The 11 Commandments for Relationships

in #love7 years ago (edited)

There’s a typo you say? Supposed to be 10 Commandments?

You read it right- Eleven commandments that are written in stone. These 11 Commandments are my personal wants and needs, however I believe they are stellar rules to follow in order for any relationship to be healthy.

So here are the 11 steadfast Commandments. I know what I want. And I am most definitely worth it ;)

You Shall Not

1~ Lie or Omit. Not even to spare feelings.
2~ Harm. Physically or emotionally.
3~ Make excuses for bad behavior.
4~ Cheat. Even with so much as a look.
5~ Punish me for her. I am not your past failures. Do not serve me punishment for what others have done.

You Shall
6~ Hold me. Touch me. Embrace me. At every opportunity.
7~ Consult me when making big decisions.
8~ Be my best friend. My confidant. My kindred.
9~ Communicate. Openly and freely.
10~ Do your best. Not just good enough.
11~ Be kind and considerate. Always.

Do you have a commandment that’s not on the list? Share in the comments!

Images via Creative Commons

shaded line.jpeg

I appreciate your support :)

If you feel this post is undervalued, tips are appreciated
arbitrary-kitten bitshares address- 1QBofdLaCckmiHoY1wXg4KF63zzPw7WRd9

More by @ArbitraryKitten you might love :)

animated-school-image-0033

animated-arrow-image-0314 I'm Creating a Game App, Help!
~
Perfection is Holding You Back
~
I Buy Houses- funny!
~
I am Not a Bot
~
Life as a Dating Consultant
~
The Cancer in You Right Now
~
The Disturbers of Happiness
~
Mondays Blood Moon
~
Tuesdays Orangey Pink Sun
~
Grow Your Blog and Track Your Steemit Success
~
Miss Calculate
~
Harbor Days Festival
~
2000 Followers Milestone and why I love my Steemit Tribe
~
Steemit whalemobile

upvote resteem follow.gif

Sort:  

You left out; keep our relationship to ourselves since its nobody's business but ours.

Yes, to an extent. I believe each can go to their bestie for an alternate view. Sometimes it's difficult for us to clearly see the whole picture because we are standing to close to it- we are too emotionally involved.

It is too complicated but we always in it.

I would like to add REWARD YOURSELF aswell, because I feel Rewarding onself is the is the best way to make yourself happy.

Good one. And very true. Having your own interests and hobbies apart from your One is healthy- and gives you two something to talk about when you reunite each night.

Yup absolutely correct, you should have take your time off to do which makes your mind healthy :)

@arbitrarykitten, I would add:

You shall develop healthy relationships with other people. Let me be your first line of defense, but I don't have to be your only line of defense.

What I mean is that your significant other should be the first person you run to when their are problems and difficulties, but we all should still be developing healthy relationships with other people so that all of our burdens do not fall just on one person (no matter how much we love him or her).

Very well said. I absolutely believe this, too!

I guess number 5 says it pretty well... perhaps one of my strongest requirements was always If you can't separate me from your ex, I'm just not interested.

Number 9 is huge. Especially to include the words "clearly" and "unambiguously." Walking away and leaving me to "guess" what upset you because I'm magically "supposed to know" where your invisible landmines from prior relationships are... sorry, that's not "communication."

Wonderfully put.

That goes back to what I posted yesterday- just TALK to me, already! Right?!

One of my must-haves in any relationship is support for my ambitions. Don't make it difficult for me to be a writer, to be an activist, to be a good mom and friend and citizen. There is no person I will choose over those ambitions--if it's easier to accomplish those things alone than it is to be with you, well then peace out. :)

Right. Support is a HUGE one too. And I don't care if it's support for something that seems trivial or ridiculous to you, if I care about it- it's important to me for a reason.

Just like you're important to me for a reason.

I like the list. I think communication in any relationship. In my opinion communication is paramount for a successful relationship. Your DO NOT list seems a tad bit harsh haha, but I get where you're coming from

Lol!

Thank you ;)

Nice share. I follow You.God less You.
Just Info, maybe You or other user need. pleas resteem:
https://steemit.com/healthy/@keybelle/colon-cancer-can-be-cured-with-soursop-leaf-university-of-indonesia

Thank you @keybelle :)

Appreciate the share!

I totally agree except for number 4.
You can look just don't touch, Women are so beautiful to not look would be wrong! 😘

Looking is one thing~ What you do with that look is another...

Haha, Lord Percy can be trusted 😉

Oh I know, thou ist a well brought up gentleman :)

Nice tips! I try to do it in my relationships, but sometimes show kindness is difficult D:

We each have things we have to work on :) True growth is realizing this, then proceeding to cure what we're lacking...

YES :) Thanks for the knowledge, I love this phrase

You're welcome, and thank you :). I'm happy I do some good here :)

I struggle with the "shall not lie by omission." I am planning a surprise for my husband. As it is a surprise I'm not telling him about it, but I don't think that's the wrong thing to do.

That's different, imho. Omissions of the negative sort, those are the ones that eat away at the relationship

That's where I'm at too. I just think it's important to make that distinction

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64411.29
ETH 3516.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55