The Kitten is on Strike Today

in #life7 years ago (edited)

It's my boys' first day back to school. They've been away for only two hours, but it's felt like many more already!

So my plan was to see them off to school and go back to sleep. Seriously! Yesterday was the two week anniversary of the last time I had good rest- I have not slept more than two to four hours a night in 14 days, and the last three have been absolute hell. I feel like a sick zombie.

So I was going to catch up on my sleep with no alarms or commitments and after waking leisurely I'd linger over breakfast and, with my re~found blast of energy- happily tackle work and chores.

But, I sent the kiddos to their public institute for learning how to be good sheeple, and just knew there was no going back to bed. You know that itchy, restless feeling. I've had the wanderlust for a couple weeks something fierce. I need an exploratory and rejuvenating holiday oh so bad! My current restless yet tired feeling is somewhat like that~ I have a need to do something but what that something is I do not know.

svw.png

I can't work. There is zero motivation or creative mojo in that department. And chores? Oh hell no. I deserve better than that! After the summer I had? This has been the second worst summer of my entire life to be completely honest. After surviving the trauma we were gifted last year, there's still a generous shot of PTSD in the family unit and as the only adult it all falls upon my shoulders. Then my medical conditions, compounded by suffering a great loss while ordered to avoid emotional stress as it compounds my symptoms was the generous icing on the cake of the last couple of months. I am surprised I did not have a nervous breakdown and spend my summer wearing a hug me jacket- a whole other kind of vacation! And being in a new place far from anyone I know, not having family, and having not met anyone local as far as friendships, yea, my stress level is beyond comprehension and measure. Being alone is truly hard. Especially when you're a parent.

So I am boycotting work today. I am on strike against my household chores. I am stubbornly stomping on my obligations and as a rebellious teenager shirking every responsibility today.

Well, at least until 2:30 when my testosterone brimming tribe bursts through the door with the obligatory back to school homework for Mom and stories and energy and loudness.

It's only 9:16 am. I just arrived back from breakfast and purchasing the boys dinner fixings. I do not indulge in much alcohol- the occasional glass of wine (I am Italian after all) with dinner, and I am definitely not a daydrinker, but as I was journeying through the aisles a colorful bottle of infused liquor captured my attention and compelled me to bring it home.

So the Kitten is going to indulge in a lunchtime cocktail of fruity spirit fueled goodness, splurge on a film, and try to allow her soul to wander aimlessly.

The housework will still be there tomorrow.

Cheers and Mojo my friends :)

Peace

Images via Pixabay

shaded line.jpeg

I appreciate your support :)

If you feel this post is undervalued, tips are appreciated
arbitrary-kitten bitshares address- 1QBofdLaCckmiHoY1wXg4KF63zzPw7WRd9

More by @ArbitraryKitten you might love :)

animated-beach-image-0026

animated-arrow-image-0314 I'm Creating a Game App, Help!
~
Perfection is Holding You Back
~
The 11 Commandments for Relationships
~
Kittens House of Random
~
I am Not a Bot
~
Life as a Dating Consultant
~
The Cancer in You Right Now
~
Mondays Blood Moon
~
Tuesdays Orangey Pink Sun
~
Grow Your Blog and Track Your Steemit Success
~
Miss Calculate
~
Harbor Days Festival
~
2000 Followers Milestone and why I love my Steemit Tribe
~
Steemit whalemobile

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

Nice. Got a pressure after read your post

hope you get some well deserved sleeps!

Thanks! I don't even know how I am functioning right now! lol

all power to you that you actually are, gotta get some power naps in! :)

Right?!

Thanks hun <3

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ArbitraryKitten from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

We all deserve to go on strike once in awhile. This is a lesson my wife could surely learn from. Take a day off and just melt into the couch or something. Let it all go for a time. The kids will steemroll you shortly anyway.
#steemparents

I think you have made the right choice after the past two weeks you have had you deserve to go on strike and just do what ever takes your fancy for the short period of freedom you have

Have a great day

Thank you Jay!

You are totally right- I deserve it :)

I know days like those when u just feel bored and don't wanna do anything. Try getting to bed earlier than usual tonight to catch up on the Zzzzzz's. Hopefully tomorrow your energy will be back :)

I have just graduated 8th grade last year, and tomorrow im going to highschool. Im going to be incarcerated :)

Not far from the truth...!

Your boys sound wonderful .. they are your rock in a way as you know you seem like a great Mother. Hang in there and yes when your energy is down relax.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61358.50
ETH 3378.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52