Introducing Frogman:Part The Third

FrogInSuit.jpg

This is the last of the introduction blogs.

Art

I know nothing about art but I like to look at the pictures in galleries. I do have some of those large very heavy books about various artists, but I cant quote from them and dazzle one with my knowledge. I have ruined a few canvasses with paint myself in my younger days, but my hand tends to tremble too much now. I find that the art that is loved by experts leaves me rather cold, for example 'Blue Poles' by American artist Jackson Pollock does nothing for me at all except being amazed at the price that was paid for it. As an example of what I mean here are three portraits that were entered for the Archibald Prize in Australia in 2017. On the left is the winner as picked by art experts, the centre was chosen by the storemen, the right by the visitors.
Achibald prize.jpg

Museums

Museums are a place of wonder for me. I love to see what was produced by ancient civilisations and look in awe at the enormous sizes of the prehistoric creatures. Even niche museums about things like rocks or whatever have their charm.

Science and Computers

A good science article or news from the computer industry always catches my attention. I hasten to add that I am not a geek, I do not, repeat, do not go to comic book stores, attend Comicon or play computer games.

Entertainment and Literature

My 'trouble and strife' and I do not attend cinemas or theatres for health reasons and our main entertainment is TV and can consist of free-to-air, satellite or DVD. Many of the flag-ship programmes that TV stations like to serve up don't seem to interest us much and the ones we do like come on after our bed-time. I hope the inventor of TV recording was well rewarded. My 'trouble and strife' and son love to watch AFL and NRL football.
Literature that I like includes, spy and action stories, classic science fiction writers like Eric Frank Russel, Murray Leinster, Isaac Asimov and so on.

Hobbies

Except for making a shoot-em-up game that nobody could win at, I stopped programming after I retired. I now enjoy trying to get windows 10 working as fast as possible on computers that have a Windows Vista label attached. In the process of my research I found that low end computers were deliberately cobbled by the manufacturers to restrict their performance, this in some part was driven by Microsoft's licensing agreement for the 'Home' versions. But that's another story.

My main interest is in making videos from peoples holidays, weddings and so on. This can be quite a challenge when one is presented with different formats from different cameras. I have developed a routine now that can automate some of the format changes.

I like to have a rant or whinge every now and again and. after trying several formats over the years, I am giving Steemit a try. I may even do some HTML coding again since Steemit has a HTML editor. I had a brief look at the NSFW area to see what was up and noticed the usual selection of prostitutes and toilet wall humour. At least they are quarantined.

My enthusiasm has nearly run away from me as I almost made each paragraph into a blog. I think I am done with the introduction and now is the time to get down to business.

Thanks for reading and replying.

Sort:  

Nice to see your intro.
Welcome to you friend!

and a follow for you!

Thank you Junaid. That was a nice blog about your city. I reciprocate your follow.👍

Welcome to Steem, @frogman18!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3390 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.20: Utopian + SteemPlus Partnership = Bigger upvotes.

You are welcome to steem

Thank you hopo 👍

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Thank you partiko 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63721.78
ETH 3503.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54