What Are My Top 3 Movies?

in #steemit6 years ago

I'm a 90s kid

I was born in 1993 to a programmer father and a gardener mom. At that time, my dad's career was on the rise, but we still didn't have much. I still remember the times we only had a black & white TV. It was this big, wooden box with the display made of solid glass. Every time I got sick I would cuddle up and watch cartoons. One day, I wanted to switch the channel, but the TV was placed on a chest of drawers, so I tried to climb up. The next thing I know, there is the TV on the ground and 5 centimetres deep hole in the hard oak parquets. Luckily, nothing happened to me.

tv-2619649_1920.jpg
picture source

Now, even though this was well into the era of coloured TVs and it may come as a surprise to some to you a TV like this was pretty much the standard in the post-communist Czech Republic. Nevertheless, I loved watching cartoons and movies. It only got better when we got coloured TV.

My parents never really wanted for me spend my childhood in front of a screen, so they always limited the time spent, as well as the content I could watch. For example, for religious reasons, they never allowed me to watch Star Wars at home, so I'd always go to my friend's and watch it. You can imagine how Pokémon and many others I simply love fall into this category as well. We've also never had a VHS, so we had to make do with the movies that were on the TV. Still, I made some strong emotional connections to the movies I was allowed to watch, as well as to the ones I wasn't.

To this day, I've seen a lot of movies with genres varying from animated movies for kids all the way to NC-17 rated movies. I'm going to name the TOP 3 here, but I don't think there can even be a #1 movie for me. There are just too many good movies I love.

Before I do this, though, here is a quick rundown of the types of movies I like to watch.

  • Movies inspired by true stories - To me, these movies are usually the most emotive experiences and the feelings I experience watching the movie usually make me remember it for a long time. It just gives the movie so much more oomph when it reads: "inspired by true events".
  • Superhero movies - DC, Marvel, all of it.
  • Animated movies - Pixar, Dreamworks... again, all of it.
  • Comedies, Action, sci-fi... - Anything worthwhile

The one thing I do NOT watch like ever is horror movies.

On with the top 3

Treasure planet

I've seen this movie like a hundred times at least. I've watched it when I had my leg broken and had to lie in bed with a gypsum for 3 months. And then I've watched it some more. And then some more. I guess a part of it is still in me, as I have all these dreams of doing on big adventures like Jimbo did.

The Dark Knight

This is probably my most favourite superhero movie of all times. The presence that Heath Ledger brings to the screen is just astonishing.

Pay it forward

This movie has it all. Romance, drama, regret, heroism, everything really. It just makes me cry time and time again.


So, here you go. These are my top 3 movies of all time. Honestly though, if I were to list all of my favourite movies with their respective score, I think I would grow old at the computer. Let me know what your favourite movies are.


This post has been created as a part of @dragosroua's May 30 Days Writing Challenge.

My previous posts in the challenge

Sort:  

I believe I've seen Treasure Planet but it's been a while so I obviously haven't watched it nearly as much as you. I had an animated movie in my Top 3, too, so we're in sync on that kind of entertainment. There's just so much more that a cartoon movie can do that live action can't.

The Dark Knight will go down as one of, if not THE greatest superhero movies of all time. Virtually anything directed by Christopher Nolan is bound to be great, if not awesome.

I have not seen Pay It Forward, nor did I realize it's been so long since it came out. I can see why you would like it, though. It sounds like it has a great message.

I just don't need to watch a movie that I know going into I'm going to end up crying. :)

If you haven't seen Pay It Forward, then you should definitely consider seeing it, even though you may end up crying. The message is just overwhelmingly well communicated. Even though it's not up to people to save the world from all the bad things, we could still make it a much better place, only if we tried more.

I agree, the world would be a better place if we tried to stop more bad things from happening, and if more people would stop doing bad things. :)

Well, all right then. This sounds like a movie my wife would like to watch, so I'll have to see about doing that.

Considering all the trouble Kevin Spacey's gotten himself into lately, he might appreciate someone watching anything he's done. :)

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76