Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Trying out my D3400 + a Bonus Rock (Biggest Rock I ever Photographed)

in #rocks7 years ago

Happy Friday Steemit World! I mentioned on my last post that I was going to follow-up with a clean up post for my previous rock posts section. I've had to postpone that for now. The reason being is I planned on showing a picture of all the rocks I posted -- am yet to get it. I could just take another one, but I accidentally dropped the bucket they were all in. I was able to recover most, but I'm missing 3 or 4. I suppose I can do it anyways, so I'll have to think about it.

For now, onward with another beautiful agate. This time I'm thoroughly going through each type of picture I plan on presenting, and I just got an idea for another. For the most part, I think my template is pretty full. Many different ways to showcase one rock!


Lights Off

Tried a different background this time, I like the wood. It's all about the agate though. All these pictures were taken in manual mode. It took me a while to understand what settings to change in order to get a similar effect that the S8 Active gave me, but after some trial and error, I managed to pull it off.

DSC_0064.JPG
You can click on any of the images to view full screen!!

DSC_0067.JPG

DSC_00062.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

Jewelers Loupe - Lights Off

DSC_0024.JPG

No Shine

My next step is to write down the settings on the next rock so that I can include detailed descriptions for the settings I used for each picture. That would also help me recreate the scene much faster every time, as this was my first attempt. I think I did pretty good, but I also took a lot of pictures. Many were deleted, and not all of them I uploaded, but I am satisfied with the results. Amazing camera!

DSC_0024.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

Jewelers Loupe - No Shine

DSC_0069.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!


Shine

There are so many characteristics to each rock, I could literally run out of bandwidth in one post. I had to limit myself, even though I didn't want to. Hopefully one day I can upload whatever I want without worrying too much about bandwidth. I'm pushing it with these pictures, but it's also a good test.

DSC_0098.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

Jewelers Loupe - Shine

DSC_0123.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

How Big is it?

DSC_0150.JPG


CameraNikon D3400 24 MP
LensAF-P DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
LocationSuperior, WI

The first few pictures I took were with the AF-P DX NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4.5-6.3G ED lens but it was just not working for me. It required me to stand too far back and is just not ideal. Possible, but not ideal for what I need to do. I did use it to take a picture of the largest rock on I've ever photographed in my life! Here it is!

DSC_0156.JPG
Taken with my Nikon D3400 on 2/1/2018

So to sum it up, these are the different types of pictures you can expect per rock post:

  • Lights off This is my favorite, and I feel the "post thumbnail" looks best with this one assuming the size works
  • Lights off through the Jewelers Loupe
  • No Shine
  • No Shine through the Jewelers Loupe
  • Shine
  • Shine through the Jewelers Loupe
  • Size Comparison

Things I'd like to add:

  • A shot with the sun behind the rock, if possible
  • True Macro

I share my rock and agate photo's exclusive with the Steemit community! Feel free to share your thoughts!

Thanks for stopping by! God Bless!

@bitfiend


Previous Rock Posts

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - My favorite type of Band
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Shines like it's Polished!

Older than 7 days

good for viewing, not for voting!
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Just a Broken Sliver
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Beautiful Bands + A Super Tiny Agate
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Ruby Red
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - A Whole Small Agate
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - What a beauty!
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Little Rock (Not the City)
Horseshoe Agate Lights Off | Lights On
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Another Looks Like Lava and an extra!
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Tiny Little Agate
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Quartz Agate? - This one is Not Red!
Looks Like Lava It is
Dime Sized Agate Lights Off | Lights On
Agate of the Day
Glowing Smokey Quartz
Fossilized Shell
White Agate
Yellow Agate

Sort:  

happy all day for you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48