded the region, Selim bay, one of their prominent figures, built his mansion on this location. He was suffering from what was considered an incurable disease.

One night he and his servant were visited by St. George, in their dream. They were told where a spring of miraculous water is located. One the next morning they discovered the spring on the same location, they expected. Upon drinking from this water, Selim bay was cured.

He called for a Christian priest, who baptized him and his family into Christianity. Later he built a small chapel (paraklis), which people could visit and drink from the miraculous water - which can still be found to this day, in the monastery, which was built around the paraklis.

The dome of the St. George male monastery, located in Bulgaria, town of Pomorie.

2017070703.jpg

A new, nearby monument of St. George, slaying a dragon (or as locals call it - "drakon", "zmey", "lamya").

2017070704.jpg


I'm on a quest to obtain the incredible Fujifilm 56mm f/1.2 and the excellent Fujifilm X-T2 camera. This is a duo made in heaven, especially for street photographers, such as myself.

Help me get the gear I want - if you've enjoyed this post, please upvote and resteem, so I can continue posting my work exclusively on Steemit, as I have done so far. You can also vote on any of the following active posts, if you enjoy them (or hit #dek-photography and filter by "new" to see all of my work!)


Sort:  

Nice! I see you a Nikon fan? I honestly use Canon myself but we all have our preferences hey ;)
I really do hope you get the Fujifilm XT-2 - they awesome little cameras :)

I hope so too! I've actually considered Fuji before investing in Nikon, but was short on cash then and decided to get what I can and start shooting. I'm quite impressed by their sensor technology, but mostly their excellent lenses. And I'm sure I'll hate the battery life. I can snap a thousand photos with my Nikon body and the X-T2 and X-T20 can't go pass 300 photos on a single battery charge.

I've always liked the way Canon renders colors, but Nikon's lens selection is huge. They were making lenses way before Canon!

Haha - you might struggle a little with the batter life but the camera will serve you well!!
I can't remember off the top of my head, but does the XT-2 have a leaf shutter? I soooooo want a leaf shutter - amazing what you can do with off camera flash in direct sunlight!!!

Not certain - it does have a standard and an electronic shutter, I believe. I've not played much with flashes. I didn't know the leaf shutter creates interesting effects with sunlight, interesting!

It certainly does!! You can normally no set your shutter speed higher than say 200 or 250 with flash and a regular flash.
With a leaf shutter you can set it to say 1000!! This allows you to block out the sun a lot more!!!
Just doing a quick search online brought this up - gives some examples...
https://fujilove.com/flash-fuji-and-leaf-shutters/

Great, thanks for the link! :)

I prefer natural light but just love what you can do with off camera flash 👍🏻😁

Amazing photography, mind checking mine out?

Of course! Thanks for commenting! :)

Stunning photos, thanks for sharing!

Thank you!

What did you shoot these with?

Hey, there,

I usually use good glass and cheap bodies. This is shot with a Nikon 3300 and their 105mm f/2.8 Macro. Of course, I also edit most of my photos, as I shoot RAW.

amazing place with history :)

Bulgaria is the oldest European country, dating back to at least 681 AD. Most of the artifacts found today date before the Roman empire, when the Thracians lived on this location (some several thousands years BC). It's still unclear whether modern day Bulgarians are ancestors of the Thracians or there is also a strong Slavic influence.

Either way, it is a great country, albeit a horrible state.

p.s. Of course, its history is short compared to India - you live there, right?

Congratulations @dek! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60305.38
ETH 2447.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51