How to Practice Authentic Self Promotion

If you put a small value upon yourself, be assured that the world will not raise your price.

I have always been a hard working individual with stellar work ethic. My Grandpa taught me that those qualities are absolute requirements for success, even shadowing intelligence and dedication. Imagine my shock to get out into the world to find unremarkable colleagues moving up the ladder faster than me.

There’s one that stands out in particular.

I was an intern at a publishing firm, in a team of ambitious, smart, go-getters, and one unexceptional gal-Meghan. Her mediocrity shown brightly against the high performing team, but she thought she was a rockstar.

Strangely, all the important higher ups noticed Meghan. Out of all of us, the least achiever was the one singled out.

Hindsight is 20/20. Meghan may have been producing less, but she was in their faces, loud and clearly self promoting. While the rest of us were patiently waiting to be noticed.

I realize now that no one will know you want something unless you ask for it.

Back then I thought that selp promotion looked desperate and sleazy. Back then I believed my work spoke for itself- if I worked hard and produced results, of course they would move me up the ladder.

So I worked and slaved and put in the extras but waited patiently for my turn.

I hoped and waited that the big wigs would notice how deserving I was. But that day never came. I lost opportunities because I did not speak up.

I have since acquired skills for authentic self promotion that are natural and in alignment with the being I am. Whether you have a traditional job or are your own boss, these tips will help advance your career.

winner.jpg

Determine what your fear of self-promotion is masking

Your fear of self-promotion is masking something deeper. It might be a fear of failure, or success, not being good enough, or judgement. You are not fearful of the self promotion in and of itself, you’re worried that if you promote yourself and it doesn’t go well it will prove that your real fear is true.

What is your underlying fear? If you dig deep you will question the real reason and build what you need to overcome and thrive.

Form a Battleplan

I used to feel like I was asking for a lot; that it was supposed to come naturally. That insecure, unsure voice lowered my self confidence.

Now, I form a clear plan for authentic self promotion. This gives me the confidence that my contribution will make an impact, and allows me to easily explain to my client or the powers that be how I will be an asset.

battle.jpg

Make a Difference

Remind yourself that you will be making a difference.

Self-promotion has a shady rep for being egotistical. However, it’s only egotistical if you are focused on what it’ll do for you. Instead, think of how it will help others.

If you move up, land this new job or gig, or are promoted, how will you make a difference to the company, project, or business? Who will be affected for the better?

Focusing on how your hard work will make a difference will take the weight off the focus of you so you feel less egotistical and remind you that what you do helps others- no matter how small the task seems.

Idols are not only for teenagers

Picture how you want to look while promoting yourself. Look for examples of people who promote themselves in ways that fit their personality, and do it with honesty and integrity. Watching videos of your positive role model at work will change your mindset on how to practice authentic self promotion, and boost your own confidence.

Remind yourself no one is paying more attention than you are

In my past, I really thought the bosses were watching every move and noting my accomplishments, counting the days to my promotion.

But I realize that is rarely the case. They have a lot to do- why do you think they need assistants? That’s why it is up to you to remind them of what a rockstar you truly are.

All it takes is getting into the habit of occasionally popping in to their office (or emailing if you work remotely) and saying, “Hey, I just wrapped up the assignment and wanted to let you know we have had spectacular results.” Keep it casual, keep it real, and keep it low key.

Don’t ever be afraid to remind anyone of how valuable you are.

self p.jpg

Images via Unsplash and Pixabay

shaded line.jpeg

I appreciate your support :)

If you feel this post is undervalued, tips are appreciated
arbitrary-kitten bitshares address- 1QBofdLaCckmiHoY1wXg4KF63zzPw7WRd9

More by @ArbitraryKitten you might love :)

animated-cat-image-0182

animated-arrow-image-0314 I'm Creating a Game App, Help!
~
Reactions and Impressions of the Written Exchange
~
Perfection is Holding You Back
~
The 11 Commandments for Relationships
~
Kittens House of Random
~
The Cancer in You Right Now
~
Mondays Blood Moon
~
Tuesdays Orangey Pink Sun
~
Miss Calculate
~
Harbor Days Festival
~
The Day Kitten Went on Strike
~
Steemit whalemobile

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

nice post thank you

You are welcome :)

Currently in a situation where I need to distinguish myself from my coworkers. They are less experienced under-achievers. But they're more established and so far have shown me that they consider me a threat.

