Introducing Frogman

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

FrogInSuit.jpg
I am a retired married man enjoying a 'sea change' on the East coast of Australia. My wife of 40+ years has called me Frogman for a while, and I have decided to stick with that name as a nom de plume. I have children and grand-children who I see regularly.

A third of my working life was spent in electronics engineering, mainly working in RADAR, and the rest of the time was spent writing computer applications (apps) for the government and large companies. I was never at a help desk and cannot (or will not) answer questions about how office products work, especially MS Office products.

Most of my employers insisted on testing my IQ, perhaps I look stupid or something, and my EQ, which is probably a good thing as I am nearly as bad as 'Sheldon' for social interaction. One lady who tested my IQ said I had the highest score she had tested. I think she must have tested a lot of low achievers as I am not that good. One interesting test was the Myers-Briggs test where I was considered to be an INTJ. INTJ is an abbreviation used in the publications of the Myers–Briggs Type Indicator to refer to one of the 16 psychological types. According to Myers–Briggs the INTJ represents "The Mastermind". To find out how my mind works either google INTJ or click on this link: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/INTJ

Frog-In-Suit icon by Videvo

Sort:  

Hello frogman18! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Welcome aboard

Welcome to the blockchain. You may be interested in my contests with New Zealand, Tahiti, Solomon Islands, and New Caledonia competing in the OFC championship or my new account curation service @votum.

I am moving slowly and cautiously at the moment, but I will keep your contests in mind thank you.

That's a fair way to move, if you are interested in learning more about how your account interacts with the blockchain including voting and posting rewards checkout https://steemworld.org/@frogman18

Congratulations @frogman18! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Welcome to the Steemit Community @frogman18,

You can find your analytics for your steemit account here!


Welcome to Steem @frogman18.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Lol frogman 😁 Warm welcome from me and all steemit community. Nice intro and Happy to meet you Keep on working hard. our support is always with you. Best of luck for future!

Thanks for appreciating my humour and the warm welcome.

Hi @frogman18. Welcome to Steemit!

This article is clear evidence that you do indeed have a high enough I.Q. Very interesting intro. You will do well here as I believe you have much to talk about , one being why your wife calls you frogman 😂😂. Welcome to Steemit. If you have any questions find me on discord. If you don’t know what discord is then you should be answering questions on why the zero at the beginning on my phone number disappears in excel! 😜

I have seen many extensions to Steemit and I havent yet explored any of them, but I will in time.
Try changing the phone number from number to text 😀

Haha it’s a common problem that I get a lot of questions about excel also. Good answer. Discord started out as a place for gamers to conjugate . Now it’s a place for steemians to do the same. They have bots also and there is a bot called Ginabot that no steemians can live without. It’s your personal secretary . Also there is a dustsweeper bot that. If a guy with no steem power upvotes your post with say 0.001 steem. Steem doesn’t pay out until 0.002so dustsweeper will balance the post to 0.002 automatically and you get paid out. There are many groups on it also. Informationwar may be one you like as you like politics . And I learned all about these little methods in @the hive discord. They people in there ensure a nice little starting point for you and show you how to get Ginabot and dustsweeper etc.

Posted using Partiko iOS

As I said in my intro, I dont do help desk, but I decided to accept your challenge. 😜 I am not keen on chat rooms ever since a hairy ass cop posing as an 11 year old girl tried to seduce me. When I feel more comfortable I may have a look.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63721.78
ETH 3503.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54