[Marathon Blog 7] Set the Flywheel in Motion (the importance of consistency) + some shit I have never ever done before but am doing now.

in #running7 years ago (edited)

IMG_2007.JPG
This pic is, of course, not meant to be flattering, and I never in a thousand years thought I would be one of "those people" who post lame ass "body progress" pics online nobody else cares about. BUT. I kind of want to see what happens, and to view this whole process as if it were an RPG, and this is just the dude I am playing the game with. I want to see and document the progress. Looks like this guy's posture is kind of crooked, too. Let's see how much flab falls off and what happens by October 9th (Niigata City Marathon day).

A Thought:

At the end of my run tonight, I was thinking of success, and on my experience so far with how to best approach achieving a goal (I was not just thinking about running, but my blog, personal development, financial situation, etc). This thought came to me, almost in the spirit of something Gary Vaynerchuk would say:


The closest thing to a guarantee you're ever gonna have is persistence, consistency, and patience.


Murakami seems to echo this sentiment here:


IMG_1995.JPG
Murakami Haruki, from his book: WHAT I TALK ABOUT WHEN I TALK ABOUT RUNNING.


Tonight's recap:

Distance: Just over 2 miles
Theme Song: "Somewhere"- Soundgarden

Playlist so far:

  1. "Under the Pressure" - The War on Drugs
  2. "Somewhere" - Soundgarden

~*~

If you missed the past marathon blog posts, you can find them here:

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

If it were me i'd be listening to 'Eye of Tiger' and 'No Easy Way out', but i'm a bit of Rocky fan ;-) ... Then again that's another good way to help loose weight! Shadow boxing! :)

40s have been hard on me. You're an inspiration --- dammit!

Glad to hear it, dammit!!!

I can't run yet. I've had some back issues and I'm just not ready for that level of body stress. But, I can do some aerobics (I'll watch some YouTube and try to follow it) and this post just motivated me to get off my butt. Thank you!

I'm glad to see that my topless yoga photo series post has inspired others. (i.e. Oh shit, I don't want to end up like THAT!) ;-)

Every time I read one of your posts, I leave with yet another thing to add to my reading list, this time it's Murakami Haruki.

Man I was very fat 4 years ago, when i decided to get ride of that fat I worked my ass off now I'm in a good shape, I recomment :

1- Following a diet dominated by fruits and vegetables.
2- Do HIIT excercices.
3- Build your muscle.
4- Build your muscle.
5- Build your muscle.

i learn from my past years alot And being consistent is one of them . This the must tool every should in there inventory . but very few had it.

nice post )) following

I'm glad you're emphasizing consistency here.

I think when it comes to things like this, quantity begets quality. In other words, the more you do, the longer you do it, the better you'll get at it. So keep focusing on quantity for now and the quality will follow (although this is a pretty damn good start!)

Glad I could respond, hope you do the same : ), and looking forward to hearing back from you!

Stay loose, work on your stride your joints will thank you. Flexibility and core training to help maintain good running form over the long haul. Listen to your body. Are you recording time as well? Or currently following a program? A marathon is physically and mentally taxing, take the time to identify and address any muscle and movement imbalances to help better prepare to run to the finish. Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50