Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Quartz Agate? - This one is Not Red!

in #rocks6 years ago


Welcome to my rock of the day post! I've actually done some searching on agates and nobody seems to take pictures quite like the ones I take. I am proud of how I'm able to display the beauty of these rocks.

20171223_065352.jpg

20171223_065044.jpg
I need some kind of rock stand. I couldn't get the angle that I needed, so I had to improvise. Can you guess what I'm using to hold the agate in place?

20171223_065153.jpg

Every time I find an agate, the excitement that comes in is much like how it must have felt during the Gold Rush when someone found a bunch of gold.

20171223_065611.jpg

20171223_065443.jpg

I love how I am able to capture the beauty of the agate with light. Like they say, a picture is worth a thousand words and in this case, there's not much to describe and a lot to see. This one doesn't glow fully like some of the others and I think I need to get a stronger light. I also need to build a proper studio for better macro shots and lighting.


Taken withSamsung S8 Active 12 MP
LocationSuperior, WI

It is widely believed that agates, as well as other rocks and gems like emeralds and quartz have certain properties and powers. Agates are typically said to bring wealth and keep your mind and spirit positive and repels negative energies. It also helps balance your energy and keep only positive energy flowing through you at all times. There are probably q few more. While I don't exactly walk around with an agate in my pocket all the time, during the summer I am always on the hunt for them and typically have a few with me.

I share my rock photo's exclusively with the Steemit community! Feel free to share your thoughts!

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you enjoyed!

@bitfiend


Previous Rock Posts

Looks Like Lava It is
Dime Sized Agate Lights Off | Lights On
Agate of the Day
Glowing Smokey Quartz
Fossilized Shell
White Agate
Yellow Agate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72