Storytelling Mentorship Group 3

in #story-mentor6 years ago (edited)

Introduction Mentorship post
Post 1
Post 2

This is 'our group' Story Mentor tag

I'm not sure where we're going yet. If you're coming along, please put something into the post that explains about the 'group' and why you're using the tag.

I won't upvote unless you mention the group - it's not enough to just use the tag. I've persuaded a few friends to follow my votes so while it's still not a 'whale' vote, it's still a guaranteed something.

I'm serious about helping people and while I'm alone in this right now, hopefully (please) others will step forward to help out with the task I've set myself. Help with upvoting, curating in general, advice and guidance would be appreciated.

I'm also asking (gently) for delegations so I can better upvote the people in the group.

So far, I have:
@praada,
@cecicastor,
@frank1in,
@iamanwaar,
@themanwithnoname,
@rebeccabe,
@mandelsage,
@cheema1,
@mother2chicks and
@cihaddogan

that have written an intro post. To read the post, click their name, I've made each one into their link.

And @twowheeledmonkey still to write one (come on... there's still time to catch up).

Well done! Added by edit Two more added their into yesterday!

@twowheeledmonkey

@brightex

Not bad at all! Eleven people joined up!

I'm following all these people, and if you'd like to help out, even a little, please take a look at the introductions.

I decided there has to be at least a couple of guidelines, so here goes.

Please use the #story-mentor tag first. It helps to find your posts that you've written for this group.

Please follow everyone on this list and try to upvote because that way, we help each other out.

Please understand that by posting your blogs in this tag (group) I'll be giving critique from time to time and because of the nature of Steemit.com, it will be in full view of everyone. Also note, I am never nasty or vicious with advice. I will never 'author-bash' so you're safe there, but if you don't wish to receive advice in public view, please let me know (but I can't give the advice via email or chat).

I suppose, all that's left now is to choose a picture...

But you all also get this:

Well Done!

Let's do this!

Added by edit - another member @giftessiet - let me know when your intro is done and I'll take a look.

Sort:  

As a youngster in school, I was put into the 'top set' in English Literature, mainly at the request of my mother to keep me away from my 'dead head mates' as she liked to refer to them. At the time i hated this, being in a class of predominantly clever girls with the head boy prefect and 2 other clever lads i didn't really know. I was clever myself but was easily side tracked into doing the things we thought (at the time) were cool and rebellious. I was predicted a C in GCSE English Literature even though i was in the top set taking the higher level exam, simply because i was at the lower end of the scale but capable of not failing the higher paper.

It came round the GCSE exam and we were given the task of writing a short horror story in the first exam then the 2nd involved writing a diary account of a nurse looking after the main character in the novel, 'Whose Life Is It Anyway'.

a-school-letter-grade.jpg

I blew this away and came out with a grade A, made my English teacher cry and my year head speechless after giving me a hard time all the way through school. Since then, i haven't really written anything fictional or non-fictional; to be honest i've barely even read a newspaper let alone a book! I went on to architecture where the education was much different to essay writing and reading books.

A few weeks ago I was introduced to steemit by @storminatcup, @michelle.gent son and a very good friend of mine. It soon becomes clear to me that I can use the lost skill of writing to my advantage, but felt a bit rusty and low in confidence about the quality of what i was posting.

Soon I got a big boost from my introduction post found here, https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@praada/hello-steemians-absolute-clueless-imbecile-joining-up-to-share-my-crazy-adventures and shortly after this i joined this #story-mentor group to further and refresh my writing skills through criticisms which i absolutely welcome publicly in order to benefit my future posts!

I've had a lot of fun over the last 3 weeks on Steemit and look forward to many more!

Image taken from Google image search.

That's awesome! Put it in a post and earn some Steem from it!

I misunderstood the first paragraph (not had my coffee yet)

Post copied into my own :)

I am really excited about this idea, I write books and have been inspired by @Michellegent a lot. But a few questions after introducing myself, am I allowed to use the story mentor tag and how do I join the group

Please do! There's no time limit on this.

I'm working my way through the introduction posts and giving a little personal critique (my opinions only) on each one.

I'd welcome everyone in the group to use the story-mentor tag! Please do!

If you want to join, consider yourself joined :) I look forward to seeing your intro post and I'll add it to the list above.

awesome, i'll do the intro right away

What you are offering is your time and that is of most value.
This looks like fun and I cannot thank you enough.
Upvoted and resteemed!

This is a great help to others and mutual assistance idea at the top of the tender and will have a quick and amazing results I will follow them all now and I hope to help each other
Congratulations to all of us

That's right. Lift each other up! :)

Yes it was an excellent way I wished to find someone who would help me but sorry

Your help is invaluable to all of us. This is a chance for beginners to prove themselves.
I thank you for the support that you are giving. As far as possible, I visit the messages of other participants. We all have to help you.
Special thanks for supporting my mystical story about the Holy Father. I take all the materials from real sources.

To hear the speech version of this post click the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

It's great that you've done this, I hate the sound of my own voice... but I hate this one more! LOL

good post @michelle.gent.
Upvote and resteem.

Best idea LIKE IT....! @michelle.gent

Very good. Finally something that can prove as well as the new ones on the steemit can make quality posts :). I will surely participate !! :)

upvote and resteemit done

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68905.09
ETH 3808.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48