Storytelling Mentorship Group # 1 Introductory Post

in #story-mentor6 years ago

A Redheaded Fairy Tale

redhaired girl.jpg

all photos courtesy of Pixaxbay

A chubby little 5-year-old girl, Ceci, with soft ginger curls, sits on the cold stone porch mindlessly playing with her favourite rag doll. She is totally bored. She wants something different but what?

A neighbour boy passes her riding his new bright red scooter. Suddenly he pauses, turns around and stops in front of her.

“Hi. I is Kevin. You wanna come to the park? They gots slides and teeter-totters and other stuffs too.”

“I can’t. My mommy won’t let me.”

“She don’t know if yous comes wifs me.”

“The gate is shut. The latch is way high up and stuck.”

“I can does it! Look how big I is!”

Kevin stretches to his full height and slides the lock open. The old rickety wooden gate squeaks open and Ceci makes a dash for it. She puts her chubby finger to her lips and urgently whispers, “Its gots to be secret. Shhh!”

The two kids slink off in the direction of the park, trying to be as quiet as they can be…

They had almost made it to the park entrance. Ceci could hear the peels of laughter coming from within. She could see the brightly coloured play equipment and the multitude of happy kids swarming it through the picket fence.

She felt it before she knew what was coming. The hard, stinging bite of the leather strap that cut across the back of her bare legs. So hard that it made her knees buckle. She dropped like a rock to the cement sidewalk, skining her knees as she fell. Tears threatened to pour down her chubby cheeks.

Not for long did she linger there, for her mother had her pulled up by her ear. She couldn’t make out what she was saying because her ear was ringing from the cuff she had gotten as she stood up. Her mother had a vice grip hold on her wrist and was marching her in the direction of home, slapping her bare legs with the strap all the way.

As luck would have it, her granddad had shown up for a visit. Thank goodness! He took her in his massive blacksmith arms, wiped her tears with his huge calloused hands and whispered softly in her uninjured ear. All would be right in the safety of her granddad’s arms.

She soon found herself locked in the small backyard along with the ducks and geese. No way to escape. The geese were nasty and pinched her legs and arms. The only safety Ceci had managed to find was on the old rope swing that granddad had put up for her.

She swung and thought, thought and swung. It didn’t seem right. To entertain herself, she began to think of stories that made her happy; of puppy dogs, ponies, gallant knights in shining armour, fairies, rainbows and magical animals. These stories made her smile.

once-upon-a-time.jpg

Soon the family moved out to the country. Ceci found her life had changed and not necessarily for the better. She was given chores and because she was the eldest, the task of caring for younger siblings as well. There was also the very large garden to tend. Not much time for a little girl to daydream of fanciful stories.

Then came the day she could go to school! A time when she could be with other kids and learn new stuff. She could hardly wait until she learned that there would be a very long walk to the new school. 4 km takes a lot of walking especially when you have short legs! If she was lucky, some days she could catch a ride with the neighbours, sometimes her dad or mom would take her, but most days she trudged off by herself until she met up with some other kids halfway to the school.

She wanted to read and write so badly, she could taste it. The classes were too slow. She was disappointed and frustrated at her lack of progress. Her favourite teacher, Mrs. Romani found her crying in the school yard one afternoon and asked her to share her problems. The biggest one was that she wanted to write. She had taught herself to read before starting school, but she desparately needed to know how to write!

Mrs. Romani, a mother herself, took pity on her. She would help Ceci learn to write. So everyday, while the other kids were playing outside at recess, Ceci would be inside diligently learning to write. Now she could put her words on paper! This was progress!

At Christmas, Mrs. Romani gifted Ceci with her first ever journal along with a special unicorn pencil and sharpener. This was a book where she could write whatever she wanted! She had a place to put her stories!

Ceci took the gift home and very carefully hid it in her room. Every evening after chores and dinner, she would go and sequester herself in her room. There in the relative quietness she would write in her journal. This became a life long habit. A time when she could be alone with her thoughts and write to her heart’s content.

Flash forward a few short decades, Ceci is still journaling but she feels she wants to do more. Inside her there is a writer screaming to be let out. She is a story teller. Her children and grandchildren know this.

How will this fairy tale end?

flowers-pansy.png

Sort:  

Oh goodness! I just want to take that little girl and hug her tight!

