Signing Up for Niigata City Marathon. Running in Name of Steem, Freedom!

in #marathon7 years ago (edited)

2017-04-04.jpg
Source

Well, I don't know why, but it appears to have come to me of its own accord.

Walking to work (to my friend's bar where I pour drinks on Saturdays) yesterday I looked up and noticed a sign:

Niigata City Marathon, 2017年9日10月

Huh. October. Why the hell is that sign already out when it is only May? Oh, right. People actually train for this shit. It is kind of a long way to run.

Well, I let that thought fade away and went to work, half thinking that maybe I should just sign up and give it a go. I have been looking for more positive things to focus on/release stress outside of berating people in dehumanizing conversations on the internet and drinking. My body needs me to take care of it. I cut down my coffee intake and booze intake last week for health reasons and recent health concerns.

I don't care about doing this for that kind of glamorous, Look at me I am a healthy person type thing as much as for my own personal benefit and to give me something to focus on. A goal.

Anyway, stepping out of the shower this morning I reach for the first towel I can see and, lo and behold, it is a towel from 2002 that my wife had picked up at some flea market or somewhere. It reads:

"Niigata City Marathon 2002"

Alright, universe, spiritual realm, magical world. You got it. I'm in. This makes me happy.

Now to incorporate anarchy/steem/activism.

If you have any ideas as to what I might do to promote freedom, anarchism, and Steemit as well, via running this marathon, let me know in the comments below. My very simple idea is to design a cape with a message of some sort, kind of like this cute grandpa dude in the picture below.

city_16.JPG
Source

This blog is gonna be a big part of my accountability tool. I am a fairly muscular guy that does not work out and when I run long distances (I'm pretty fast in sprints) I resemble a small brick shithouse bouncing jarringly down the road. I am going to need something to help me stay accountable. Distance is something that has deep meaning for me. I walk a lot. I wander. I am always amazed at how tiny, slow steps are guaranteed to bring progress, however slowly. I love that. That is kind of how I view Steem, and life progress in general: Grind, sprint when you can, but endure with positive patience always, and keep moving. The every day, slow, tiny steps are assuredly moving you toward your goal, and they add up.

Oh yeah, @boxcarblue, you want in on this????

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

I've heard running is addictive so I'm not taking any chances. Seriously though, I think it will be difficult, painful and totally AWESOME!

Thanks! I think you are right!

Sounds exciting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40