The Unassisted Birth of my Daughter: Exactly 1 year ago

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

birth.png

You sleep soundly beside me as I write this post. You who have brought so much love into my life, so much laughter and happiness. How can I ever imagine my world without you. Before you joined us, I did not even realize we were missing anything in our lives. But then you come along and You make our family complete.

One year ago today my day started as any other, you were still in my belly, so snug in my womb. I had your sisters to see to, breakfast to make. Dogs and cats to feed, the normal routine of the day. It was warm, as is the norm in the south of Spain and I spend most of my day outside, walking amongst the orange trees smelling the beautiful Orange Blossom. In the weeks leading up to this day you had the hiccups and oh how I loved that sensation. You were so active inside, such a little ninja, my little warrior I would call you.


We recently got a caravan and it was parked right next to a orange tree and an olive tree. I had decided that the caravan would be used as a birthing space if you were to be born in the middle of the night. I remember going into the caravan, that day. I had been using it as a space to relax in and to connect with you .The inside was painted orange and red, with one wall covered in brown paper that was stained a dark orange. I had an altar set up with all my treasures, things that I have carried with me from my travels and so many beautiful things that your sisters have collected for me.

Your younger sister drew a picture of you and your placenta. I remember her giving me this picture and I was so proud of her.

By lunch time that day, I knew that you were on your way. Every now and again I would get a slight pain in my back, I would circle my hips and go back on my way. Take the dogs for a walk to my favourite spot near by and do a few stretches in the sun all the while looking at the mountains in front of me and feeling so excited that I would get to meet you soon. The day progressed and with it my daily life.I told your sisters that I thought that you would be born either that day or the next. I spend time making sure I had everything I needed, sheets, towels, music, candles and coconut water. I had let the girls chose what you would wear once you were born.


Image Source:https://fullmoonsdaughter.com

I sang with your sisters and also by myself. As darkness approached I went into the caravan, wanting to have some time to myself. After a while I went to the truck and said goodnight to your sisters, they were very excited and me and your papa promised to wake them when you arrived. I listened to some music and at 10pm I went for a walk with your papa to check on the acequia, the irrigation system for the land. At 1030pm your Papa went into the truck and I returned to the caravan.

The next few hours I remember listening to music, dancing and feeling at peace. At some stage I really felt you making your way into the world. I needed to move with you, so we danced. Me surrendering and allowing my body to guide me, to become more in sync with you. You knew exactly what you needed to do. I needed to allow my body to remember. No distractions, just candle light, no music, just my voice. My sounds, sounds that only a woman will make when she is birthing her child. Animalistic sounds that vibrated throughout my body.That allowed my body to soften and open up.

I would not call it pain that I experienced but it was strong sensation.At one point though,I doubted myself, one thought popped into my head, what if you were not head down? This doubt created fear, that fear created pain. My sounds intensified and then our dogs began to bark. They woke up your papa, who came to the caravan to check on me. He came just in time to catch you as I birthed you earthside.

You came out with your waters, so perfect and healthy. I knew I wanted a lotus birth so you stayed attached to the placenta. Oh those feels of love and love and more love, of euphoria. All those amazing hormones that kick in. I placed you near my chest and you made your way to my breast, so eager and content.That first time I made eye contact with you, those fireworks of emotions exploding in my heart. This is what love at first sight is.

You were born at 2:57a.m or 2:58a.m. on the 8th April.Your sisters were so happy to meet you for the first time. Right now You are still asleep beside me and in exactly 57 or 58 minutes you will be 1 year old. Happy birthday my beautiful little warrior, you are so loved and adored.


1st Image Source:https://thejoyofthis.com/2010/11/06/the-birth-project-amanda-greavette/

I am part of the ecotrain, if you wish to read great content and be inspired please check it out. It is one train that is full of very diverse and creative passengers. And we all know that diversity is the spice of life.

Sort:  

This is so beautiful. I wish we all had birth stories like this. Unfortunately most births are taken place at a hospital and not the most pleasant experience. I had a c section and it wasn’t fun. My baby was amazing but the ordeal...

thank you @victoriacalloway, this is my third child and with each birth I became more aware and confident in my body and my babies abilities. I really hope that more and more women become aware of how powerful their bodies are. I can only imagine what you went through with your birth, I understand it must not have been easy.

