The Horrendous Non-Homogeneousness Of Open Source Development

in #steemit6 years ago

Sh*t takes time

The two most used interfaces to the Steem blockchain are, without a doubt, Steemit.com and Busy.org. They both serve a similar purpose but approach some things differently. The problem is that, with limited funding, and generally not very good team organization, everything takes more time. Due to this, there is no single user interface that would do all the things I need it to do.

computer-3406108_1920.jpg

What is your preffered way of interacting with Steem blockchain?

I don't have a preferred one. It doesn't matter to me in what window I write the post. As long as it saves my draft I'm ok. I once tried writing my posts in Stackedit.io, which proved to be less effective than I would have liked. Let's just say that I lost an hour worth of work. I've also tried eSteem Surfer, but unfortunately, it just didn't bring anything new to the table and was one more interface I would need to learn and use. Because I don't have a favourite, I'm going to list a few reasons why I use each website.

Steemit.com

  • I like to write at night, so having night time mode is very handy
  • Can display and sort all the tags
  • Better Wallet UI

Bus.org

  • On the other hand, busy has a nice way of showing activities and notifications
  • Shortcuts for Markdown
  • Can save multiple drafts, albeit a very limited amount
  • Bookmarks

As you can see, these features are all very important. Well, at least to me. I consider myself a fairly demanding user and when I'm not satisfied, I complain. That's why I'm using both Steemit.com and Busy.org.

What about dMania, dTube, Zappl or others?

As much as I like the fact that all of these applications exist for the sake of competition, I don't necessarily have a use for them. With that being said, I may find a use for dTube in the future.


This post has been created as a part of @dragosroua's May 30 Days Writing Challenge. If you don't know what it's all about, I suggest you go check it out. I've already learned so much thanks to this challenge.

My previous posts in the challenge

Sort:  

From what I've been reading so far, the growing consensus is Steemit and Busy. However, since the challenge is originating on Steemit, and isn't a vlog, image or meme, there's bound to be more people using the long form versions of the STEEM apps. I thought, though, there would be more people experimenting with the others at least. I haven't read that many, though, so maybe just the first few of us are the blogging types.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17