Someday You Will Thank Me for This (Original)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story8 years ago

I know it all seems difficult right now
When you're peeling the soles from your shoes
and plastic covers the windows,
trying to fight the winter.
How the holes in your shirt
match those in your socks,
those in your heart
and in me.
I know.

One day, if you choose to look back, you'll see
that when you were hungry, I was too.
When you shivered, I felt the cold
traveling along my spine
and nesting in my brain,
whispering my fears.
So connected,
I'm with you
always.

Perhaps, someday, you will thank me for this.
For how we made it to tomorrow
even as hunger stole the day.
Though I can't find love for me,
I can see love in you,
clear through hunger
and confusion,
raging bright,
blinding.



All Gifs were sourced from GIPHY.com














Have you started your story yet for the 1st Steemit Story Slam Challenge?!? Check out the details, and get writing!

Sort:  

Beautiful as always - Thank you

Thank you very much for the compliment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64359.49
ETH 2619.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83