Finding Your Steemit Niche

in #steemit7 years ago

find.jpeg

There are two ways to Steemit.

  1. Fishing. You can write about a bunch of random things in a bunch of random voices and toss it out there into the Steemit world, hoping you get a few bites.

Or

2 . You can find your niche and write in a consistent voice and build a solid foundation of readers.

Writing about a variety of different topics works for some authors. Those tend to have a distinctive voice and their niche is random variety.

But for most writers sticking to one topic is the best way to go.

To find your niche you have to consider several things:

What are your passions?
What can you talk about day after day and not grow bored.
Is there a need?
Is it profitable?

What can you talk about day after day and not grow tired about? You will be spending a lot of time on this subject- writing about it, reading about it, interviewing, etc. You must be passionate about the subject because it does show through- your readers will be able to tell if the energy behind your posts is excited or stagnant.

Is your niche too specific? Say you are an aficionado of the brand of cowboy boots worn by steam train engineers in 1872. You may be the foremost expert in the field and know everything about this subject, but you’re not going to get a big following from this alone, and you will soon run out of ideas for articles. If your niche is too specific, consider branching out by also writing about the famous outlaws who wore these boots, who was buried wearing these, stories of train engineers and the rough jobs and lives they led, and build from there.

If you provide value to your readers and entertain them at the same time, your fan base will grow and with patience and diligence you will see your profits grow. Find a niche you are passionate about, research if there is an audience for it, and start writing. Do not give up- it takes time and patience to grow. Consistency is key.

Writing about your passion allows you to build connections with your readers for longstanding, happy relationships.

Just like with anything, you will get from Steemit exactly what you put in. Quality content and engaging comments will ensure your growth and success.

Steem on my friends!

Images via Creative Commons and Giphy

shaded line.jpeg

I appreciate your support :)

If you feel this post is undervalued, tips are appreciated
arbitrary-kitten bitshares address- 1QBofdLaCckmiHoY1wXg4KF63zzPw7WRd9

More by @ArbitraryKitten you might love :)

animated-cat-image-0182

animated-arrow-image-0314 I'm Creating a Game App, Help!
~
How to Practice Authentic Self Promotion
~
Reactions and Impressions of the Written Exchange
~
Perfection is Holding You Back
~
The 11 Commandments for Relationships
~
Kittens House of Random
~
The Cancer in You Right Now
~
Mondays Blood Moon
~
Tuesdays Orangey Pink Sun
~
Miss Calculate
~
Harbor Days Festival
~
The Day Kitten Went on Strike
~
Steemit whalemobile

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

It has never occurred to me to write about just one thing. It makes sense but how many times can I talk about how much I like butt raping My Little Pony dolls I stole from Goodwill that I taped a "Walking Dead" Negan face onto? You really can't do more than six or seven posts on that before you start repeating yourself. if you have suggestions, I'm all ears.

You see, this is where you would branch out...

Also write about the toyless childhood of the My Little Pony creator, and why they were so important for him to create.

Then: An in depth examination into Negan- Why his Mama turning her back on him that one day after the first day of fifth grade turned him into what he is today...

See, you can have a million little spin offs ;)

you rock

Perhaps, however you rocked my inspiration ;)

Great post! I see a lot of new folk pumping out quick content looking to make a few bucks, when there are so many readers here looking for a fresh niche to explore! It's more fun for everyone involved when we cultivate each others growth through steemit, and truly take the time to say our piece. I love the diversity on this platform, and enjoy finding new people to follow everyday! Interesting name, is any kitten truly arbitrary? As a mother of a kitten myself, I'm enticed by the cat content referenced here and look forward to reading some of your work!

Yeah, I've noticed the same thing. Those that come here looking to make a quick buck tho, will soon find it takes diligence and patience. They eventually mold to the "community" aspect of Steemit, or phase outta here in search of something else, when in all reality what everyone is truly searching for, whether they consciously choose to realize it or not- deep down, is a sense of belonging. Of community.

I have had much success writing about a single topic or those related. As soon as I try to write about something else it tends to not do as well. I think ill be sticking to crypto which seems to be performing well and people love the content.

Lol, your gif crack me up ;D

Good idea- build on what is working!

Lol, thanks ;)

As you know I am a master of random. Write something , disappear, do some work, reappear and then disappear. Good to see you are in hanging in there.

Oh yes, Ned, you are most definitely the Grandmaster of Random :)

It's good to see you!

That is totally me atm, the randomness of what I post. My passion is around animals, but worry about being a boring writer. As I get more posts going, I hope to find what draws me to it most. Right now it is sketching horses, but my ocd won't accept what I draw if something is "off". Drives me nuts I tell ya, lol.

You'll find your niche, I have faith in you :)

Why thank you :-) .Now if I can just get that damned ocd gremlin off my shoulder, lol. Talk about random, I will be posting about my ancestors soon. An uncle found some that go back to 1700's. I just have to edit the photos so they are not so blurry. Am excited to share it.

Oh how cool! I'm excited to see that!

I am new on steemit and today i started following you and there are lots of new things that i learn from you. So thank you so much.

Welcome to the community! I am happy you are here!

Please, if you have any questions I am happy to help :)

Yes. Definitely. Thank you for your lots of support.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ArbitraryKitten from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.28 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Yeah that is definitely one of the biggest dilemmas is whether to be an everything creator and a master of nothing and be focused in a particular area and dominate it. There is something to be said for trying your hands at a few different areas until you find something you like and/or are good at. feeling better?

I think that's a good idea- try out a few things that you are passionate about, find what works for you and roll with it!

Yes, thank you :)

I have been working on this. I am told I'm "voice-driven" and, because of that, my body of work becomes cohesive even if I branch to different topics. I think, ultimately, I do mostly write about the same thing, just from varied angles. Love your voice and blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.03
ETH 3421.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63