Just went for the first run.

in #fitness7 years ago (edited)

A journey of 26.2 miles starts with one mile. ☝🏻

I haven't run in what feels like ages. I had "big" plans to do a three mile run tonight, but I remembered what my friend J.D. said: listen to your body, not the gps. Take it easy or you'll injure yourself.

IMG_1765.JPG

Well, I got out there in my walking shoes and pajama shorts, and made a go for it with ¥110 yen in my hand to buy a water from a vending machine when I stopped.

It was a lot harder than I remembered, but also easier, in a way, because I didn't really "pressure" myself this time like I used to when I was younger.

IMG_1761.JPG
This is the race I am running in October.

I feel good, and am taking Murakami's advice:

Right now I'm aiming at increasing the distance I run, so speed is less of an issue. As long as I can run a certain distance, that's all I care about. Sometimes I run fast when I feel like it, but if I increase the pace I shorten the amount of time I run, the point being to let the exhilaration I feel at the end of each run carry over to the next day. This is the same sort of tack I find necessary when writing a novel. I stop every day right at the point where I feel I can write more.

~Haruki Murakami, WHAT I TALK ABOUT WHEN I TALK ABOUT RUNNING

IMG_1766.JPG

If you missed the past marathon blog posts, you can find them here:

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

It is really nice what you are about to embark on. Apart from the health benefits, i believe it would give you a sense of satisfaction each time you set a mark and hit it.
I am a firm believer in healthy lifestyle choices and in anyone who takes that road

Every journey starts with just one step. I love running and have not run since Feb. You are an inspiration and a motivator to get back out there. I did a half marathon 3 years ago. I love pounding the pavement. It is the best therapist I know of and it is free. Thanks

This post is an inspiration to me. It really is the best therapist.

Great start. Keep it up. The key to becoming a better person is a health mind and BODY. You are doing the right thing -- put in the work and feel the rewards. Well you probably will feel like crap before start feeling stronger. My mantra when cycling is "pain is weakness leaving your body".

The body really is so important even to one's mental and emotional health. i do not know why I keep neglecting it. Anyway, tonight felt great. Thanks for the encouragement.

Just tried the couch to 5k app and the zombie run app. Wow now that will get me moving have you tried that yet? Super scary with earphones in and sure to get the legs pumping!

Lol. Holy shit. Never heard of this. Sounds fucking terrifying and strenuous.

Takes patience and hardwork to run long distance and good for health. Running and drinking lots of water is great...thanks for sharing

Goodluck @kafkanarchy84

Thanks!

Thanks for sharing @kafkanarchy84 I have never run from last 10 to 15 years but I remember when I was in High School. My father admits me in Hostel in Gaibira and there is no any Bathroom so I was going to take bath to a Dam every evening after paying Basketball and it is near about 3 KMs from our Hostel. Everyday 3 + 3 KMs.

That is an awesome story, man. Cheers. And I am fucking loving this GIF.

I regularly run. I try to do a 5mile run early Saturday morning. It gets difficult with these summer days though. I look forward to seeing your progress.

Every journey starts with just one step. I love running and an inspiration and a motivator to get back out thereab88e705-e274-4e2c-abb9-e848aaf44e2b.jpg

A healthy body is a healthy mind.
Good Luck on your journey!

Couldn't have said it better myself. That is so true. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50