How did I get on Steemit? A short story.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I love myself a challenge. So naturally, when I found out about @dragosroua's: "May 30 Days Writing Challenge: Strengthening The Steemit Community" I had to give it a go. Let's see how many blogs can I write.

The topic for today is: How Did You Get On Steemit?

Everyone is welcome to participate. You can find the rules here.

technology-3200401_1920.jpg
picture source

I'd heard about Bitcoin somewhere around the year 2011. At that time, I had a PC with a GeForce GTX280. A successor to the famous GTX 8800. Being an avid gamer and interested in technology overall, I'd briefly thought about mining bitcoin. However, I was still young and did not really possess the skills to do it. Well, I guess that what comes around, goes around. Still, I think I'm better off than one of my today's friends, who had actually mined about 2 Bitcoins and then bought pizza with them. LOL

After recently finding out that Bitcoin is becoming this world phenomenon, I got a massive FOMO and jumped on the train. I got in just before the take off in November and quickly got in some profits. However, being a total dumbass, I'd traded it on a margin and lost most of my initial investment. Bummer.

So I'd got on to Google and wrote something along the lines of: "Bitcoin price forecast".

A plethora of price forecasts had popped up on my screen. I'd browsed the web for a while and stumbled upon Steemit, more specifically @Haejin. I didn't really understand how he was doing it, but many of his forecasts were pretty accurate. It wasn't much later that I had realized that not all things are black & white in the world of Technical Analysis. It is very easy to forecast price movements in a FOMO market. You guessed it, it's UP. Now, I take his forecasts with a grain of salt. Still, the serenity of his voice, combined with the assurance that a crash isn't imminent is mind-numbingly calming.

The one thing to take away here is: Do not margin trade cryptos.

I've also read posts on other topics such as life, personal development or technology. I decided to give it a shot myself. I've had the idea of writing a blog for a while, but I never had the motivation to start a website of my own. When I found out that I could actually earn something here, I was sold. I had joined Steem network on November 30th 2017. I didn't do much here, apart from occasional commenting and reblogging until I decided to start writing about my life.

And so, this is who I am and how I started here.

Sort:  

So, Bitcoin, then Haejin. Interesting. I wonder how many times that story has been repeated, where someone actually looked at the TA and decided to get on Steemit, too. I bet you you're not the only one.

You were one of the first people I met here, so I'm glad you're back at it and giving it a go. And you got here one month before me. I wish I'd done that, too. Oh, well. Life goes on.

And I won't margin trade cryptos. :)

I guess it's pretty common around here. Still, I like to think I'm adding value, rather than just commenting like:"Good post, I follow you, follow me too."

Being here earlier doesn't necessarily give that much of an advantage. At least not for me. It comes down to how much time you can dedicate to being active. So for you, it surely is different.

Oh, I'd say it is different. The more time you can spend, the more opportunities for rewards. It's still incremental growth, though, accelerated somewhat because of the time invested.

I'm sure it would pick up even more if I did some things differently and got more involved. As it is, I want to eventually (as in fairly soon) cut back the hours I'm spending on Steemit, to get back to things like script writing for the comic books I have in mind, finishing up a couple of novels that are not quite done and moving onto other endeavors.

I think the advantage I see from coming in around October-November is the STEEM price was still under or around $1 USD. I came in just as it blew past $6. The money I've invested would have gone a lot farther. Timing may not always be everything, but in this case, it surely would have been. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33