[Marathon Blog 9] Running in the Spirit of Detox.

in #running7 years ago (edited)

IMG_2277.JPG

Last night was the closing night of a good friend's bar. I have been working at this bar for about a year, and needless to say, the final party was a doozy.


As I awoke this morning in a garlic ramen, alcohol-saturated coma, with the claws of an approaching headache already sinking deeply into the muscles in the back of my neck, just below my skull, I thought:

Thank God that's over. Now I can have some Saturday nights free, and some Sundays poison-headache free.


A shrine in the city on a humid summer evening.

It's humid here in Niigata today. After my son and I took a nap this afternoon, and my wife returned from her afternoon plans, we all decided to go out for a nice, slow, family run. This type of thing is new for us, and we are finding that we really enjoy it.

When we got back to the house, my body was feeling somewhat primed and ready, surprisingly enough to me, for a full-on run. I told my wife and son I loved them, then trotted off briskly in my own direction.

The Detox.


I ended up running 3 miles tonight in the humid evening heat. I haven't sweated so much in months. I almost felt like I was wearing a hot blanket when I got back. I could feel all the toxins from the day before sweating out my pores. My bowels and stomach became active, grumbling happily. I felt uncomfortable in the best possible way, like my body was becoming a dynamic system again, and not just a sedentary, torpid and motionless garbage receptacle.

My endurance continues to increase. Just a couple weeks ago I could only comfortably go just over 1 meter. Tonight I did 4.9 without too much trouble at all.

I feel almost like this is a new drug for me.

THE BEAUTIFUL THING IS, RUNNING DOESN'T BRING ABOUT A MERE PHYSICAL DETOXIFICATION PROCESS, BUT A MENTAL ONE AS WELL.

I've mentioned before that I sometimes have a tendency toward anxious, fear-based thinking and compulsive thought patterns/"ruts," and that running helps with this.

Especially the day after drinking I tend to feel blue, guilty, and just basically listless, tired and in general, dreadful. This is quite natural, as binge drinking basically does a piledriver to your whole inner physiology.

After my run tonight, though, I felt a bit healed, both mentally and physically, and much more prepared than before to face the upcoming week.

Good stuff.


Tonight's Run.


DISTANCE: 3 Miles.

THEME SONG: "Rose Garden," Lynn Anderson
IMG_2278.JPG

PLAYLIST SO FAR:

"Under the Pressure" - The War on Drugs
"Somewhere" - Soundgarden
"Owner of a Lonely Heart" - Yes
"Rose Garden" - Lynn Anderson


IMG_2276.JPG

~Haruki Murakami, WHAT I TALK ABOUT WHEN I TALK ABOUT RUNNING

If you missed the past marathon blog posts, you can find them here:

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Good post, thanks for sharing

This comment has received a 0.13 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

Good post - i always run after a party - it helps to combat the aftermath

@kafkanarchy84 - Wow. I like your way to detox. After a full party on Saturday night, waking up to a hangover on Sunday and ending the day with a 3 mile run! Nice. I had heard that running half marathons at least each weekend was a big thing in Japan and Korea. I would not want to do a half marathon but I am certainly enticed to try the way you do it. A nice birsk 3 mile run with a playlist to accompany. I am going to try it next Sunday!

I have 'wasted' my weekend without getting 'wasted' and written a rather philosophical post about my butterfly and bee pictures called Float/Sting..What is your strategy. I request you to see and provide your views if you have time. Your comments will be very welcome. Thanks

Good work. I used to run. Detox is fundamental. Meditation heals. Awesome. Thanks for sharing. Upvoted. Resteemed.

its all about getting that lymph system flowing :P

Great job! I heard drinking apple cider vinegar after running accelerates the process of detox. ACV flushes out toxic waste and replenishes energy. Have you tried it? If you have, does it work?

I haven't tried that, but now you've piqued my interest. Maybe I'll give it a shot next time.

Yeah... let me know what you think. Good luck!

I have been running about half my life. The detox is amazing. I recently did a post on what endurance means to me

Have you ever tried high intensity interval training -- sprint full out for 30 seconds, walk for 90, then sprint for 30 again?

Yes, although my intervals were much less intense. I do enjoy that approach a lot, though. Changes things up.

I like your post,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55