Wow. This is one of the best stories I ever read here on steemit. You are so wise, so much in touch with yourself and your surrounding. You have no idea how much I admire you! There is so much truth and beauty in your words, I have no words to describe how wonderful your description is. I really wished every mother could be in touch with herself and her baby as you are. I thank you for sharing this story with us!

thank you @antikesdenken for your beautiful words, they really touched me xx

I also picked your article for my "Steemit pearls of the week" :)

This birthing story is just simply Amazing! It’s funny all this time you and I have been supporting each other’s women empowerment posts I never knew you had an unassisted birth! YOU ARE AMAZING!! I must admit, I’d be nervous giving birth without my midwives there but I would do it in a heartbeat if I had to. My husband has witnessed all 4 of our children born so I know he would know what to do.

I love how you explained what you were feeling as a “strong sensation”! That’s exactly how I feel when giving birth naturally. I don’t see it as pain but exactly how you described it. It’s a feeling that I will never forget and till this day I remember each of my children’s births. It feels so empowering to say “I labored on my own and remember every feeling that was involved mentally, physically and emotionally and I wouldn’t change it for the world!”

Thank you for sharing this poetic story of the beautiful birth of your daughter. Happy Birthday to your precious girl. This post is so inspiring and such a motivation for us women. Resteemed my friend!! 💕

Thank you so very much @crosheille, birth is so important for us woman today. We really need to take it back. I have always felt so inspired reading your birthing stories, I was not expecting to find them here on Steemit at first, but I connected with you very early on because of that. Your feedback means so much to me. I know you have a wee while yet to go with your current pregnancy but I wish you the happiest of births, it is so important that you have the birth you want as that is all that matters. Thank you so much for your support. Much love mama xx

You are very welcome!! I’m so glad we connected early on. Your feedback means a great deal to me as well~ 😘

Thank you so much! I’m really anticipating another successful Natural birth this round. I am praying it goes that way. I really appreciate all of your support as well. Much love right back at ya <3

Wow! This is really such a wonderful birth story. I love hearing about natural birth stories as here in Kuala Lumpur there a very few unassisted births. I thought it was already good for me to have a natural birth in the hospital without intervention and an epidural. Thank for sharing your story. The paintings are also really beautiful. I really like the one with the woman in an open field. Did you paint that? Really beautiful!

thank you @khimgoh, congratulations on you birth xthe first painting I found online, the source for it is at the bottom of the post, it is very beautiful indeed.

Hi @trucklife-family I actually last delivered in 2016 so it was not recent. :) Hope that all is well with you!

What a sweet story and what an original form of celebration. Congratulations, @ trucklife-family

This is such a sweet reflection on birthing. So lovely—thanks for sharing!

I never read such a beautiful description of the giving birth process. You are amazing! I can't believe you had an unassisted birth. Wow! Your little warrior gets a lot from her brave mother ;0)

thank you @lymepoet, it was an amazing experience and so empowering. I feel very lucky to have been able to birth my daughter how and where I wanted.

A BEAUTIFUL natural mama story!! We are blessed and encouraged each time one of the earth mama's reclaims the sanctity and naturalness of childbirth. Blessings to your little one and the supportive siblings - your post has blessed and enlightened my Thai morning.

thank you so much @artemislives for your beautiful words and blessings xx

Happy birthday to your youngest! I got some tears in my eyes while reading your doughters birth story, I remember those emotions and that power I felt when my son was born. We women carry the universe inside us. That is endless beautiful.
Your doughter has the same birthday as me! 8 april! A beautiful spring day to come on this earth.

Happy birthday to u both... Amazing aires warrior spirits, speaking the truth and living in light
🔥🔥🔥

Thank you so much @celestialcow ❤🙏🌹Your words means the world to me, you are amazing! Wish you the best Sunday evening possible!🌺😙

thank you beautiful mama x we sure do carry the universe inside of us. Very very happy birthday to you xxx

Thank you so much my dear friend!❤Hope you have a wonderful celebration with your daughter and family today. And love to your sister.❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07