Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Just a Broken Sliver

in #rocks7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit World hope everyone is doing good today! It's the weekend so here's a saturday morning Agate for you! Weekends are usually busy for me but it was a slow night for business last night, I only had two calls and made $35 but that's not too bad. Still have tonight to look forward to! It's been a pretty slow week entirely and I think I've made more money on Steemit this week. I'm totally okay with that!


Lights Off

It's all about the picture. In order to even get this effect I have to set ISO to 50 and a low shutter speed. This helps filter out as much light as I need to. This is pretty much necessary unless I put a light under the agate.

20171223_060825.jpg
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

20171223_060843.jpg

20171223_060901.jpg
You can click on the image to view full screen!!


Lights On

With the lights off, you lose much of the design because it's so dark. It's also a small piece to a much larger agate, as opposed to the agates that seem more whole that I've been posting.

20171223_061353.jpg
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

20171223_061437.jpg
You can click on the image to view full screen!!


CameraSamsung S8 Active 12 MP
LocationSuperior, WI

Tonight I was able to get pictures of some more rocks, as well as some ideas for future rock posts. My previous rock posts list is getting long too so I plan on cleaning that up somehow.

My friend also brought over a Jewelers Loupe! He just had it laying around and brought it over to see if it'll help me get better shots. Boy did it ever! It was mostly tedious because I had to use a hairtie to clip it down properly. I'll have to improvise, or maybe just order a proper one that comes with a clip. (Just saw it on amazon for $18). I never thought to use one, and I never imagined I'd get such quality out of it! Stay tuned for closer shots!

I might not even need a macro lens after all though! :P That gives me an idea for a post. "A Poor Mans Photography Studio" ... Stay tuned for that one!

My rock tumbler broke! The band that runs the motor snapped. It totally interrupted my first batch of tumbled rocks. This is pretty upsetting as I was looking forward to sharing them. So now, more delays...

In the mean time, I was trying to figure out how to make my unpolished rocks shine more. Water works but it dries too fast, so I thought to use oil. It worked like a charm. Posting a picture of the results tomorrow.

I share my rock and agate photo's exclusive with the Steemit community! Feel free to share your thoughts!

Thanks for stopping by! God Bless!

@bitfiend


Previous Rock Posts

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Beautiful Bands + A Super Tiny Agate
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Ruby Red
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - A Whole Small Agate

Older than 7 days

good for viewing, not for voting!
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - What a beauty!
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Little Rock (Not the City)
Horseshoe Agate Lights Off | Lights On
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Another Looks Like Lava and an extra!
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Tiny Little Agate
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Quartz Agate? - This one is Not Red!
Looks Like Lava It is
Dime Sized Agate Lights Off | Lights On
Agate of the Day
Glowing Smokey Quartz
Fossilized Shell
White Agate
Yellow Agate

Sort:  

That sucks your tumbler broke down. I might have to play with a jewelers loop to try to get some close up pictures too. Thats pretty neat

I would definitely recommend it! Would love to see a super upclose shot of the gems you put in your jewelry! I'm looking to get a 60x

It would be really neat for the gold flakes I find too.

Whats your trade man? slow day reference etc.

I have always been more of a silver man, but agate can be beautiful, want to talk about rock's check out my latest post man, can you imagine the literal gems we could find on Titan?

Interesting to think, that most precious metals are a result of collapsing stars.

Hi thanks for your comment! I operate a Designated Driver Deliver Service (Drunk at the bar? We drive you home in your car!) . If I could find silver all over like I can agates I'd be all over the silver too! :)

I would love to see what kind of gems would be found! If you come across that, do let me know as I dont keep up with NASA that much.

I love your post ! Amazing photos,flawlessly written.my insight does not mean much, but it's from the heart ! I will keep following you :)

Thanks for the feedback!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66149.79
ETH 3275.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71