What Are My Top 5 (More Like 3) Witnesses On Steemit And Why Should You Care?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Okay, okay. This is not the exact question that was asked in the challenge, but it's close enough. I feel like the idea wasn't to answer this question correctly, as there really is no correct answer, but rather to spark a discussion about how people feel about Steemit Witnesses in general.

The actual question is this: What Are The Top 5 Most Relevant Witnesses On Steemit? Why?

U5dsxPwmh7CQn8HucKpLwJPWjBmyo3h_1680x8400.png

Initially, I didn't think I would participate in today's challenge. I didn't think had the knowledge required to talk about 5 Witnesses and why are they important. But then I figured that the term 'relevant' is very subjective and so I decided to share my opinions.

The unicorn to be: @utopian-io

This is, and forgive me the buzzword here, by far, the most disruptive service that has been published in the world of open source in decades. Why? If you've never written any code, you probably have no idea why. If you have though, you know that developing a complex application well is no easy task. It also costs money. And I mean a lot of money.

Open source projects exist only thanks to the community developers who use their own free time to create such applications. Moreover, they are almost never paid for it. That is why these applications have a tendency to take a long time to be developed and are prone to bugs.

Getting paid from a reward pool for writing code suddenly becomes very interesting to say the least. It doesn't matter if the Wall Street says that cryptocurrencies are a scam, a Ponzi scheme, or whatever nonsense they can come up with. As long as there is a buyer there will always be a seller. Period. The fact that it is built on the blockchain only strengthens the idea in and of itself.

The host: @dragosroua

Obviously, I had to include our host. But not because of trying to score positive points, no. I'm including you because, after yesterday's post, I feel like I've known you forever. It sounds weird, I know, but I'm slowly discovering that Steemit is the one to blame here. In a good sense, of course. I said it yesterday, so I don't want to repeat myself much, but people here create a sense of community and camaraderie that I couldn't find anywhere else. At least not online. So, if I ever have the chance to meet up with you, or some other fellows from around here, I will be delighted.

The more human than human: @lukestokes.mhth

To me, @Lukestokes is the Man, right after my dad, obviously. Despite the fact that I don't know much about him, he is the kind of guy I aspire to be. A loving husband and father. Also, a great programmer, not that would know, I've yet to read his code, but I would bet on it. There isn't much more to say about this really. Just go ahead and read some of his blogs or listen to his ideas.

That's it? Only three?

Yes, that's it. I couldn't come up with 5 Witnesses, even though I've voted for 15/30. I guess I've just not been around long enough to get acquainted with their work in greater detail.

I was going to add @curie as "The service that is successfully avoiding me" and @jesta as " The honourable mention", but I felt like I knew too little about them.

Some of the other people/projects that are worth mentioning but I have too little knowledge to talk about are: @blockbrothers, @teamsteem, @ausbitbank, @abit, @good-karma

Sort:  

I liked that you were honest in your answer to the question instead of just skipping it!!

Great job!!

Thank you for the recognition!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33