50 DAYS TO UNDERSTANDING THE END-TIMES MORE ACCURATELY - DAY 7 : THE LORD ALONE - AUDIO & VIDEO

in #spirituality7 years ago

This is DAY SEVEN of the daily devotional.


I am releasing a 50 day daily devotional about the end-times as revealed in Scripture. Along with the text, I will be providing a video where I cover the text of the day, and @verbal-d will be providing an audio version of it. That way, whether you want to read, watch, or listen, you'll be able to enjoy this study as you wish.

The plan is to release this devotional over the next 50 consecutive days, but life may "get in the way." We will do our best, but please be patient with me if I fall behind.

The SoundCloud Audio from @verbal-d

The YouTube Video from @papa-pepper

The Text I Originally Shared on the @narrowminded Account

DAY 7 - THE LORD ALONE

From the very first mention of the “Day of the Lord”, we find a very important characteristic of this time period.

“The lofty looks of man shall be humbled, and the haughtiness of men shall be bowed down, and the LORD alone shall be exalted in that day. For the day of the LORD of hosts shall be upon every one that is proud and lofty, and upon every one that is lifted up; and he shall be brought low:” (Isaiah 2:11-12)

In verse 11, we read that “the LORD alone shall be exalted in that day.” Just to make absolutely sure that we know which day is being spoken of, verse 12 continues with “For the day of the LORD of hosts.

Therefore, from the very first mention of this time period, we clearly see that a defining characteristic of “the Day of the Lord” is the sole exaltation of the Lord. No other being will be allowed to be exalted during this time period. Just in case we missed it, verse 17 echoes the same message.

“And the loftiness of man shall be bowed down, and the haughtiness of men shall be made low: and the LORD alone shall be exalted in that day.” (Isaiah 2:17)

Without a doubt, we see that only the Lord will be allowed to be exalted during the actual, Biblical “Day of the Lord”.

Pretribulationists have two main views about the “Day of the Lord”. They commonly either believe that it is synonymous with “The Tribulation” or a time period that contains “The Tribulation”. Either way, they generally believe the “Day of the Lord” to include “The Tribulation”.

Again, since “The Tribulation” being God’s end-time wrath is just an idea of man, and not a fact revealed in Scripture, we must be open to the possibility that, in reality, “The Tribulation” does not exist. The “Seventieth Week of Daniel” certainly does exist; as does the “Day of the Lord”. If “The Tribulation” is at least to be understood as being the same as the “Seventieth Week of Daniel”, and if the “Day of the Lord” is either synonymous with, or a time including, “The Tribulation”, then whatever is true of the “Seventieth Week of Daniel” should not be in conflict with any characteristics of the “Day of the Lord.”

We will examine this tomorrow.

Point #1: The “Day of the Lord” is a phrase used and defined by God in the Bible.

Point #2: The “Seventieth Week of Daniel” is a specific time referred to in the Bible.

Point #3: “The Tribulation” is neither used nor defined by God.

Point #4: God says that the “Day of the Lord” is a time of His wrath.

Point #5: A characteristic of the “Day of the Lord” is that the Lord alone will be exalted in that day.

Point #6: Pretribulationists believe that the “Seventieth Week of Daniel” and “The Tribulation” are the same time period.

Point #7: Pretribulationists generally view the “Day of the Lord” as either being the same as “The Tribulation”, or a longer period of time that includes “The Tribulation”.

Point #8: If their reasoning is accurate, the events occurring during the “Seventieth Week of Daniel” will not be in conflict with the characteristics of the “Day of the Lord”.

CLOSER

Hopefully you can begin to see some of this coming together in an easy to understand way. Stay tuned, and we will continue this study.

If anyone is really interested, I did post the entire volume through an alt account over a year ago. I did so as an experiment to see how hard it would be for a new user to get noticed on steemit, so I didn't let anyone now that I was doing it. You can click here to a post that has links to the entire 50 days of this devotional if you really want to read ahead. That information has always been available there since I first posted it. It is not the purpose of this series to just copy all of my previous work, but instead to transform it into some new outlets by releasing it in an audio and video format, to broaden the reach that this work has.

Again, though I will certainly never claim to know it all, I do believe that many are being lead astray by some popular beliefs. I hope that this project will be able to help many others understand the end-times more accurately. Thanks!

PREVIOUS POSTS

Just in case you are new to this series and wanted to check out the previous audio or videos, here are links to the posts from each day of this series.

Also - A special thanks to @allforthegood for helping design my cover image!

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

I am really enjoying this series. It is what is written in the bible what is important not what some people think what is written is suppose to mean.

Thank you for that. I really don't care what I think, I just want to know what He says.

I wasn't meaning you personally. I know some people that twist what was written to use it in the wrong context to make their own point.

I know, and I agree. Thanks!

our forfather's were more intelligent

Every culture is fascinated with end times.
!originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @papa-pepper to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thank you for taking on this project. Your posts are excellent. Blessings.

Thank you for checking it out and encouraging me!

Absolutely! Thank you. I bookmarked this page and look forward to catching up the past days of posts. Merry Christmas! Blessings.

Wow....i didn't know you were this religious and a christian for that matter.This is really nice.Thanks for sharing.

Simply put, I have chosen not to live my life my way. I remember those days. He bought me and He made me, so I choose to let Him own me.

That is really nice.The best resolution a man can possibly make.May christ strengthen you in the fullness of His grace.

#3 I get what you are saying there. Although "The Tribulation" by name is not there, the concept of a very distressing and troubling time is there.

I am still very cloudy on the Seventieth Week Of Daniel time frame. I've discussed this many times with others but still cloudy on it.

I know people can be very dogmatic about pre, post, or mid trib but does scripture appear to lean toward post trib?

The second coming and the rapture in the Christian community is for the most part taken to be two separate events. However when you look at the word rapture(harpazo) it simply means to be rapidly taken up in the air. But see that's the thing. Scripture no where says that this end time rapture will be us taken to heaven. It just says taken up in the air.

The common view of the rapture event seems to add an extra idea of being taken to heaven when I dont't see that during the end time event.
1 Thess 4:13-18 basically says Jesus will descend and we will meet him in the AIR. It also mention the dead rising and then those alive following suit. This is what scripture mentions at the first resurrection.

Whenever I have read verses regarding Second Coming it seems that the rapture and second coming are just two aspects of the same event. What are your thoughts on how scripture presents the rapture and Second Coming?

Theology is not an easy field, studying the scriptures is somehow hard and care must be taken.

We all want the Messiah to return and set things straight but when God says the following we REALLY want His protection when He does come. I am doing my best to follow the Creator and to live my life His way and not my way!

Amos 5:18 - Woe to you who desire the day of the Lord! For what good is the day of the Lord to you? It will be darkness, and not light.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68183.21
ETH 3545.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82