Team Australia new recruits 22/08/18 and my next visit to the US!

in #teamaustralia6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone, I hope you're having a great week. I'm starting to get really excited about my next trip. I'm off to New Orleans next Wednesday for the second international MSP meet-up. A bunch of familiar faces from meet-up 1 will be there including @aggroed, @clayboyn, @crimsonclad, @isaria and @swelker101. We are excited that @discordiant will be joining us this time too. I'm less excited about having to clear US immigration at 10.30pm (urgh!) but I like direct flights and there're only a couple a week from Panama. I'll have to not freak out at being awake way past my bedtime. Plus it will probably be good training for the week since the rest of them are night owls.

Feature photo

Today's feature photo comes from @kieranstone. He's given the middle finger to Melbourne's winter and has headed north to the Gold Coast for a week. If you like this photo of Rye's clean blue water, please upvote it here.

Meet-ups

Adelaide

It's almost that time of the month again when the Mallsballers gather for end-of-month drinks. Usual time and place—The Jade, from 6pm on the 30th. @mattclarke will be bringing some of the 2018 steem silver bullion coins to sell as well.

@o07life tells you everything you need to know about it here.

Want a personalised Team Australia footer?

Both versions of the Team Australia footer are now free for approved members. Please refer to @quochuy's post or @bearone's post for details on how to get them.

The usual community notices

You should follow @mrsquiggle, who is doing a great job recognising Aussie creativity by curating quality content.

Check out the awesome Minnow Support Project (MSP). Details on how to join are here. Come say hi in the #teamaustralia chat room in PAL-Discord. It's fun and you will make new friends.

If you have spare witness votes, you should consider voting for @curie as well as the MSP witnesses, particularly @ausbitbank and @aggroed, who've a done a great job in getting the MSP project off the ground. Current active Aussie witnesses include @ausbitbank, @bobdos, @idikuci [comedyopenmic witness], @jackmiller, @quochuy, @sapphic and @thekitchenfairy.

Check out @anzub, the Australian and New Zealand upvote bot in the Australia-New Zealand Discord server. You need to register to receive upvotes and delegations are welcome. Speak to @jackmiller if you have questions.

Lastly, if you're feeling generous, you can delegate SP to the Team Australia upvote bots @centerlink, @mrsquiggle and/or @anzub (or any other bot you like) using Vessel. You can delegate to any of the MSP bots using this link.
 

Candidate 1

Name and bio

@jay.ell is @vincy's husband and is from Sydney. He's into music and gaming, looking at his blog.

Intro post here.

Fun fact

"One time I planted a sandwich hoping that one day a sandwich tree would grow up."

Lol, that would be awesome. I'm assuming you were a kid when you did this and it wasn't something you did last week? 🤔

Candidate 2

Name and bio

@apshamilton is an Aussie expat living in Tel Aviv, Israel. He's a technology entrepreneur and a lawyer in the technology, corporate and litigation fields.

Intro post here.

Fun Fact

"I live in the centre of Tel Aviv metropolis, but I have a second home in a tiny country town in outback NSW (700km from Sydney). I love the inner city and the outback but hate the suburbs!"

Makes sense. Inner cities are where the action is, and the suburbs are full of people who are really into lawns.

Congratulations everyone, you're now part of Team Australia.
 

 

The rules for joining Team Australia

If you’re not yet a member and want to be, this is what you need to do:

  1. Vote here for our resident steemit witness and our Minister for Welfare @ausbitbank.
  2. Send me your introduction post so I can find out a bit about you. If you’re new to steemit you'll have to write one so use the introduceyourself and teamaustralia tags to help boost your following. Use this handy guide if you don't know what to write.
  3. If it’s not mentioned in your introductory post, tell me which city and country you’re in, cos let's face it, a lot of us live in Australia's fourth largest city—London. You need to have a connection to Australia to join.
  4. Tell me a fun fact about yourself. This can be anything. For example, maybe you have eight kids and three dogs, or you rode your bike across America, or you won the blue ribbon for javelin throwing at sports day back in high school, or Toadie came into the pub you work at one day and you served him a beer, or, maybe you can fit 55 maltesers in your mouth like Ed Sheeran can. It doesn’t matter what it is, I want a fun fact about you! The more fun, the better.
  5. Regularly check the Team Australia and Australia tags and upvote/follow the content you like. You can show your support by following the centerlink curation trail in steemauto. Instructions are here.
  6. Comment below or DM me in PAL-Discord that you want to join.

