Would I Still Be Here If There Was No Money To Earn?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Isn't money the reason you started?

Wel, not really. I've already answered the question of how and why did I get on Steemit is in a previous article. I got here because I wanted to share stories and Steemit people seemed like an audience worth creating for. There are genuinely nice people here. People like @glenalbrethsen, @raikuhen or @themanwithnoname and really, the list goes on.

Nevertheless, earning money was, and still is a bonus I'm more than happy to accept. It's not like I've made any significant amounts here, yet. Still, it's better than if I published on let's say, Medium. Also, I put everything I earn into Steem Power and I'm not planning on powering down for a very long time. It's not like I could go and buy an ice-cream with Steem, anyway.

money-2991391_1920.jpg
picture source

Even if the Steem reward pool were to suddenly stop producing rewards, I think I would stay. For a little while, at least. For the people that I've made contact with. I want to leverage the power of social media to share my stories and connect with them. More importantly, have a relationship with people from all around the world.

Now you might think that it's impossible and generally not healthy to have a virtual relationship with someone who lives on the other side of the planet. And you might be right. But let me ask you a question. Do you think that the millions of viewers on YouTube are watching their favourite YouTubers for nothing? It's the great stories they create that make us fall in love with their work and ultimately, take them for our idols.

So no, I don't think it's crazy at all that I have open conversations with people around the world through an online social network. The fact that we can reward each other for meaningful content just incentivizes us to be that much nicer. (Did money just get good?)

What if cryptos fail?

It could certainly happen that, for whatever reason, Bitcoin crashes and nobody wants to buy it anymore. I think that would be a huge blow to the crypto space and others, Steem included, would probably come to a very bitter end. Again, this is not something I would consider to be possible.

At that point, Steem would probably cease to exist because Witnesses would just stop running their nodes. If it still ran, though, but there was no money to earn, it would just be another blogging site. Meh.


This post has been created as a part of @dragosroua's May 30 Days Writing Challenge. Go check it out, it's awesome stuff'

My previous posts in the challenge

Sort:  

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

Still, it's better then if I published on let's say, Medium.
It should be better than instead of better then.

Whoa, nice service there. I use Grammarly but somehow it didn't pick this up.

This particular prompt was interesting in that there's not a whole lot of context for why there's no rewards all of sudden, and so trying to decide whether or not you would stick around would probably be based on the why. That said, there's still more than just the rewards here, if you've been around for a while and trying to meet people. You're bound to run into someone who has something with you in common, even if it's small. That's where it can start.

But that's virtually what every other social media platform does, except Steemit won't sell your data to then turn around and target you with ads. Or so they've said.

I don't know. There's still a lot to the blockchain that could happen that doesn't require Steemit. And if Steemit does get replaced with something else (better version, different app altogether), then we'll have another reason for trying to stick around longer. It's main allure though, are the rewards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63148.13
ETH 3109.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51