Marathon Update: The Training Regimen Starts Next Week (review of advice I've received, and my personal approach)

in #fitness7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1625.JPG
Japanese novelist Murakami Haruki's memoir: WHAT I TALK ABOUT WHEN I TALK ABOUT RUNNING.

I am here at the bookstore mulling over all the info and advice I've received thus far, inside of my own mind.


Don't push yourself too hard. Focus on racking up the miles. Not speed.

Are you a "do it by the book" type guy? Or a do-it-your-own-way type guy? I followed Jack Daniels' training regimen.

Get your feet analyzed at Xebio on their machine.

Put medical tape over your nipples. And use Vaseline on your thighs.

Gradually increase the distance you run. Start small.

Run in the shoes you train in. A small problem with new shoes at 6 miles is a bloody foot at 20 or 21.

Have a mantra. Get your stride and gait analyzed.

IT'S IMPORTANT TO KNOW WHY YOU ARE RUNNING.

IMG_1362.JPG

IMG_1628.JPG

For me, running is both exercise and a metaphor. Running day after day, piling up the races, bit by bit I raise the bar, and by clearing each level I elevate myself. At least that's why I've put in the effort day after day: to raise my own level. I'm no great runner, by any means. I'm at an ordinary--or perhaps more like mediocre--level. But that's not the point. The point is whether or not I improved over yesterday. In long distance running the only opponent you have to beat is yourself, the way you used to be.

Murakami compares running to writing. There is no winning or losing, necessarily. Just failure or success in attaining to the standards you've set for yourself.

This pretty much sums up why I am doing this as well. For myself. To lift myself up to the next level.

Training starts Monday. A very slow--and gentle--3 miles. Wish me luck.

If you missed the previous posts you can find them here:

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Not only will you improve your mental strength if you take on this adventure, you will also make new freinds and improve on your health. Keep it up and more success

Really hoping so. Thank you!

welcome and thanks for good posts here.. lets stay in touch

All the best in your endeavor...running for me is one of the best form of physical challenge...adding an extra mile always cheers me up and keeps me motivated to get better...try chia seeds with honey in luke warm water before you go running and notice the difference :)

Looking forward to following your journey! I'm currently running weekly 10KMs (about 6 miles?) and will be completing my second half marathon next week. I'm still too scared to try a full marathon, but maybe you'll convince me it's more achievable than I initially thought... ;)

Haha. I sure hope so! No choice now!

Best suggestion I have is breathing! Someone once pointed out that I don't breathe enough when I'm moving, and should practice follow a 3-1, 2-1, 1-1 rule depending on pace.... as in step to breath ratio. I thought he was an idiot until I realised that I actually wasn't :/ it made the transition from 3 mile runs to 6 mile ones a lot easier.

Very good as all your article thanks for sharing @kafkanarchy84

Congratulations, very good.

Great post, good luck :)

Aloha I wish you all the success of your dreams.

🚴🏿🚴🏿‍♀️🚴🏿🚴🏿‍♀️🚴🏿🚴🏿‍♀️🚴🏿🚴🏿‍♀️

That's amazing! I haven't found the courage to brave the 26.2 miles. I can't seem to get pass 13.1. Upvoted and followed to read about your journey :) Good Luck!

For years I've been wanting to try a marathon but I'm just daunted by the insane amount of training which appears to me necessary. 'll be keeping an eye on this endeavor...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63173.85
ETH 3147.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87