Once I receive this information I will try my best to write a good introductory paragraph about you for the official Team Australia membership updates. So the better your information is, the better I can make you sound. Where relevant, please use the teamaustralia and australia tags to promote your work. I will try and post weekly updates.
 
 


 
 

 
Gif by @justcallmemyth
Team Australia footer by @bearone
Page divider by @kristyglas

Sort:  

Welcome to msp, ohwait I don't work for you anymore. <3

Welcome new members!

@jay.ell & @vincy!! Come to the Team Australia Christmas Party this year ! It'll be up in the Blue Mountains, and we've got a party house if you need accommodation.

Hey @bearone! I think I tried to leave a comment on one of your planning posts a while back but not sure if you saw them haha.
Is it possible to come to the blue mountains for only the day? Not sure if we can arrange something for my 2 year old, harder with a kid haha..

Posted using Partiko iOS

@vincy yes! I think I remember? Of course you can come up for a day! Party Day will be on Saturday December 15. I'll add you to my party tag list so youre in the loop on the latest updates.

Nice! We definitely should be able to come up on the Saturday

Posted using Partiko iOS

YASSS!!! 👑

awesome. thanks!

Next auction goes live early September.

What do you mean pass your bedtime at 1030pm??

I'm normally in bed by 10.30. And given that's when the flight lands, it will be well after midnight by the time my head actually hits the pillow.

You have such a healthy lifestyle. I struggle to get into bed before 1am most days, just sitting there wasting time on my mobile or pc....

@aggroed has indeed confirmed his flight, just not in a public channel.

I can't wait for this.

Woo! Good to hear. We'll have to hit him up in the NOLA chat for his details.

Welcome to the new steemians!
And thank you @choogirl for the introduction posts, I learn something new every time, about new members and steem events.
Added more witnesses to my vote list, hope to get the banner too : )

Thank you! You can get the banner from the AU/NZ server. Just follow the links in one of the posts if you didn't already join.

Welcome new members!
@jay.ell
@apshamilton

We look forward to seeing your posts in our feed.

Thanks @choogirl. I'm @CollyCoin on Discord. How do I get registered there so I can use the ANZUB?

You're welcome!

@choogirl have you been to New Orleans before? It is so much fun!! Enjoy your trip!

Welcome to the new team members. ☺️

I have not. I'm excited to go there.

Yay! NOLA is great. It smells funny, some parts are super sketchy... but at the same time the architecture, history, food, music, culture are all sooo unique. The place is always a great adventure. 💚💛💜⚜️

I live on the Northern Beaches of Sydney and I would love to be part of team Australia. My introduction is in 3 parts and may ramble a bit. Have a nice trip to the USA and I hope immigration is quick for you.😊

Yes you can join. Please link your intro post here, vote for ausbitbank and give me a fun fact about yourself.

I have done ausbitbank and below is my intro split up into low bandwidth parts. As I am a bit like Sheldon I cant think of many fun facts that I can publish and so I have given my first meeting with a genuine spy.😜

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@frogman18/introducing-frogman
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@frogman18/introducing-frogman-part-the-second
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@frogman18/introducing-frogman-part-the-third

Way back in the 1960's, the cold war period, I was in the NATO forces in Germany. I decided to visit Holland one weekend and went to Nijmegan. After touring the city I went for a drink at a pub and when I ordered my drink in English (everybody in Holland seemed to speak English) a man came up to me and started a conversation. After a while he started asking me about how many people were at the NATO base, what aircraft were there and so on. I guessed he was a spy and let him buy me drinks all evening. He got nothing out of me because I didnt know any of the answers he wanted. When I got back to base I reported him to the military police and they laughed and said he was well known and the worst spy ever.

You're on my list for next week!

Hey mate I don't have enough for an update today. I'll add you to TA follows (so you're legtit in) and give you a proper intro next week or whenever if I get more takers.

You've done @ausbitbank..... Interesting!

Can't wait to see/hear/read all about NOLA! It's going to be super mega amazing!

Welcome dudes! Welcome to the TeamAustralia party... I don't want to sound biased, but it is literally the best party in town.

I think it will be. Shame you can't come cos of stupid work. We could sit in the hot tub and discuss our respective injuries IRL!

Welcome!! :)

Where are the girls, tho????

I am jealous. Always want to go to New Orleans!

I don't know. I don't control who joins steemit, Fairy. Yeah, NOLA is going to be AWESOME! I wish you could come since you're down that way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55258.26
ETH 2459.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19