[ENG] My steemit pearls week 14 ⚪

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

This week I really took some time to explore the ocean...

... and found five precious pearls, I want to share with you. The best posts I came across in my week here on Steemit.

I do this because I am still a minnow and regard it disadvantageous to resteem a lot in this state but still want to support the global Steemit community. Also my voting power is low.

If you want to be mentioned in one of my upcoming posts, I recommend commenting so I can become aware of you and your blog!

Dive for my last 5 pearls here. Splash!

The posts of this series are always in English, but I consider English steemit posts as well as German ones.

Let's start!

@Remotehorst, who is really named Daniel, joined Steemit a month ago and wrote a rather long article called In 7 Tagen schuf Gott die Steemit Einnahmen..., that got quiete some response by fellow and more experienced Steemians. He is wondering if Steemit might be nothing but a well camouflaged Ponzi scheme and asks the community to help him in figuring out some details about Steemit he finds strange.

His thoughts are rather skeptical, since one is only able to earn within a seven day range and because of the flag system that could be used to censor certain posts. Furthermore he is wondering where all the money, the technical costs of the site and the payouts are coming from and how the person paying them may profit by Steemit.

It’s especially the system behind Steemit beeing so intransparent and complex that makes him wonder, if it is just a Ponzi scheme. He also depicts some Steemit posts explaining the Steemit system, that keep him sceptical.
View Post

@crokkon caught my attention by his articles about busy.org, since then I am following his blog. He is interested in crypto currency related topics and apart from that in programming, online privacy and hardware tinkering. See his introduction post here.

His latest article that caught my attention is about hidden Steemit post/comment listing options. We all know that there are actually only four listing options that allow us to sort steemit content in order to dive in: Trending, New, Hot and Promoted. But @crokkon found out, that there are more:

  • Most voted posts,
  • posts with the highest number of replies,
  • posts with the highest potential payout,
  • comments with the highest potential payout,
  • posts that will be payed out shortly and
  • posts that were recently updated or received a comment.

  • As a German Steemian I find the 4th option in combination with the tag deutsch interesting to find out about and learn from the most successful German steemians. Please visit the post by @crokkon to learn how to use these non-standard views.
    View Post

    In Das dunkle digitale Zeitalter – Ein Appell an die Vernunft @gammastern discusses what a dark age of humanity actually is and that besides the loss of human life it is also connected with the loss of precious documents and knowledge.

    He points out that in the middle age it has been mostly clergymen that cared for the descent of information. We only know the world through their eyes and therefore have to set straight their information. @gammastern pities the loss of the works of American high crops that goes on the clergymen’s account. In the same context he emphasizes the worth of the philosophers and mathematicians of ancient old Europe. But he also indicates that it was merely the Islamic states that preserved this cultural heritage, not the clergymen.

    He poses the question if it wasn’t better to stop hating on each other as mankind and if it’s may time to preserve the cultural heritage of those regions being in a kind of dark age right now. @gammastern implies that one might say that compared to our ancestors we are living in prospering times, but since we are living in an almost fully digitalized world, we have nothing real or manifest to leave behind as our cultural heritage.

    When our ancestors will find our digital remains they will might not be able to decipher them and might consider our age the same way we consider the medieval age: a cultural lost or dark age. He points out, that we are surely able to preserve everything we are doing on the internet and communities like Facebook. But since we are living in unstable times, we can not be too sure, that all of our information will always be available for others. Our digital knowledge is probably not made for eternity, he states.
    View Post

    I found the post of @phenzzy Addition of Save as Pdf, History and Account features in NewsCatchr when I scrolled though all the posts I upvoted and commented last week via https://steemd.com. I did not upvote it manually, but by my deligation to minnowbooster.

    In his post he introduces NewsCatchr as an open source application for Android. NewsCatchr updates its users with news depending on the feeds and tags they select.
    @phenzzy also made some proposes for improvement such as

  • account features,
  • an option for saving news as PDF and a
  • history page with recently viewed news or bookmarks.
  • View Post

    ⚪ In The Unassisted Birth of my Daughter: Exactly 1 year ago Aishlinn’s (@trucklife-family) writes about the days before her lying-in with her last child and also wonderfully portrays how she prepared for it, how she got in touch with her baby and the way her family supported her during labour.

    Aishlinn lives in Spain and is on board of Steemit since October 2017. She often writes under the eco train tag: #ecotrain for @ecotrain and did already answer such interesting questions like: What is matriarchy?.

    I just found her post this morning. It is honestly one of the best posts I read here on Steemit. I am deeply into topics concerning motherhood myself and into the true meaning of matriarchy and therefore I had to share this pearl with you.

    Sure, giving birth is a delicate subject and one might wonders why I become so enthusiastic about it. It has much to do with my recent researches. But this is no place to discuss them. This is about Aishlinn’s (@trucklife-family) post. You should also check out its nice paintings!
    View post

    My last Steemit pearls 2018

    week 12, 13


    Recent posts:

    [DE - ENG] Korsika-Impressionen // Corse impressions
    [DE] Die Veggie-Meldung der Woche: KW 14 🌱 💡
    [DE] Konstruktivismus, 5/7, Populäre Einwände
    [DE] Konstruktivismus, 4/7, Ontologische Systematisierung
    [DE] Was ich von den drei Fragezeichen über Steemit gelernt habe.


    Icon made by https://www.flaticon.com/authors/freepik from https://www.flaticon.com


    { | | | }

    08.04.2018 UTC + 1

    Sort:  

    Here is another great post by @davemccoy about the question if steemit is a social network or a bot gaming system. He also suggests two different ways witnesses and whales may improve steemit: by supporting minnows and by supporting communities that engage and contribute in steemit.

    Steemit: A Social Platform Or A Bot Gaming System?

    Thank you very much for recommending my post! That is very nice of you and I'm honored @antikesdenken! :)

    You're welcome! Wouldn't have recommended your post if I hadn't thought that your message was important.

    thank you so much @antikesdenken for including me in your 5 pearls, I really appreciate it, it's really nice connecting with you on here xx

    Always welcome :)

    This is a very good and generous initiative. I am also not that much into resteeming (save it for special announcements or weekend boosts - funny thing that goes on after I resteem...). I was wondering how your editing service is doing? Much call for it? I think there could be many more such services started up on Steemit (homework help, teaching maths, designing lesson plans, photograph on demand, composing weekly shopping lists; I don't know, let's get creative for that pittance of a steemdollar!)

    Thank you for your question and your ideas. I am not so much into spreading details about the success of my service in the comments, since I consider it a business aswell. I am still accepting orders (only German content please) though.

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.16
    TRX 0.15
    JST 0.028
    BTC 55117.74
    ETH 2310.18
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.31