[Marathon Blog 5] What is the distance?

in #fitness7 years ago (edited)

Running as a metaphor. This makes sense to me.

Running as the solitary man. This does, too.

The significance of distance, and of covering this distance.

I was thinking tonight, from my little void, as feet pounded on the pavement "what is the significance of the distance?" I can't do anything for long if it does not make sense to me. My friend J.D. told me that if you are going to run, you should have a reason. I went out tonight, and it seems that running is now becoming my own.

IMG_1813.JPG

I never disliked long-distance running. When I was at school I never much cared for gym class, and always hated Sports Day. This was because these were forced on me from above. I never could stand being forced to do something I didn't want to do at a time I didn't want to do it. Whenever I was able to do something I liked to do, though, when I wanted to do it, and the way I wanted to do it, I'd give it everything I had.

~*~

If you missed the past marathon blog posts, you can find them here:

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Yes no compromise...give everything you have...good luck!

great post loved it
keep posting quality stuff :)

@kafkanarchy84 thanks for another great post you have shared with the community was very kind of you to tak ethe time to do this thanks

Thanks for sharing. I always loved running but hated racing

I'm glad that you are still carrying on this run for steem but what is your motivation to keep running?

A marathon runner who digs deeper to find the meaning and motivation for the running ! I like that. I admire people who have found that drive. I am a middle aged person who is fairly active but have not yet found it in me to run long distances. I like your quote at the end of the blog. Perhaps it will inspire me. Upvoted and following you.

Since you have equated running to a solitary activity, may I make a request - When you have time, please do take a look at my blog where I tried my hand at writing - a chain of thoughts on solitude - inspired by my wildlife picture instead of just putting the picture. Your views will be very much appreciated. Thanks
https://steemit.com/life/@vm2904/solitude-not-lonliness-a-boon-not-a-bane

Once you feel like running has become your own it feels so much better to go out and train. I just recently ran a Marathon, however, after an injury I wasn't prepped very well for it. I've signed for another on in December. I believe yours is an October so best of luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39