[Marathon Blog 8] Breaking Things Down from the Heart.

in #running7 years ago (edited)

heart-1904057_1920.png

In the womb, a baby's heartbeat begins long before the brain develops. In this sense, it is not the heart that follows the brain, but the brain that follows the heart.


This observation can be borne out when one finds oneself in a state of anger, confusion, or stressful frustration, takes a step back, a few deep breaths, and then tries this short experiment.

I have been blown away since I have started running by the impact the body has on the brain. As someone who tends to live in my head, my general outlook on these matters has been that when you are stuck in a rut of fear, worry, anxiety, or doubt, the thing to do is to think your way out of it.

There is definitely something to be said for analytical thinking. But when you are truly in a rut, and irrationally feel that overwhelming sense of worry, stress, and dread, sometimes putting on the shoes and pounding the pavement is--as a fellow Steemian recently commented to me--"the best therapist there is."

The body is huge in shaping our thoughts. We know that one's general humor is largely connected to the stomach and gut, and that with each passing day more and more research emerges tying neurological/psychological problems to other, seemingly "far-removed" areas of the body.

ecg-2270728_1280.jpg

Through the Tony Robbins meditation experiment linked to above, and through running, I am discovering what a miracle my body really is, and how vital a healthy body is to a healthy mind. I am also in the midst of a revelation much more profound, as well, yet related. It seems to be saying something like:

If you follow your heart, you're gonna be alright.


The brain is the discursive tool, and it is useful for processing and filtering the impulses that come from our core, but the relationship should never go the other way around, where the main signals being processed are first from the discursive brain. You've got to absorb and feel and THEN process. After all, the heart was first, right?

As the cheesy saying goes: "Teamwork makes your dream work."

I am finding this to be nothing but true when it comes to the various parts of my body and mind working in concert to bring about my experience of reality.


IMG_2156.JPG

When I first started running I couldn't run long distances. I could only run for about twenty minutes, or thirty. That much left me panting, my heart pounding, my legs shaky. It was to be expected, though, since I hadn't really exercised for a long time...But as I continued to run, my body started to accept the fact that it was running, and I could gradually increase the distance. I was starting to acquire a runner's form, my breathing became more regular, and my pulse settled down.

~Haruki Murakami, WHAT I TALK ABOUT WHEN I TALK ABOUT RUNNING

Tonight's recap:


Distance: Just over 2 miles
Theme Song: "Owner of a Lonely Heart"- Yes

Playlist so far:
"Under the Pressure" - The War on Drugs
"Somewhere" - Soundgarden
"Owner of a Lonely Heart" - Yes

If you missed the past marathon blog posts, you can find them here:

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

TRUE DAT!!!

I love Tony's meditation - I just did it:) And what he said was wonderful: "Something loved you enough to give you this heart at the very beginning. You didn't have to earn it, did you?"

Thank you for your awesome post! I appreciate it very much:)

Glad to hear that! :)

totally agreed。 should follow our heart


Please see your post mentioned here

My supervisor at work does nothing but send out emails in response to other emails saying "teamwork makes the dream work!" I think it means something different for her then it does for everyone else LOL!!! I think it's fascinating how our heart has more neurons then our brain does!

Nice. Glad to see training for a marathon has such a positive impact. Been doing the same myself. Might have to look throug hyour other posts when I have time. Thanks for sharing.

fuck heart, follow your brain.
Rarely ever disapointed me in comparison to my heart :D

Nice post I like

really nice one

Great post and images

Thank you for all your advice. I'll follow you because you're a smart person. Good job.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60880.32
ETH 3371.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52