My natural MO is like yours was. Work hard, be exceptional, and wait for recognition. Years of expeeience has taught me otherwise. You'd be very lucky to find a boss smart enough to recognize who is and isn't beneficial.

Thanks for this, helped align me with

That truly makes me feel good to know this is going to help you!

Be you, be honest and authentic, and don't be afraid to show them! Be your biggest cheerleader :)

Please let me know how this goes for you! Come back in a few months with a report :)

Still in training. Going to just listen observe and learn until I'm out. Then I've got to work harder than all of them and align myself with the manager faction by listening to them and findibg out how to make their lives easier. Once I've had a moment of truth or two I'm going to tell my superiors I want a promotion to trainer. If I get there, I'll be able to train and lead by example. The managers will notice and the staff will respect me.

I've done it before. I've also failed at it before. But talking to yoy about this helped.

That sounds like a good plan. May I ask what field you're in?

I'm in the restaurant and hospitality industry. A new concept has opened a couple of months ago in a ritzy area. I'm the "rock star" the store manager has brought in to help him bring it up to speed and communicate with directly. My title currently gives me authority over nothing.

I'm in Houston and the standards here are very high. The competition is very high.

Oh, yes, Houston. I know the area well. Well, I know you know what to do. Very stressful, I can imagine, but if it's worth it, rock it!

The whole area is a minefield and it is good that you address it in such a positive fashion. It can be difficult to show our value if we are lost in being needy, if we think success / money is like oxygen.

As the expression has it, 'needy is creepy'.

Being confident of our own value is an important step and then others will judge our worth to them - and that is their business. Just like when the waiter brings the dessert cart round, he/she doesn't take it personally if I don't want dessert.

It's just information.

So in the end it's being grounded in your own value and doing good work that you let others know about.

The rest is not up to us.

ps, how did you make the moving upvote giphy (is it a giphy) - it looks great!

Well said- the waiter does not take it personally if you don't feel like dessert tonight. He just brought it out there, just in case...

I borrowed the gif, Creative Commons :)

thanks for this, I realise now that was the problem in my career. I will pass on to my kids.

You are so welcome Fred.

And, wonderful meeting you :)

Great post, and in the spirit of taking on board what you just said -

I did I really funny post, that will make people smile, and cringe to- go read it ! (it's very true, unfortunately)

enjoy (cringe),
https://steemit.com/blog/@patriotwargamer/la-times-part-3

Lol yes, great story!

Thanks ;)

Thanks for sharing...

Thanks for reading!

I can't agree more. I was there as well. That feeling that self-promotion is something sleazy that you aren't supposed to do while seeing that people who do it advance faster was quite frustrating. I wish I knew earlier, but better later than never :)

I know! And then once you fully realize it you kick yourself!

But absolutely- better late than never :)

And it's a massive kick... :P

My hangup is the fear. I'm terrified that my work won't be "good enough" and by promoting it, all I'm doing is making a fool of myself. I've battled this for years.
It's a ridiculous block, I know, but damn if it isn't powerful!

We are our own worst critic! I know, it's powerful stuff. Most of the time in my career I've felt my work is not good enough. But everyone besides me is happy, and even loves it... It's a ridiculous struggle- but the struggle is real!

Living in LA I get why self promotion gets a bad wrap! But you're absolutely right, no cares how awesome you are till you make them care. @suicidalviral

Yup, you gotta be in their face and make them care ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.34
ETH 3494.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54