You dragged me in as a reader and I read with bated breath as she was beaten. To capture a reader in just a few sentences is a rare talent. Well done!

I enjoyed the story (even though I know it's not fiction) and I really want to see how this little girl grows up, develops her story-telling and goes on to raise her own children (and grand children).

Only one thing I would mention for another time - check your spellings and punctuation. Some words are spelled differently, (peels and peals) and some are typos (skining / skinning).

The story was told with such vivid imagery that I could actually see the little girl sitting in class, frustrated because she wanted more!

Well done, I'm so pleased you decided to join us :)

Funny I did not see the typos I was so engrossed, great to know you are on the job. The reason I use the word funny about not seeing typos is when I read something (other than my writing) it seems they are glaring at me.

Thank you, @michelle.gent! Spelling has been a bit of a problem for me. I speak four languages and I get confused with grammar and spelling sometimes. I try to watch it, but every once in a while something escapes my attention. Typos happen with my sticky keys. I need to go over my writing a little more carefully before I post. I am glad you enjoyed the story. I am happy to have joined this group.

Authenticity BOT!
Great job! We found more similar posts, but your post is the 1st one posted.

GrumpyCat / https://steewit.com/@grumpycat
can give you a downvote because of the copies!
Defend yourself! / https://steewit.com/delegation/@erodedthoughts/defend-yourself-against-grumpycat

This is original content. I am the writer. There is no similar content.

I'm sorry
My account was hacked

okay. Apology accepted. I will remove the flag, as long as I don't receive more of these comments.

beautiful writing. Naughty Kevin and Ceci, a bit rough in the beginning of the story:( but all went well at the end.
Teacher Romani was an inspiration.

I enjoyed reading it.
Thanks so much.
Have a lovely day.
xoxo

Thank you for your support. I am glad you enjoyed reading it.

Little Ceci had a rough start.

Hopefully things improved and she smiled more.

Until she sprouted wings and shared her magic with the sky and stars.

With Love.

xox

Things did eventually improve and she did smile. The wings are still wet and she is not able to fly as high as she knows she can go...

What a great story you tell my friend. I know it is true, which makes me sad. I trust in your determination. It will pay off for you in the end. I can feel it.🐓🐓

Thank you for your kind words. Unfortunately, it is true. But that little ginger-haired girl is full of determination and hopefully, she will see the fruits of her labours.

Dear Friend @cecicastor, since the papa pepper camera contest, I have looked long and hard for my old Polaroid digital camera. Well I finally found it. It is perfect. We ran the test on it today and though it won’t have any instructions, it’s pretty self explanatory. It has a cord you use to download photos to the computer. It is yours for the taking if you give me your address I will gladly send it to you.
No problem for me as I have others that I use. It holds about 80 photos then you have to delete the old ones.
Please take it if you can use it as we don’t even have a computer we could plug into any more.

Let me know. [email protected] 🐓🐓

Keep writing Ceci keep writing :)

Thanks for your encouragement, Karen. It means a lot!

More than welcome, looking forward to reading more :)

It's a beautiful story. I admired Ceci for her will to learn but somehow felt bad about the part of the story that she braced the leather strap that landed on her legs. It moved me. It reminds me of how stricter parents are. On the otherhand I'm happy that Ceci found solitude in writing, I'm glad she found a friend and an outlet out of writing. Hope Ceci will inspire more. ;)

Thank you. Ceci will write more in the future. The inner writer is crying to come out into the world.

aww a story Once a upone time, love it sweety :D <3 i can see?feel the excitment about the gift, aww makes me puuurr all over, well done !!!!! we want moooore :D :D <3

More coming soon, my Swedish Friend! How are you? Working too hard?

woohooo Moorning dear <3 :D coffeeee is ready for you :D im soo waiting for next :D your a great writer :D like the convo about getting to the park, i can seee my kids having this convo LOL splendid workY :D
I work to much, stress and so... How are you doing??? Missed ya.. :(

Miss you too, My Swedish Dragon! I am glad that you liked the story. It goes to show kids the world over are much the same. You have a very stressful job and you do work too much. Save some time for you and your friends. :)

I hope it ends with Ceci getting exactly what she wants and being happy. :D

I hope so too. Only time will tell...

let Ceci pour it all out here ;)

Than you for your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88