H20, My Favourite Morning Drink

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

DSC_0532_2.jpg

I must admit when I saw today's topic for @dragosroua's May 30 days writing challenge I was a little disappointed. Not because it would be a bad topic. But because I thought there really is not much to talk about. And there really isn't.

Luckily for me, it just so happens that I've recently been inspired by the stock photography you can find on sites like www.pixabay.com, www.shutterstock.com or www.pexels.com. I've always liked photography. It was just that old way of thinking, that in order to achieve something in your life you must only do one thing that kept me from pursuing my passions.

To answer the question

My favourite liquid to drink in the morning is cold still Water - H20. That's it.

Why?

Even though I love the smell of a freshly brewed coffee in the morning, nothing beats the surge of energy I get from drinking a cold glass of water. It's actually healthy, too.

DSC_0517_2.jpg

In the past, I've made some fairly decent looking photos of people, sunsets, landscape and so on. I've never really done any product or still life photography, though. I must say, I really enjoyed it and it's something I'm planning on doing in the near future. What do you think?

As I was creating this photo set, I've encountered many unexpected obstacles along the way. Who would have thought, right? I wanted the glass to be as clear as possible, but I poured cold water in it initially. As there was a difference in the temperatures between the glass and the air in the room, the outside of the glass got foggy - not what I wanted.

I poured it out and tried using hot water. Guess what? The inside got foggy this time!

At this point, I'm just shaking my head like: "Are you really that dumb?" Eventually, I managed to pour water that had just the right temperature. Anyway, at this point, nobody's really reading this, so I'm just gonna cut it here. I hope you enjoyed my creative moment.

DSC_0539_2.jpg


My previous posts in the challenge

Sort:  

I read the whole thing, including your adventure with water and glass photography. I always have issues with lighting, so I end up outdoors as much as possible. One of these days I might actually learn how to compensate for it, and then practice with it until I get it right. The few times I've tried with the equipment I have, I've ended up with shadows.

Well, honestly, I don't know how you beat a cool, refreshing glass of water with what I guess is mint leaf in it. Does it taste as good as it looks?

The light is alfa and omega of photography. There is no fooling it. If you have a decent camera, it may have what's called RAW mode. It shoots pictures so that later in postproduction you can adjust things like ISO, exposure etc. It really is very useful.

Yes, it's mint. I wanted to add some lemons as well, as it would have made a great addition to the color spectrum but we didn't have any. So I didn't. :D

The mint is homegrown, so it tastes great.

Nice. We've grown mint in our backyard. I live how it smells, especially in the morning. We've also lived in a town that calls itself the mint capital of the world, when it actually grew mint. Nothing better than ending up near the fields where they're cooking the mint up for oil extraction. Best. Smell. Ever.

Ah, lemon. Yeah, that would have been a very nice touch.

And raw mode is great. As far as I know, my iPhone doesn't have it, but my older Olympus DSLR does. I've gotten used to shooting in the RAW setting because of all the things you say you can do with it. When all of the information is there, there's so much more versatility in postproduction.

I didn't even think about the condensation issue and fogging issue from not having the water be room temperature. That's interesting. I learned something today.

From what I've heard, because cold water is a lower temperature than your body, it slows down your metabolism to drink it because the body has to work to heat it up. No sources given, but I've heard that room temperature water works best if you're trying to keep your metabolism up and lose wight. Could be wrong though. I've also heard lemon water helps. And it's tasty. :D

Well, neither did I. :D That's why I wrote about it. Imagine pouring the water for the 3rd time just to have a perfect photo. That's the attention to detail that gets you far. Anyways, this was my first attempt at creating stock photography. I'm hoping to create more interesting pictures in the near future.

Regarding the water temperature - I've briefly searched the web for answers. I've found that there many studies that show completely different things. The general consensus, however, is that warm water helps you digest (this is probably why we eat warm/hot food as well), relieve pain, detoxifies the body and helps relieve nasal congestion. While cold water is a great post-workout drink and helps you burn calories because as you said, your body has to work to heat it up.

I guess I'm going to change my morning routine a little bit by drinking warm water. Who would have thought? The cold shower still remains an integral part, though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85