50 DAYS TO UNDERSTANDING THE END-TIMES MORE ACCURATELY - DAY 22 - "OLIVET DISCOURSE" : ARMAGEDDON OR RAPTURE Part 1 - AUDIO & VIDEO

in #spirituality7 years ago

This is DAY TWENTY TWO of the daily devotional.


I am releasing a 50 day daily devotional about the end-times as revealed in Scripture. Along with the text, I will be providing a video where I cover the text of the day, and @verbal-d will be providing an audio version of it. That way, whether you want to read, watch, or listen, you'll be able to enjoy this study as you wish.

The plan is to release this devotional over the next 50 consecutive days, but life may "get in the way." We will do our best, but please be patient with me if I fall behind.

The SoundCloud Audio from @verbal-d

The YouTube Video from @papa-pepper

The Text I Originally Shared on the @narrowminded Account

DAY 22 - "OLIVET DISCOURSE" : ARMAGEDDON OR RAPTURE Part 1

Concerning the “Olivet Discourse” (Matthew 24 & 25, Mark 13, & Luke 21), there are at most two possibilities of what “coming” of Jesus Christ these passages speak of. If the coming addressed is the rapture, as I believe it is, then we should find some evidence for that. If the coming that is mentioned is Jesus’ return for the “Battle of Armageddon”, then there should be something in the passage that demonstrates that. If we use what the Bible tells us about each of these events, and compare it to these passages, we should be able to reach some sort of conclusion.

“Then shall the LORD go forth, and fight against those nations, as when he fought in the day of battle. And his feet shall stand in that day upon the mount of Olives, which is before Jerusalem on the east, and the mount of Olives shall cleave in the midst thereof toward the east and toward the west, and there shall be a very great valley; and half of the mountain shall remove toward the north, and half of it toward the south. And ye shall flee to the valley of the mountains; for the valley of the mountains shall reach unto Azal: yea, ye shall flee, like as ye fled from before the earthquake in the days of Uzziah king of Judah: and the LORD my God shall come, and all the saints with thee.” (Zechariah 14:3-5)

“For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first: Then we which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord.” (1 Thessalonians 4:16-17)

The first passage speaks of Christ’s return for the “Battle of Armageddon”; the second of His return to rapture the saints before the “Day of the Lord”. We will first look at the differences in these two passages, and then see which one is compatible with the “Olivet Discourse.” In Zechariah, we see that Jesus’ “feet shall stand in that day upon the mount of Olives… and the mount of Olives shall cleave in the midst thereof”. Also, He “shall come, and all the saints with” Him. The three events to remember from this passage are; Jesus stands on the Mount of Olives, the Mount of Olives splits, and Jesus comes will “all the saints.”
A very different picture is painted when 1 Thessalonians describes the rapture. When “the Lord himself shall descend from heaven”, there will be “a shout, the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God.” After “the dead in Christ… rise,” the saints “which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air”. This passage speaks of an angel and a trumpet, saints being caught up (raptured) to the Lord, the dead rising, and Jesus being in the air. Using these differences, we can evaluate which one correlates with the “Olivet Discourse” tomorrow.

Point #1: The “Olivet Discourse” describes a coming, or return, of the Lord Jesus Christ.

Point #2: At most, it could be describing either the rapture return of Christ, or His coming for the “Battle of Armageddon”.

Point #3: When Christ returns for Armageddon, He will come with all His saints, stand upon the Mount of Olives, and the mountain will split.

Point #4: When Christ returns to rapture the saints, an angel shouts with a trumpet of God, the dead rise, and the saints who are still alive meet the Lord while He is still in the air.

CLOSER

If anyone is really interested, I did post the entire volume through an alt account over a year ago. I did so as an experiment to see how hard it would be for a new user to get noticed on steemit, so I didn't let anyone know that I was doing it. You can click here to a post that has links to the entire 50 days of this devotional if you really want to read ahead. That information has always been available there since I first posted it. It is not the purpose of this series to just copy all of my previous work, but instead to transform it into some new outlets by releasing it in an audio and video format, to broaden the reach that this work has.

Again, though I will certainly never claim to know it all, I do believe that many are being lead astray by some popular beliefs. I hope that this project will be able to help many others understand the end-times more accurately. Thanks!

PREVIOUS POSTS

Just in case you are new to this series and wanted to check out the previous audio or videos, here are links to the posts from each day of this series.

Also - A special thanks to @allforthegood for helping design my cover image!

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

I have been following your daily devotional and I must say I am really impressed that there are still people out here who take out time to share the word of God with others despite the state of things in the world.

My first encounter with the word 'armageddon' left me afraid. I didn't understand that it would be after we were caught up in the clouds with Jesus but thank God, I understand better now.

Yes! It's truly amazing...

Totally Agree Annie

I appreciate the encouragement!

So, I might be skipping ahead but it seems to me from this lesson that the rapture must come first since when he comes again "all the saints come with Thee", which would imply that we come back and have a part to play in the Armageddon???? Could that be right? I'll keep reading....

Wowwww... Excelente @papa-pepper

ElinderFirma.gif

Awesome bro its incredible.

Wow Papa, I havent been on in a while due to life, but I love what you are doing! Resteemed.

This is what love for others really entails.... sharing the word of God with them

Most times am really amazed by your personality. This is the first time am reading the devotional write up, so that I won't miss anything I will try my best to go through the previous publication.

The book of revelation is something that makes me reflect on so many things. I pray for the grace to be among the saint when the time comes.

Wow I got the first comment

IT'S JUST A COINCIDENCE. I NEVER IMPERSONATE ANYONE.
Please do not go through my blog and spam

I coincidence that you stole my avatar? I made it myself, and it did not exist anywhere else. I see that you have changed it now, you are forgiven. I'll edit my comments.

Interesting! This is a pretty fresh perspective from which to view the concept. Its noble to help people come to terms with the idea of rapture...understanding instead of fearful contemplation...gonna check out the previous posts for more information. Bless your heart sir!

Good post,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67873.49
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80